1999 Chevrolet Venture LS from North America - Comments

10th Jun 2009, 21:47

My 98 venture van just bit the dust!!! 160k miles and is ready to throw a rod. Interesting reading all the things that went wrong with others vans because most of them happened to me. Intake manifold replace twice and the floor board is wet again(first sign of problems with the intake manifold). Door locks quit working and then started again, same with the window. I found that whenever I used premium gas my gas gauge always worked. Oh well. Lots of great memories and fun times with this car but I won't miss it.

10th Sep 2009, 08:03

Please if you have or are having issues with your 99 Chevy Venture, place a complaint with the NHTSA. They have a toll free number or you can place it on the web-site. The more complaints that they receive, the more they will take the issues at hand and do something about them. I too have had to deal with just about everything that has been mentioned in regards to the 99 Chevy Venture. I have placed a complaint and will be waiting to hear back from them. The more people who speak out about it, the louder our voice will be heard.

www.recalls.gov/nhtsa.html or you can call them toll free at (888) 327-4236, TTY: (800) 424-9153.

22nd Sep 2009, 17:28

Owner of 1999 Venture with extended wheel base, we bought 3 yrs ago with 44,000 km on it. Now has 150,000 km, 100km/day to/from work, then add in hockey, soccer, etc.

Intake went the day we picked it up, wife had sense enough to buy Extended warranty off of internet, with this repair we covered our cost. Year and half later, tranny went, extended warranty covered that, $0 to us.

In the first 2 winters, live near Winnipeg, Mb CANADA, had the thermostat replaced 3 times due to no heat at all. Third time the charm as it has worked Great Since!

Now...well, started about 2 months ago, if you pull out to pass on highway, almost stalls unless you accelerate gradually. Garage checked all sensors, narrowed down to fuel pump, little pricey but extended warranty covers the pump, most expensive part.

Rear Struts were done at 125,000, not the front springs as they are still good.

Brakes, pads/rotors, lasted until 130,000 mark. Rear shocks are done, along with springs, replacing them in couple of weeks.

Overall, can't complain, Great on Gas on highway, good in city.

Love my wife even more for being so smart with extended warranty!! She did same thing with a 1995 Grand Cherokee we had as well, now there was a list for Warranty Recall!! Winnipeg, Mb.

22nd Apr 2010, 17:15

I have a 2001 Chevy Venture. Purchased the vehicle when it was 4 years old.

Rusted out rocker panels, rear wheel brake cylinders leaked at 5 years old, rear wiper motor replaced at 5 years old, replaced windows switches at 5 years old, intake manifold, head gasket replaced by Chevy dealer at 6 years old. Dex-cool lawsuit entitles you to about 50 dollars.

Last year water started to leak in where the overhead compass/mileage calculator is located, also paint is peeling off hood, hood is aluminum.

Gas gauge is flakey, shifts a little hard, sometimes whiny, now air conditioner compressor is noisy. Probably bearing?

Oh yeah, last year A/C condenser failed.

See the USA in Chevrolet?? This is a Boston area vehicle.

1st May 2010, 10:12

Purchased a 1999 Chevy Venture used with 25K on it...

Went 187K miles before the intake manifold gasket blew... Had a mechanic buddy of mine work with me, and we replaced intake and exhaust gaskets, as well as the head gasket.

Still had the original transmission working well, but have been pulling a trailer intermittently so I took it for a full overhaul... trans guy was amazed that this was still factory stock, as he was aware of material problems causing failures around 40K to 50K. Basically mine was just plain wore out, so it's rebuilt to new specs.

Have had a couple of issues with door locks and power windows intermittently failing.

Gets great gas mileage... 25 to 26 mpg at 70 mph.

Rust... yeah same as everyone else around the quarter panels, and deteriorating fast.

Brake jobs and other smaller repairs I've done myself to keep the cost down.

But for what I paid for it, and how long it's been in service, I've more than got my money's worth.

Will keep driving until it dies.

9th Jun 2010, 03:18

I just bought my 99 Venture last week. I own a 1990 Lumina APV, and I just have to say that it is amazing. My new Venture offers more horsepower, torque and rides a lot better than the first gen that I own. My 1990 Lumina APV had 192k miles on it, and since I've owned it, I've put 4k miles on it and it still runs good. If anything I would buy another one again, but when I went to get another one, my uncle introduced me to it. I love my new Venture, wouldn't trade it for a Camaro.

21st Aug 2010, 21:29

This van sucks; comfortable on the inside, but gas gauge doesn't work right, the ABS is always coming on and off, the temperature gauge started fluctuating.. would go all the way up, then go down.

Started losing coolant. Water pump went, replaced that and the thermostat. Still getting hot, so now fearful it is head gasket or intake manifold gasket.

Door locks aren't working right either. And the design of the engine is so stupid that it costs big bucks to get repairs, because you can't change something as simple as a thermostat by yourself.

I have had enough of this car!!!

2nd Nov 2010, 20:09

I have a 2000 Montana with 215000 km. I did the intake and transmission recently. No big deal, as I got a super deal on the van, and was expecting it after owning a few of these GM V6's.

To fix wipers in upright position, spray lubricant on mechanism and wiper motor on passenger side. I've done this to a few of these vans, and it always works.

Gas gauge needs a kit to replace sending unit. Buy aftermarket! GM also sells the kit, but wants your first born for it.

Pulling up the carpet behind the front seats and repairing broken wires fixes all of the electrical problems.

A little DIY and the van should go another 100000 km. The GREAT fuel economy is worth it.

9th Feb 2011, 01:26

I also bought a 1999 Venture with 63,000 miles in 2003, and replaced the intake gasket at 100,000 miles, along with the thermostat, water pump etc...

Then 3 weeks ago in 01/11 at 140,000 miles the head gasket blew. I replaced all the stuff associated and will drive it into the dirt as well. Too funny. I see here all the problems I've had windows, transmission etc... happening to others. I don't feel alone now.

May this gray tobaggon of mine keep me driving for another year!

18th Mar 2011, 04:52

Hello.

I only have one problem with this gents info...

We need more of it... IE what wires (color etc) and which side of the van. What the kit # he used Etc.

If only we all had a resource to look up this type of much needed info.

This could so easily come from all these jerk GM dealers and mech's around the world that have worked on millions of these same problems time and again, and say they have nothing to do with GM's problems.

But they sure suck us dry, time after time.

GM, Ford and Chrysler should give all current and past owners a 5 thousand dollar break after all is said and done when we buy a newer model.

But all we can do is trade in the old problems for Toyota's.

Ha Ha, GOOD ONE eh!

Or maybe we could go back to Nissan (remember they used to be the rust king DATSUN, I'd change my name too)

Randy.