2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer SS from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Loved the car at the beginning, but now I just wish the nightmare was over!

Faults:

At the beginning everything was working fine, but just recently everything is going wrong with it. I have taken it to the shop 4 times already and they cannot find the problem with it.

At times it won't turn on, and when I do get it on it will shake a lot.

Also we had our tires changed, and for some reason now it gives us a warning to service tire monitor. It turns out that the sensors for the tires are no longer working and it is about $500 to replace them.

Also our air compressor is not working anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2008

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT 4.2 Litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.2 Litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

No major problems after 60,000 miles

Faults:

AC needed to be recharged.

One of the aux. power plugs no longer functions.

Other than that, pretty trouble free.

General Comments:

Very reliable.

Comfortable on long trips.

Good quality leather for a family SUV.

Good turning radius for a larger SUV.

Interior quality is very average.

Transmission is sluggish, the engine gets pretty loud upon acceleration.

Gas mileage never gets above 17 mpg, but then again, this is an SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2007

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS EXT 4.1L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.1L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance13467 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Top ten ever made

Faults:

The only thing that I found wrong with my Trailblazer was the the fuel level sensor, which went bad at about 12000 miles. It was covered under warranty. Other than that I would say that anyone else would possibly complain about the fan noise, but I believe it is normal.

General Comments:

I love the look and performance. I went with the EXT, and it is very spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2007

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS 4.2 VORTEC I6 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2 VORTEC I6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21400 miles
Previous carNissan X-Terra

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

The gas consumption, oh this is one thirsty vehicle to be sure. I also wish the gas/brake pedals were spaced a bit better.

General Comments:

I think this is a great car, I have only owned it for a week, but so far it has surpassed my expectations. The ride is smooth even over some bumpy roads. The pick-up is quick, zoom-zoom and I love the way it feels on the open road. I had an Xterra and the ride in it was choppy and I thought I liked that kind of ride, but this Trailblazer has changed me 100%. You’ll never know the joy until you take a seat and soar into the clouds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2007

9th Dec 2007, 13:58

Take your seat and soar into the clouds? Huh? This is a Chevy Trailblazer... it is not thrilling to drive whatsoever. It is like driving a shoebox full of lead bars on top of marshmallows... I drive one and for an SUV it is okay, but this is by no means an enthusiast car...

Unless...you are talking about the SS... which I assume is fun.

10th Dec 2007, 21:29

I have driven bigger GM SUV's (hated backing up, but the loaded ones are nice) and yet my 2006 black Trailblazer seems the perfect size and handles pretty well on back country roads at speed. Get one with all options and it's a really nice vehicle. I have had no problems whatsoever after 1 year of ownership... my son with more money with a Range Rover has had plenty of issues especially (motor/suspension issues} with his SUV, but its adjustable suspension is great, but too many duplicate controls and the loudest buzzer that is a pain until you buckle up etc. and you should see its fuel economy. It's a great image impressive realtor buggy though if that somehow matters to anyone. I drove it for a week myself and am driving my GM SUV with no regrets.

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

It's OK so far. I had a Pontiac before and loved it

Faults:

I have not owned my Trailblazer very long, but I have noticed on every Trailblazer I have seen there is a problem with the front bumper. It is warped and wavy. It looks like it is a problem with all of them, and the dealership said they have never heard anything about it. Hard to believe since I counted 15 Trailblazers with the same problem, just on the way to the mall. My truck is white so it shows really bad. I am taking it to the dealership this week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2007

11th May 2007, 23:44

Trade it in for a Pontiac.

12th Jun 2007, 07:50

A good dealership will find the service bulletin and glue it back down according to the factory instructions.

I have read about this in a few message boards. Mine is wavy too, but I didn't notice it until I read about it and looked. I haven't bothered getting it fixed. Maybe it is more noticeable in white and some other colors (mine is silver).

21st Feb 2009, 12:47

How is the vehicle in general?

This isn't a review; just airing a problem. While it is fine to discuss problems in a review, you should also cover the experience of driving and using the vehicle.

13th Mar 2009, 21:04

My lease 2006 Trailblazer has been a big headache. First the alternator went, next the starter $300.00. Now the gas gage does not work, and they want $500.00 just for that piece, not including the labor.

Two of the sensors went out, another $400.00. All in the matter of 2 monts. Can't afford to take it to the Chevy mechanics because it would cost me double.

I have 11 months more on my lease, which was 4 years and I thought it was a 3 year lease. Please tell me what to do, I don't have all this money to continue paying car payments and auto repair payments.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews