2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT 4.2L I6 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.2L I6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance68240 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Coupe

Summary:

You can't trash an SUV you see everywhere!

Faults:

Other than replacing one front headlight lamp and one rear headlight lamp, I love this thing.

General Comments:

Fast 290hp V6.

Good looking, like a smaller Tahoe version.

Heated seats and 6 disc player.

All the controls and info I need. Temperature and easy displays.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2010

22nd Nov 2010, 14:00

We'll see if you can't "trash" this vehicle after you own it for awhile. So many of them on the road does not make them any good. Do some research on TB problems and you'll find many. Guess what? I've had all of the major ones on two different trucks.

I am sworn off GM for life over these trucks.

22nd Nov 2010, 16:31

I bought a Trailblazer SS as it's an SUV, and a new Silverado as a truck. No issues.

23rd Nov 2010, 11:57

Glad someone has some kind of luck with GM. The SS is a nice version of the TB, but it is very poor on gas mileage, plus the tire and wheel setup make it pretty bad in the snow. When I buy an SUV, I want it to be set up for year round driving, without spending more money just to prep it for snow driving.

23rd Nov 2010, 17:28

"I am sworn off GM for life over these trucks."

We're just the opposite. 90,000+ miles on our GM SUV and not a single repair yet. Not even a brake job. Of course we have had exactly the same flawless service from our Fords, but we wouldn't hesitate to buy either. One of our Fords was driven over 300,000 miles with virtually zero problems, and one of our previous GM's made over a quarter of a million miles with zero repairs.

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer SS 6.0 litre from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Rendezvous

Summary:

Vehicle seems very good so far with no major problems

Faults:

Service tire monitor keeps coming on. I notice this problem has been mentioned before.

Had problems with the tire sensors, and when the dealer fixed them, the sensors are now on the wrong tires.

No other problems so far.

General Comments:

Comfortable vehicle with all the options. Engine has a lot of power, and the vehicle has performed well on long trips. We do trips of 7000 km in the summer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2010

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS 4.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Nice truck, but could use a few improvements

Faults:

Fuel gauge reads empty all the time.

Check engine light due to emissions issue.

Weather stripping around rear doors.

Brake lights burn out often.

Plastic interior trim.

Idler pulley failure.

General Comments:

I purchased this SUV for my wife a few years ago after shopping around for various SUVs. I am the Chevy fan in the household, so when she showed interest in the TB, I was all for it.

We have experienced more problems than I expected from a vehicle this new. The fuel gauge being the most aggravating. This part is located inside the fuel tank. The sending unit (controls the gauge on the dash) and the fuel pump are one assembly, and cost upwards of $600.00 for the part alone, not to mention the labor to install it. We have been resetting the trip meter and have been getting by, but it continues to frustrate me this gauge is broken.

The other issues with the truck have been fairly minor. I have been able to repair most everything else.

I do really like the way this truck looks and drives. The I6 engine is very quick. The truck is fun to drive and handles well.

Better mileage would be great, but hey it's not a Civic, it's a truck.

The fuel gauge is a known problem on these trucks, and I wish GM would stand behind their product and fix this. Really not exactly safe for my wife and kids to be left stranded because she forgot to reset the trip meter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2010

15th Mar 2010, 14:14

I used to be a Chevy fan too - I woke up one day and changed my mind - they build garbage.

15th Mar 2010, 16:18

Thankfully I was never a Chevy fan.

16th Mar 2010, 12:48

I am very pleased with my Corvette. No issues and great to own.

4th May 2011, 19:01

I have a 2006 Trailblazer, and it has given me NO problems whatsoever. I love this truck, my son was born early by 3 months, so we were making unexpected trips everyday to Johns Hopkins in Baltimore (about 3 hours away from us).. I also drove it to work for the first 2 years, which was 45 min. each way.

Every manufacturer has problems with all of their cars, but this is one that I would continue to buy over and over, because compared to other companies, GM has a lower amount of problems overall.

I have 91,000 miles on my truck, and it will go another 200,000 miles. If they would still make them, I would buy one for each of my boys to drive... Great Truck!!!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews