1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z34 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A high maintenance, costly vehicle

Faults:

Since I have owned the car only 2 months, I have had to put a few things into it. The first is a new fuel pump.

The second is a new alternator.

A new antifreeze pipe.

A new front axle on the passenger side, which I was told, was the cause of the alternator to go bad.

The next thing to be replaced on this car is the muffler system, and the brakes. The radio antennae is also loose, the compartment between the seats is broken, and the visors have popped out of the celing.

General Comments:

I was told by the dealer when I bought this car, that I would love this car. I own a 1990 T-Bird, and that has over 200,000 miles on it, and I haven't had as nearly as many problems as I have now. I wanted a really sporty car, and finally opted for the Monte. I decked her all out, right down to the Taz. She was my baby, but let me tell you, this baby has cost me an arm and a leg to fix. And it couldn't have come a worse time. Just before Christmas. But my kids understand, the car needs to be fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th December, 2001

8th Jan 2002, 12:57

The 3.4 engines have had problems with the timing belt. One thing that could've prevented all of this from happening is replacing the timing belt when you know it's going bad. Anybody that purchases a car, should check out specs on the engine beforehand. I own a '97 Monte with the 3.4, and I have had NO problems with it. It's a great car to me, and has a lot of nuts.

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.8 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

This car is not worth taking a test drive in

Faults:

The engine blew at 127,000 kilometres, which costs 6000 dollars Canadian to fix.

The brakes are not long lasting.

The mounts for the shocks went at 100,000 kilometres.

Radiator hoses blew frequently.

General Comments:

This car was a money pit. I would not suggest that anyone buy a 1995 Monte Carlo. The car rides real rough and is not the greatest for handling. There is very little acceleration power, although when it finally gets going it really moves.

The car looks nice from the outside, but on the inside it is very bleak. The whole interior is plan grey. The stereo in the Monte Carlo LS is not good at all. When the music gets to a certain volume you can here rattling from loose parts.

The engine is difficult to work on. Everything on the engine seems to tucked way down inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2001

8th Apr 2004, 01:33

I totally disagree with this review on this type of auto. I own two 1995 Monte Carlos and one 1996 Monte Carlo. All of my cars have been driven by different drivers in my family and they were all bought as used cars. Each car has more than 100,000 miles on car. I have not had any major problems with cars. They do leak oil, and I don't know of any Chev that didn't. I would recommend these cars to anyone.

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z-34 3.4 L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance72300 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Makes me want to get into racing

Faults:

Nothing major wrong. The previous owner didn't take care of it like it needed to be.

General Comments:

Tires are extremely expensive and it's hard to find a high performance tire to fit the size of the rim in my area.

Also hard to find custom parts for it. I'm looking for some Euro-styled tail lights. If anybody knows where to find some email me at booter75@collegeclub.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2001

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z34 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme

Summary:

A fast, classy, sporty looker

Faults:

Replaced both transmission lines to the radiator.

General Comments:

I haven't had any problems with this car except for the transmission lines that I replaced (both for about 25-30 dollars, had to buy them from a dealer).

The car is surprisingly quick for a big car with a small V-6.

I love it, and dread the day I have to sell it, they'll have to pry my hands off of the steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

9th Jul 2001, 00:24

No little V-6 there, that thing is a work of art. First came the Quad-4 160 horse 4-cyl in the Grand Ams, then this hoss of a 6, and from it was designed the Northstar V-8. That "little" 6 is really a "little 8". I haven't had any V-8's run with mine yet that weren't drag-ready or tweaked in some way. Ate a Thunderbird SC just a couple days ago =-)

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SE 3.1 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance63235 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Perfect car for the people who want plenty of power for a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing major, just a few recalls.

General Comments:

This is an absolutely wonderful car. I really love the superior power. I can blow away most cars on the road. It is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 49 reviews