1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1L from North America


Too many maintenance problems to enjoy


Transmission shifting too fast at 3,500 miles.

The tires cracked between the treads at 31,200 miles.

The ABS light comes on intermittently all of the time.

The intake manifold was leaking oil at 40,100 miles.

The water pump was leaking coolant at 41,000.

The serpentine belt worn out at 42,000.

The intake manifold was leaking coolant at 53,000 miles.

The serpentine belt broke at 53,100 miles.

The idler pulley replaced due to a high pitched squeal at 53,195 miles.

Currently the transmission is now starting to act up again at 53,265 miles.

General Comments:

When the car is operating correctly, it is a fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


The car has been very reliable


Brakes had to be changed frequently.

Left wheel bearing at 200000, Right at 300000.

Alternator bearings at 360000.

ERG valve 364000.

General Comments:

Once the rear brakes were adjusted I did not have this problem.

The other problems came on and I considered it general wear and tear considering the mileage.

The gas mileage is still excellent for the car. Very little change from when I got the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America


When we bought the car used, the driver's leather seat was prematurely worn & torn. The A/C fan didn't work on #1. (We didn't know this was a larger problem.) We'd bought the extended warranty.

Shortly after the warranty ran out, the electric window control panel on the driver's side went out & had to be replaced ($80).

Then the A/C fan stopped working, even on #5. I've read about a lot about the A/C problem online. Still working to figure out the problem. Replaced the resistor, but it still doesn't work.

Seems as if it's a defect Chevy is unwilling to acknowledge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America


What a terrible Malibu to own


My transmission is currently slipping.

All 6 of the fuel injectors had to be replaced, after finding that 4 of the 6 were bad.

The #1 and #2 selection on the heater/air conditioning control wasn't working, but was fixed.

The check engine light continues to come on, but the shop's cannot find any other problems.

Has a very bad vibration from the brakes, which were previously fixed like 2 months ago.

Outside air comes through the driver side door, by the door lock.

The rear right passenger door squeaks when opening and closing.

The driver side window raises and lowers slower than other windows in the car.

The alternator has already been replaced, this year, after the car just completely shut down after 5 minutes of warning with the check engine light on.

General Comments:

The line of GM cars are pretty good.

I have owned quite a few GM cars, Cutlass Supreme, Oldsmobile, Delta 88, Oldsmobile, Chevy Cavalier.

I currently own a 1989 Chevy Caprice that has been in 3 accidents, currently has 115,000 miles and it runs better than the Malibu.

I have had my Caprice for 8 years.

I have had my Malibu for 2 1/2 years.

The Malibu hasn't been in any accidents and still looks showroom new.

I will never buy another Malibu again.

I have been told by others, who have owned other GM's with 3.1 motors, that these are the worse motors GM has ever made.

I would definitely buy another GM made car, but it definitely won't be a Malibu.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Malibu Base 3.1 from North America


It was a good deal


Front brakes went at 38000. Intake Manifold went at 70000.

General Comments:

Car was OK. No major problems till that leak started in the intake manifold. Apparently they all do this. Engine was a bad design and should have been scrapped years ago. Car handled well and good pickup power. Served me well. But disappointed in leak in manifold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

1999 Chevrolet Malibu Standard 2.4 4 cylinder from North America


Worst car buying decision I ever made, but I've heard worse stories from others about this car


Brake pads replaced 3 times under warranty. Rotors replaced twice under warranty. Continued having problems after warranty ran out, so I had non- GM pads installed, rotors professionally turned. Simple fix.

Stereo takes CD's and likes to keep them. Replaced twice. Still does it. You have to have the car off till everything cools down, then MAYBE you can get your CD back.

Fuel regulator valve broke, spraying engine with gas. NOT GOOD!

Factory battery quit at 40k miles, no warning or reason, car could not even be jumped off, had to be towed.

Alternator quit at 50,000 miles. Never replaced an alternator before this car, and I bought this car new. Only the 2nd car I've ever bought new. Dealer wanted $475.00 to replace it. Plus a diagnostic fee. Got someone else to put one on for $200, have never been back to the dealer since. And won't. Ever.

Washer fluid reservoir drains it contents within 2 days for the past three years. Can't stand the thought of going to the dealer to ask why.

Sun Visor in this car is clipped in, or at least it used to be. It is now riding in the trunk, my wife does not have a visor. The clips that hold it are plastic, and the visor is heavy, so guess what, it breaks and it cost about $80 to replace it. You have to have a special tool to install the new one. These can be found at your dealer/mafia headquarters.

Tires that came on this car were ruined by 13,000 miles. Not GM's fault, but they would not fix it either, had to go to the tire store (Firestone) and argue with them. They only agreed to replace two. We did not go with Firestone tires for the next set. This brand is over priced and not worth the money. Just ask a Ford Explorer owner.

Tilt control/Steering lock froze up, could not move steering wheel. Stayed that way for about 6 months, then started working again.

General Comments:

My overall experience with this car during the first 3 years was very bad, worst car I've ever owned. After getting some of the problems like tires, brakes, battery alternator behind me, the past two years have been trouble free. The car is a good size for a family car and the price is good, but there are way too many quality issues with this car. If you ever thought about getting one, get it as cheap as you can, USED, with tires that aren't Firestones, and NON GM brakes. Then and only then, when the price is cheap, maybe you will feel like you got a good car for the money. However, it must be cheap.

Oh, the motor is buzzy, but has performed flawlessly for almost 100,000 miles. It is the 2.4 16valve 4 Cyl. engine. Gets from 25-30 mpg.

Cruise control on this car is dead accurate. Almost spooky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

11th Jun 2004, 07:19

And what lesson have we learned today boys and girls? Don't buy ANY domestic car made in the last 10 years or so. They're all junk. Spend a little more and buy a Honda, Toyota, Mazda, Subaru, Mitsubishi, etc.

11th Jun 2004, 08:14






16th Jan 2007, 08:40

Lookup: Honda Odyssey transmission problems, Toyota oil gel program, mitsubishi's crank walk...

16th Jan 2007, 16:01

Not to mention the wonderful transmissions in the Acura TL. Just buy an older American car, spend a few grand to get it like new and enjoy.

24th Jul 2008, 14:00

Saying don't buy anything domestic made in the past ten years is a gross exaggeration. There are plenty made in the past 20 or 30 that are worth buying, and GM in particular is getting better every day.