2008 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2008 Chevrolet Malibu LTZ V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Top Notch

Faults:

The brakes shimmied about 5 months in, and the pads had to be replaced and rotors turned.

The brakes subsequently made a metal on metal noise, which the dealership was able to hear, but could not fix.

The brake shimmy problem returned at the 1 year mark, and because of the previous problems, the rotors were turned again, free of charge.

General Comments:

Other than the brake problems, this car has been great. I get approx 33 MPG on the highway, and I love the two tone leather interior and styling.

I don't like where they put the remote mirror power switch -- on the door, almost out of arms reach.

My Northern Virginia Dealership is a fantastic place for service too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2009

7th Apr 2009, 15:22

I purchased a used 2007 Malibu LTZ. I love this car except for the squealing brakes. I have taken it to the dealer and another shop with both telling me the brakes are fine. I don't mind having to pay to get them fixed, just wish someone could fix them.

17th Apr 2009, 08:55

Brake squeal on newer GM cars is not unusual. It doesn't mean there is a problem, and is not usually cause for worry. If the noise is so annoying you can't just ignore it, a set of upgrade high-performance pads will solve the problem. They take about 15 minutes to pop in, and you can buy them at Auto Zone. All 4 wheels should cost you less than $50. I replaced the front pads on my Pontiac during my lunch break at a cost of only $17.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu 2LT 3.6 DOHC V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.6 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired151 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Would recommend to a friend

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

I had 210,000 virtually trouble-free miles on my 2000 Malibu, so it was time for an upgrade. The 2008 has not been a disappointment. The car looks great and has been a joy to own. The stabilitrak-stability control definitely was nice in the Michigan winter. I have more than a few comments from people that said that the car looks real sharp. Great car with better than expected gas mileage ~25.6 ave MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2008

15th May 2008, 19:31

They really are nice cars. I test drove one with the 4cyl and found the car to be very smooth and quiet. One question I asked another reviewer with a 6cyl on a 2LT; Why opt for this route rather than going with the LTZ? Just curious :)

2008 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67 miles
Most recent distance4707 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

JUNK!!

Faults:

The drive train has a vibration when accelerating. When I took it to the dealer, they replaced the torque converter and it did not fix it, and they caused a exhaust leak that they tried to fix two times, but still noisy! My kids say it sounds like a junker like they hear on TV!

They are also unable to balance tires at my dealer. This is my sixth trip there and the customer service is worthless. Customer service says they need to diagnose the problem before they give me a loaner. Problem is I have been to the dealer six times and they still can't diagnose it. I am paying for Chevy to fix their mechanical problems!!

My biggest regret is the purchase of this new 2008 Chevy Malibu. Beware.. they don't know how to fix them... They are using my gas to fix their engineering mistakes.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car. I never expected to say this about an American car, but.. I will never buy a Chevy again!!

whitlocktp@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2008

29th Apr 2008, 04:44

That's funny. You must have bought my Hyundai Azera because the 2008 Chevy Malibu just ranked 1st place in initial quality.

30th Apr 2008, 01:31

Why blame the car's problems on the car? Sounds to me like your problem lays in the dealership, your warranty is good ANYWHERE, at ANY GM dealer. Try another dealer and get those problems fixed. The current dealership you're dealing with is jerking you around.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews