2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles

Summary:

Very nice

Faults:

My 2003 Monte Carlo SS was having these jerkish movements when I stepped on the gas. I thought it was the transmission. I had read all the comments and thought for sure it would be the solenoid or tranny. Took it in to my friends shop and the problem was that the module that controls the cylinders, had a lot of misfires, then once they changed it for a brand new one, it ran like if it was fresh out the dealer. This was my case, so get informed before you try to buy anything.

Good luck guys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st December, 2008

14th May 2009, 21:24

Any high power front wheel drive car will jerk when you step on the gas... it's called torque steer.

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo 3.6L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Probably not worth the cost

Faults:

Just had to pay $530.00 to replace the Body Control Module after replacing the battery. Basically the car died and the dealership first told us that the computer would need to be reset for $150 but, after hooking the car to the diagnostic machine, low and behold, $520. Also, the brakes have squeaked since the day we bought it. Was told at the time that the metal brake pads will do that.

General Comments:

It's a nice car, but, when something goes wrong, it get pricey. Talked to GM about problems with car and they tell you to take it to a dealership and pay to get it fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2008

27th Apr 2008, 18:08

Someone took you to the cleaners!

When you replace a battery or it runs low, the car's computer does some wacky, scary stuff. All the trouble lights go on, traction control trouble light turns on.

To reset the computer and trouble codes, unhook battery for 20 minutes and then reattach leads.

The computer will reset itself to default.

28th Apr 2008, 08:28

I agree that it gets pricey! So far, my Monte Carlo SS (2002) has had a new body control module, $1,000 worth of transmission work and my rear defrost doesn't work <sigh>. This is my 3rd Monte and I'm very disappointed in it. Love how it drives and looks but the problems are MAJOR for so little miles (52,000). Looks brand new and is taken care of (regular oil changes, etc...) Bought it used though so I'm screwed.

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 300d

Summary:

Worst car ever

Faults:

Well where do I start?

The manifold intake needed to be replaced, 8 of the valves got stuck with the lifters; that, along with the manifold gasket was over 1200.00 in repairs, not to mention the A/C compressor went out..

This car has been nothing but problems.

General Comments:

It's fun to drive when it works, but when it breaks it really hurts.. I have a 1983 300d Mercedes that is 10 times more reliable than this car, and it's 20 plus years old.. I will never buy American again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2006

31st Oct 2010, 21:51

I agree! My engine went bad at 114,000 miles. Had to get it rebuilt.

16th Jul 2013, 13:33

I also agree, I have had to rebuild my engine as well, and it still runs like crap. I think the BCM is bad, only 76k miles, what a waste. GM should recall these engines and give me my money back. What a terrible way to do business!

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Base 3.4 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles

Summary:

Good car except for brakes and headlights

Faults:

I have only had a couple of problems with my Monte Carlo.

The first problem that I had was the brakes (4-wheel disc). I think the other reviewer had the same problems. Last spring I replaced all four rotors and pads. That was a little over $400. Then after about 2 months the brakes would squeal or make rubbing noises. So I brought it back and the mechanic told me they were just dirty. Its been going on now since it first started. Another thing was that they should make cars with Anti-Lock Brakes because in Northern NY, it snows and ices and when I put on the brakes it slides. Then 2 weeks ago, the brakes failed and it became real hard to push the pedal. I slid into another employees car and cracked the cheap plastic front bumper and got it replaced.

The next problem is with the headlights. I think they should be brighter and more reliable. I was driving on the highway and I put the high-beams on and was driving and only the high-beams went out, the parking lamps were still on. This has happened about 4 times now. Then on the way to work my message center said HIGH BEAM OUT. So I replaced both beams.

Also, the SECURITY light mysteriously cam on in the message center once along with the SERVICE VEHICLE SOON light. The CHECK ENGINE idiot light has also come on a few times.

General Comments:

This car is pretty good, never mind the brakes and headlights. Monte Carlos have been known for their performance and it shows. Even with the 3.4 Liter, this baby can take off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

1st Apr 2010, 16:48

The Monte Carlo does have ABS brakes; your sensor may be bad.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews