2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LXT from North America - Comments

23rd Sep 2004, 11:44

I too experienced the fan clutch problem only I wasn't under warranty. I had them replace the fan clutch and I am still experiencing the same loud noise. This is not normal to drive sounding so loud. It has to be something else wrong. Service depart also says this noise is normal. It is embarrassing to drive a nice vehicle that sounds like a dump truck.

6th Oct 2004, 07:00

My 2003 Trailblazer also has the loud noise, 4 clutch fans, 3 belts, water pumps, tension pulley, 3 alternators have been replaced. I just picked it up last night and the noise was back this morning. I only have 26,000 miles on it. I have requested that GMC buy back the SUV and put in a BBB complaint. So we will see what happens.

19th Nov 2004, 05:14

I, too am experiencing that loud roaring sound from the clutch fan. This used to happen only if I didn't let the vehicle warm up, but it would go away after about a half mile. Well, yesterday it did not go away and as if sleeping on it would somehow make it go away, this morning it still will not go away. I will be contacting the dealer today and will post my results also.

25th Jan 2005, 08:37

I also just had the fan clutch replaced on my 02 Trailblazer at 49,000 miles. Same thing - occasional loud engine roaring at startup, but went away after 1/2 mile until 1-23-05 when it stayed on. Fan had been doing this virtually since new purchase 6-02, but only occasionally, and always went away quickly. Nothing I could demo to the service department until it failed. The $600 bill is on me!

I've filed a complaint with the NHTSA, and will call GM's Consumer Affairs 866-952-4368.

29th Jul 2005, 18:28

I have a 03 Trailblazer that has a bad fan clutch. Let me just say I was shocked When the dealership told me it was $575 to replace it. A two year old vehicle with 45,000 miles should have that kind of problem. After reading about everyone’s problem with it, I think it should be recalled by GM.

24th Aug 2005, 16:22

I have an '02 Trailblazer that needs the fan clutch replaced at 41,000 miles. Dealership wants $350 for the clutch, but nobody seems to be able to get it at all. Autozone said maybe in a couple of days. This looks like a good way for Chevy to pay for all of those new vehicle incentives.

5th Sep 2005, 01:39

I have an '02 Trailblazer LTZ. With extended warranty that ran out 2months ago at 75,000; now my 78,200 TB has broken fan clutch. Two things we found with my friend mechanic. 1. Its the clutch fan.

2. don't rev the engine to force clutch to 'loosen up'; or you'll also need the fan itself (like I do).

To get the clutch to 'let go', I used to rev the engine until the resistance of the air would free the clutch. It works (takes about 15sec), but now my fan needs replacing as the tips have broken loose from the outer disk (the rim of the fan). My mechanic tells me that the $140 price for the fan is cheap considering what the flying fan parts can do to engine compartment (hoses, radiator, cables, etc).

I'm still driving with broken clutch, don't have the money, but now I just keep the car in second gear for 10-15 seconds at 2700-3000 rpm and clutch lets go. This is not a quality I expected from GM. Will go to dealership to see if they can help me, doubt they will.

Mario P.

Rio Rancho, NM.

11th Sep 2005, 08:25

I just bought an 02 Trailblazer and it has the same loud noise all the time. I also have a Service Engine Soon light.

11th Sep 2005, 21:26

Have a 02 Trailblazer my wife called me and told me our fan is staying on all the time in our vehicle. I am a mechanic, but deployed. Our vehicle started the same way every body else's did only at start up and now stuck on all the time. I found that there is a TSB 02-01-39-005 which says the fan clutch is controlled electronically with a temperature switch. So hopefully it is the switch and not the clutch. best wishes!

19th Sep 2005, 19:08

I am also having a problem with the loud fan AND have the Service Engine light on - what the heck is that about? It does feel as though the clutch has gone bad as it is harder to turn with the engine off. The noise is a very loud "whur" as soon as you touch the gas.

I am going to look into that temperature switch as maybe that is why the Engine Light is on.

If anyone else also has had the Engine light on in conjunction with the loud fan, let me know what the verdict was (or what smoke the dealer blew at you).

21st Sep 2005, 17:47

I am also having a loud noise from the engine. Dealer tells me it's okay. I have 41,000 miles on the 2003 Envoy. It never made this noise until they replaced the clutch fan.

1st Oct 2005, 00:39

I had a similar problem with my 2003 Envoy. The "engine needs service" light came on, a code reader determined the fan clutch was the problem. I went to a dealer and I was quoted 359 dollars for the fan clutch only. I went on Ebay and bought a BRAND NEW genuine GM (General Motors) Factory upgraded version for 200 dollars. I also decided to replace the water pump ($100 for the part from dealer). The labor for a private mechanic was 204 dollars to replace both. Total cost 504 dollars. It is working normally again. Shop around for labor and parts if you have to replace the fan clutch . I was told that the front grille has to be removed along with the radiator in order to replace the fan clutch. If your "engine needs service" light comes on, a code reader will tell you if your fan is the problem.

13th Oct 2005, 13:20

I have an '02 Trailblazer LTZ with 53000 miles and has the same issue. It would always be loud until 1/2 mile down the road and then it would go away. Well, today the loud noise did not go away and the Service Engine Soon light came on. I guess my next step is to get a diagnostic. I agree, this definitely should be a recall, especially from all the posts on the internet regarding this same issue.

29th Nov 2005, 08:03

2003 Envoy XL. Getting the Fan Clutch changed today only 41,000 miles. This sounds like it should be a recall.

15th Dec 2005, 11:17

Fan Clutch 2002 trail blazer, fault code: PO495 Cooling fan speed High. (service engine soon light on) loud noise due to fan clutch stuck. computer prob or clutch prob? Have heard many complaints about this and many fixes. Best is: new gm part # for fan clutch = 15293048 and computer needs to have updated software. Is this the only fix?

1st Feb 2006, 17:26

I just bought an 03 Trailblazer. I've owned it for 3 days, and suddenly, the cooling fan has decided to not shut off, like everyone else's. Like all the other comments, it creates a loud blowing sound that doesn't go away. I paid a pretty penny for this vehicle, and to have to repair it 3 days later is ridiculous. I'm taking it back to the dealer tomorrow. Based upon all the complaints I've heard on this website and others, this problem should be a GM recall. I have always had good luck with GM, but I am thoroughly disappointed in GM for not accepting responsibility for this problem.