2006 Chrysler 300 Touring from North America - Comments

16th Nov 2007, 15:44

I'm also more than a little skeptical of this review. Pistons do not just "get bent". They may get holes burned in them after tens of thousands of miles of pre-ignition, they may get scored against the cylinder walls if oil starved, and even in an interference engine it's the valves that get broken, not the piston.

Complaining about tires, well, that's not the car's fault. Probably the "road noise" was also related to the tires. The "chopped up tires" in 20,000 miles, the road noise, and the swaying in wind all point to driving too hard to the point of abuse.

I agree with the first comment -- this person was looking for excuses to hate this car, and did their best to beat it into the ground.

4th Dec 2007, 09:16

I purchased a used 2006 Chrysler 300 AWD a few months ago. Unfortunately, the vehicle system seems to be draining the battery. The tech at the Auto Parts Store said that after testing the battery, it could not be charged and I had to purchase a new battery. I had replaced the battery and made an appointment at the dealership for diagnosis. The tech at the dealership said they could not find any problems at that time. The car ran without any incidents/problems until yesterday. I got into my car yesterday afternoon and it took me three tries to get the car to start! Anyone else having this type of battery drainage issues? If so, any advice or solutions?? Thank you from a concerned driver worrying about the safety of their vehicle.

16th Jan 2008, 15:03

I own a 2006 300 touring...I have 55K miles... Great car great performance...no problems... I might buy a hemi or SRT... I see why it was car of the year 2006.

20th Sep 2008, 19:02

I have owned a Chrysler 300 Touring for 3 years. Fantastic car. Usually trade every two or three years but not this time! Best car since my first Chrysler in 1965, which I kept for 5 years. Fifteen of them in between and the only bad one was a 2003 Concorde LXi and that was tied directly to the dealer.

7th Oct 2008, 07:35

Seriously now... bent pistons?!?

24th Jan 2009, 21:02

Hi, I own a 300 Touring 2006. I have this problem; it drives me crazy. When the temperature is lower than -5 c when I start the engine, I hear this noise, it is like a big truck, unbelievable. I went to the dealer; of course they don't hear it... any advice?

21st Feb 2009, 14:48

The first review is obviously bogus, the dealer will pull an identical part from a stock unit before they make you wait 3/4 year!

What did you do to the vehicle to "bend the pistons"?

7th Mar 2009, 21:09

I agree with many here. I believe that the reviewer just wanted to hate the car. The 3.5 V6 has been around for 10 years or more and is as bullet proof as an engine can get. Has solid forge crank shaft, cross bolted mains, and while I think dual overhead cam would have been fine, Chrysler felt that single overhead cam would be more solid and less problematic. I have learned with dual overhead cam designs, no matter how well they are put together; they are more prone to problems and if a problem comes up it is far more expensive to repair.

While I will agree that sometimes there are lemons, and maybe this is one, however I am like others that have responded... how do you bend the piston? Again this engine has been in production for a long time, and most if not all foreseeable problems have been worked out.

15th Apr 2010, 18:40

I have 2006 Chrysler 300 3.5 with 31,000 miles. One day the engine died on me, so I took it to the dealer, they told me there is a recall on the engine (F35), but unfortunately that wasn't the reason why the engine died.. so they needed $800 to find out whats the problem exactly, but from the look of it, they recommend a new engine, which is about $7000... After long arguments with them and Chrysler about the recall, I decided to take it to a mechanic who pulled the engine and there was debris on the number two connecting rod.. which was the recall...

So I called the dealer and told him all about it, he said they won't fix it. I called Chrysler and they told me there is nothing they can do, because every dealer is privately owned.. and when I asked the dealer how they checked it in the first place, he told me "we checked it, that's all you need to know" (the car was there for only a day)?!!!?? And to top it off, I wasn't given a receipt of their work... he said since we don't bill you for it, you don't have to sign for it.

Long story short, Chrysler have the worst customer service... a lawyer has taken over the case, and I will post the results...

20th May 2010, 09:18

I have had my dark blue 2006 300c 5.7 hemi since 2007 with 8500 miles on it and have had only minor issues that were window modules, o-ring plug adapter & oil seal leak for the trans under warranty that are common problems that come up in the first year or so in this car. But that car has ran beautifully with no problems since, and it has 40,000 miles with original brakes. I did buy an extended warranty, not knowing the future of this car, but so far haven't needed it. Not sure how long I will keep it, but would buy another one.

30th Jun 2010, 09:58

6-30-10... I bought a new 2006 Chrysler 300-C Hemi.

Today I had a problem with my engine, I believe... While the A/C was going, while the car was in park, I noticed the engine gearing up more so than normal. The kind of sound when the A/C is on. (You know, the engine revving up & down). Since it sounded much higher than normal, I turned off the A/C and still the sound was there.

Well, after a few minutes of listening to this sound, suddenly there was a "POP", and you could hear something that sounded like the belt had broken or something, "rubbery from the sound of it", that had come apart and was beating against the motor, or something was beating inside the motor! After turning off the car, I looked under the hood and did NOT see anything, especially like a belt was broken. I did not see anything. No obvious damage. So I cranked it back up and you could hear the sound again, but this time not as loud. Luckily I was not far from home.

The next morning I looked under the hood, still did not see where it appeared that something was broken. Drove it to the dealership, which was just a mile down the street. So far they could not figure it out, but one suggestion was that the A/C compressor may be bad or going bad. If this is true, this is strange. I don't run my air conditioning system all that much. I run it less than 40% of the time. So I thought things like this would last a lot longer.

But other than that... this is my first Chrysler, or American modeled car.. (I was a die-hard Toyota fan)... So far with Chrysler, I have been pleased and have and would probably buy another one again, if I had to. It has been a relatively decent vehicle. The only thing I wish Chrysler would have done was to make their models more distinct, much like the BMW's do. Depending on the model all of their cars look slightly different. If you are buying a TOP OF THE LINE VEHICLE, you would think that it should look different than lowest featured model. If not, what is the lure for customers to buy at the TOP when the LOWEST featured model looks just like it?

But as I said, my car has proven to be a decent vehicle, and now that I think about it a little more, I might buy another one again. Might!! The looks are what's my issue. Great looking car, but since I bought it at the top or next to the top, with every possible accessory you could imagine, I looked at so many others who have lessor versions, but they all look exactly the same in appearance.

Finally, I am not too sure of the sound... the dealership is looking at it as I speak. Hopefully it is something that is NOT that costly, or that my warranty will cover it.