Chevrolet Nabira Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Chevrolet Nabira Sport 1.8 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

NO COMMENT for now

Faults:

Nothing yet, since got the car before Raya Aidil Fitri.

General Comments:

I am annoyed that a car of this class would not have a DOOR LIGHT INDICATOR.

Even our current KANCIL have that indicator if the door is left open or not properly shut.

I never thought of asking this with the dealer when we decided to purchase the car. Since this kind of functionality should be standard and NOT NONE EXISTENCE!

Most of us who purchase an MPV is because we have a family and this means children. Have you guys notice how hard you have to close the door. A 7 or 10 years old will sometimes forget to close the door properly. NOW, just imagine that there is NO DOOR INDICATOR!

Apart from this, the car is great. The power in acceleration is GOOD. Can easily overtake another car. Which is one reason why we choose this car. Another reason is the availability of the rear aircond. MAZDA PREMACY does not have this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

22nd Jul 2005, 21:29

The reason the door indicator isn't there is because on continentals they appear on the trip computer which has been left out on the Malaysian CBU for cost reasons I believe. The trip computer display has been replaced with a time, dat and outside temperature display.

21st Dec 2005, 22:57

Agree that the seats are hard, no door ajar indicator, but it's a nice car to drive and am enjoying the drive.

I would like to know if any of you guys had problem with connecting a DVD to your car. I was told that extra care must be taking to wiring.

Any of you guys fixed a DVD / VCD player to your car? If yes, do you have a problem with the wiring? If there isn't any problem, could someone please recommend an accessory shop I could go to in KL / PJ?

2004 Chevrolet Nabira CD Sport 1.8 DOCH Ecotec from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOCH Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

Recommended for family traveling as well as commuting to the office

Faults:

The brake gives squeaking sound when braking at a slow speed.

The side driver's window squeaks, but resolved by running my finger through the window pane column/frame.

No safety indicator to indicate the doors are tightly closed.

The second row seat cannot be reclined.

The seats are hard, but looks tough.

General Comments:

Driving the car is very relaxing.

The "S" button is really helpful when overtaking.

The rear acconditioning is very helpful when you travel with your kids.

The electro hydraulic steering system really helps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

19th Nov 2004, 19:47

The car is very easy to control.

2003 Chevrolet Nabira CD 1.8 petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 122

Summary:

A good family buy, but a gamble

Faults:

The ignition key wouldn't work. It had water damage.

Driver window squeaks badly.

Coin-box gave way.

Rear window wouldn't close.

Not enough compartment space in car.

Brake pads leave huge piles of dust on wheel covers in days.

General Comments:

Dealer support is not there. Was quoted RM700 (US 184) for a new key!

Nabira is cute. Parks well. Excellent ladies car. Roomy and gives sense of security to driver.

Great pick up on 1.8. A bit heavy on fuel (but that might just be my driving style).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

2003 Chevrolet Nabira Sport 1.8 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

Intelligent MPV

Faults:

Nothing... well a noise in the engine compartment when I pressed on the gas pedal.

Turns out to be a metal joint on an aircondioning pipe that is hitting the body. Solved by the Chevy dealer in 5 minutes.

General Comments:

The car fits my lifestyle.

Good handling and quite economical for a 1.8 MPV. Sport button is handy to get you quickly to 100+km/hr - good for overtaking.

Very versatile. Turns from a 7 seater to a 6/5/4/3/2/1 in a fly. Full "van space" in 2 seater mode.

So far, no problems yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

26th May 2004, 02:54

Hi nabira owner.

I just have a look on the 1.8 CD Sport nabira at show room. it is indeed very solid and very european. they are selling RM111K for the red sport model. good buy. can you tell me what kind of fuel consumption like. km/liter?

Thank you.

17th Oct 2004, 10:26

Dear Nabira Owner.

Hello. I am from Kuala Lumpur. Just went to test drive the Nabira this evening and am considering purchasing one.

Comments

1) Nice ride

2) Pretty decent power for a 1.8

3) Cabin noise is tolerable for a european car

4) Quite comfy.

However, I would need some feed back from you as a user before I proceed with my purchase.

1) What are the things that I should look out for in terms of unreliability?

2) What kind of maintenance cost that you are facing with the Nabira?

3) Also did hear about the power window from the dealer. Is this much of a hassle?

4) Has the engine given any indication of unreliability?

5) How are spare part prices?

6) Is the service centre providing prompt service attention to their customers?

7) If you are owning a red colour, are you facing any fade in paint work?

I look forward to hear from you with your feed back.

Best Regards.

Potential Nabira Owner.

18th Oct 2004, 23:24

Fantastic!!! I love it.

12th Jul 2005, 00:15

Nabira... yes...captivating...like my kind of dream car. Using Wira 1.3 saloon since late 1998 (ADS... one owner). Wonder what it will be like if were to switch over to Nabira. Nabira saleman... what is you latest price. How about after sales service and spare parts problems now after DRB HICOM.

(P.S: aimijah04@yahoo.com)

8th Aug 2005, 13:17

Anyone who like to know more about Chevrolet's cars, prices and model send me and email at farha_faizal@yahoo.com.

22nd Nov 2010, 10:14

I'm a proud owner of a black 1.8 Nabira Sport. I love the acceleration. No Japanese & Korean make is able to beat it when I'm in for a fast drive. Very steady road holding even when the road is wet.

I get used to the no door open "signal indicator" and so does my family. Very comfortable seating for 5, but the 2 last seats are only meant for small frame built.

It's been 5 years from the day I bought it, and problems are easily solved, but please ensure only authorised Service Centres dare touch your Nabira.

2003 Chevrolet Nabira CD 1.8 DOHC 16 valve from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC 16 valve Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

Comfortable and roomy family car

Faults:

One of the power windows wiring was faulty.

Local dealer finally got it fixed after 10 failed attempts. They are very helpful though.

Air-conditioning bypass tube dislocated and disappeared, resulting in the front passenger floor becoming soaked with water. The local dealer is trying to get it fixed under the warranty.

General Comments:

This car is known as the Opel Zafira or Chevrolet Zafira or Vauxhall Zafira or Holden Zafira in different parts of the world. Strangely enough, it is known as the Chevrolet Nabira in Malaysia.

Ride and handling are good, interior material quality looks tough and lasting, and the Flex-7 seating is brilliant.

However, more luggage space would be appreciated, especially when all seven seats are used up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

16th Mar 2004, 20:13

I drive a Opel Zafira in Singapore and we have an active group of Opel drivers. I'd like to find out more about the Nabira in Malaysia. Can you drop me a line at:

AllBlackZafi@yahoo.com.sg. cheers.

23rd Apr 2004, 22:31

I face the same problem with the power window - one is not working. Just got the car for a week, and haven't sent to the dealers yet. I hope they can get it fix.

Overall - it's a great car.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews