2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS pkg1 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Sporty reasonably priced SUV / just not small kid friendly.. and we do have kids at this age LOL

Faults:

I have not have any thing gone wrong except for not glued down seals around windows.. easy fix.. but if I didn't notice, probably expensive a year down the line...

General Comments:

These people must not have kids!! There are not any high sitting cup holders and the seatbelts are very difficult to get hooked in... just my thoughts already...

Wish there was someone in the company we could voice this to, to help the 2008 models be more sporty, and 30s and 40s mom friendly? Thanks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2006

2nd Nov 2006, 15:43

I just bought a new LS 2 nights ago. It's a little hard to see backing up with the dark black tint, but with the black exterior is very sharp. The sound system is cool that stays on til the doors open. I also like the Onstar and hands free mobile phone voice actuated. I looked at a lot of vehicles both imports and domestics and chose my second new GM/2 new vehicles in 8 months time. My Silverado has been trouble free as well and a blast to drive. I like the dealerships on site new factory performance department for endless performance upgrades. More to report soon.

14th Nov 2007, 18:00

Actually, I would buy one specifically BECAUSE it is not kid friendly. I care nothing for baby car seats, DVD entertainment systems, getting into the back seats. I don't want a kid-hauler, and I hope that the designers don't turn my favorite vehicles into kid-haulers. There are no real trucks anymore because they had to be "family friendly" SUVs. Well, I want a 4x4 truck and don't give a crap about family friendly. That's why you buy a mini-van or station wagon.

15th Nov 2007, 12:22

I visit family in Florida and love having a larger SUV that you can rotate adult drivers and watch DVD in the back. It's a lot better to get out relaxed then crammed in a tiny import.

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer not sure nots ure from North America

Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission nots ure Manual
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

I've said from the beginning that it was the biggest lemon and I will never buy from Chevy Again!!

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 24,000 miles. New motor in may of 02.

My fan clutch went out at 40,000 miles. Replaced in Sep 02.

Multiple recalls.

My fan clutch went out again at around 65,000 miles and even after I got it replaced it still sounds like a jet. Replaced it on 8 Sep 06.

The service engine light keeps coming on for the fan clutch problem, but when checked out by mechanics they tell me nothing is wrong with it. When hooked to a diagnostic machine it shows that it is in fact the fan clutch.

I have spent a ridiculous amount of money for something that should have been recalled 4 years ago.

The weather stripping around the doors has seperated. You can hear the wind from outside at an abnormal level.

I was driving one time at night and all the lights went off; interior and exterior.

The windshield wipers stopped working.

General Comments:

Very roomy and I like the way it looks.

It has had too many issues. I was stationed in Germany and to get the fan clutch fixed it was going to cost 1500 euro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2006

12th Sep 2006, 15:18

The year specified is the incorrect year. I assume it is a 2002 or earlier.

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance530 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Overall, a positive opinion of the TrailBlazer

Faults:

So far no problems at all with my TrailBlazer. Everything is working fine.

General Comments:

The TrailBlazer rides well and has great get-up & go. I've been pleased with the performance of the vehicle and the way it handles.

Inside it has very good styling and well equipped. Lots of nice touches to make driving it very enjoyable.

My only complaint so far is with the comfort. Though the seats are fine and sturdy, the headroom is less than I had expected. The seat rides high for me (I'm 6'2" tall) even when placed in it's lowest position. I wish I hadn't gotten the sunroof as that eliminates a good inch or two of headroom.

The seat-belts are attached to the seat-frame instead of the pillar so the belts ride fairly close to the neck rather than down lower on the shoulder.

The gas and brake pedals also are high, and the gas pedal is placed right next to the middle hump, so the right side of my foot is always rubbing against it.

The above issues aren't greatly significant and I have enjoyed the vehicle, but they are more of a nuisance that I hope Chevrolet will address in future models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

7th Feb 2007, 15:13

Didn't know the TB came with a manual transmission. Is your's a 6 or V8? I agree about sunroofs taking away headroom. Do you have adjustable pedals? That has made it much easier for my 5'3" wife to drive. The new GMC Acadia looks interesting- will have to check it out when ready for new one.

12th Jul 2007, 20:31

The Chevy Trailblazer has a recall for a leak in the fuel tank. The tank design is flawed on the Trailblazer, GMC Envoy, and Isuzu Ascender. You should get your SUV checked out ASAP.

13th Jul 2008, 03:40

I also own an '06 TB. I like the truck and it has been very reliable, but the plastic interior is awful. Something new breaks or gets loose every month. Come on GM, enough with the plastic...

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews