2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 3 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Chevy is wrong for letting this car off the assembly line

Faults:

Well first off, I regret selling my Honda to buy this Malibu, but tomorrow it's gone, selling it, bye bye, here I come HONDA!!!

So the first day I got the car, it took around 30 seconds to learn how to start the car. I drove it to school a few days later, and BAM, the anti theft light came on, no start. So I sit for 10-15 minutes, come back, and the car starts. Starts horrible after about 2 weeks after I purchased the car.

Brakes are terrible.

Blinker's have a mind of their own.

Brake lights have a mind of their own.

Just a bad car; should be recalled.

General Comments:

Chevy should smack themselves for putting together a car like this.

I'll never buy another Malibu again. Maybe I'll never buy another Chevy or better yet a GM car period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2009

27th Nov 2009, 06:44

For Pete's sake, the car is 9 years old - what do you expect, if you want new car experience, buy a new one, and if you get the same problems, then you can complain.

14th Nov 2012, 13:30

Never had brake light issues, it's only refused to start when the starter went out after 120k miles. It all depends on maintenance and care. Some cars don't handle neglect well. If you drive it without caring for it, simple things become major problems. Letting them sit for years outside with no attention isn't good, either.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance261000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

Water pump.

Brakes.

Interior lights out.

Window motor out.

Transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th July, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 six from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 six Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

I'd buy another one in that model year

Faults:

I really like this car for an everyday driver.

Standard listed things went wrong. Matched just about everything on the lists on-line:

Leaking cooling manifold - $400 fix with careful attention to gasket.

Dan switch - very easy fix under dashboard. Did it myself.

Turn signal switch - factory recall done for free.

The brake rotors have never been a problem. Tire guy said they're OEM, but everyone else says the originals are no good. I must be lucky.

Since those standard repairs, I haven't touched the thing for 50k miles.

General Comments:

No doubt it's a cheap car, but I get 29 mpg on the highway (I drive about 25 miles on mostly highway to get to work).

The engine is quick to get up onto the interstate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

This Malibu has been good to me

Faults:

Replaced power steering hose. (covered by warranty)

Replaced intake gaskets. (covered by warranty)

Brakes every 10,000 miles.

Replaced front hub a couple of times.

New steel brake lines brake lines. Normal for our harsh winters after 9 years.

General Comments:

The car gets 34 MPG on the highway, and around 28 with my normal driving.

The brakes are really not a big deal. I can change them in my sleep it seems. I do all of my own work and I enjoy it.

The car is comfortable.

The car starts even at 40 below zero, no questions asked.

I need to rebuild credit to buy a house, so I need to get 2 more years out of the car and I have no doubts that I will.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.1 Don't Know
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

JUNK CHEV

Faults:

LOTS...

Intake gasket.

Manifold gasket.

Leaking water.

Ball joints.

LOTS - too many to mention...

General Comments:

I would not have bought this car if I had known it was a lemon. NEVER AGAIN A CHEV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2008

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance106500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

Unreliable Car

Faults:

At 58,000 Ks, the front seats of the suspension became noisy. When I brought the car to the dealer, they refused to replace it under warranty. I was being told to call GM as the car was only 38 months old and the warranty has expired (36 Months).

Of Course,GM Customer Service in Oshawa refused to repair the defective parts and always blame the customer.The repair costs almost 750.00$

You need to replace the Front Brakes every 20,000 Ks.

Air Con keeps breaking every year and it cost you 60.00$ to fill up the refrigerant every year.

General Comments:

I liked the car but GM has consistently put on the market unreliable products on the market. No doubt why they keep loosing customers and keep loosing market shares every year to foreign Manufacturer's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2008

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews