2001 Chevrolet Prizm Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2001 Chevrolet Prizm from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Best car I ever owned on a budget

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Great car. Very low cost to operate.

This car was built by Toyota.

Excellent fuel economy on long trips or just driving point A to B.

However the back seats are a little cramped for two full sized adults.

This car gave me problems while I owned it.

Wish they would still build them today because they cost about two thousand less than a Toyota Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2007

2001 Chevrolet Prizm Lsi 1.8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Good average car, but check on oil consumption before buying

Faults:

Consumes oil 1 quart per 1000 miles.

Check engine light.

General Comments:

Nice car, but oil consumption makes it a headache as far as maintenance is concerned.

Good mileage, but lacks low end power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2007

4th Dec 2007, 08:16

Sounds like previous owner abused the car. e.g. Never check oil?? Ran it dry???

There are SO MANY Toyota 1.8L engines like this driving around in the WORLD, if there was a real problem with oil consumption it would be better known.

As with any used car, get a THOROUGH check-out by a mechanic, including compression and leak-down of engine. Also don't buy a car that has had it's check engine light reset within a month or minimum 4 complete drive-cycles (this can be checked with better OBDII interfaces).

7th Jan 2008, 13:27

2001 Prizm has what appears to be a known piston ring defect that leads to excessive oil consumption (check various Chevy boards for more on that), may also be an issue in near years of this Toyo powered item. Symptoms are normal running other than high oil use (a qt every 300-1k miles) and a sooty tailpipe, plus loud howl and air dissipation if you remove the oil cap during idle to check for crankcase blow (watch for loose oil droplets, and wear an old shirt). Oil may not show in air cleaner, seems to simply burn unless otherwise collecting in piston or drain sump. Suggestions are to check the EGR and PCV, but appears those may be side issues to critical piston ring failures. GM has no known action pending, despite the numerous complaints on the Toyota supplied engine.

16th Jul 2011, 12:35

Mine uses a quart every 400 miles. Everyone knows about this problem with the 1.8.

2001 Chevrolet Prizm from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Best car I could have asked for

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. But I was only up to 64k on it...

General Comments:

I loved this car. I got an EXCELLENT deal on it at $3000 in 2004... it only had 40k miles on it. I never had a single problem with this car. Never took it to the shop in the 2 years I had it... I should have gotten full coverage on it. I'm kicking myself for that now. Poor Prizm, it died in a car accident : (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

2001 Chevrolet Prizm Base 2.4L Straight 4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Straight 4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

Safe and reliable, but kind of boring

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is the serpantine belt needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

The car is very well built and very reliable. However it is very small and does not accommodate tall drivers such as myself. this car is very plain and there are absolutely no options on this car except for a CD player. And it is extremely difficult to find one with many options. But the car is reliable and does what its gotta do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

18th Mar 2006, 20:28

Your engine listing is wrong it's a 1.8 not a 2.4.

2001 Chevrolet Prizm Standard eNDGIN from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Standard eNDGIN Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Great compact car - highly recommended

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

Great little car. Highly recommended. It's the same as the Toyota Corolla for the most part.

Does very well on highway and in city. Not great acceleration, but very respectable and all that is needed for mature drivers.

In fact, it used to blue book for much lower than the Corolla, but now many people realize they are the same car and the price of the prizm has gone up.

I know this because someone wrecked my car when it was parked and the insurance company gave me $6500 for my car even though I only paid $4000 for it a year ago.

AWESOME!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2005

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews