1995 Chrysler Cirrus Reviews - Page 2 of 9

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LXi from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74600 miles
Most recent distance86200 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Nice car, waste of money!

Faults:

My car started over-reeving while I was driving.

I recognize the problem from the difficulty of pressing on the gas, from the noise of the engine, and the smell of ammonia.

Also, my right passenger door in the back will not stay shut. It just bounces off the latch unless applied the right amount of pressure, even if it is locked, it still won't stay shut.

All of my doors have came loose and allow dust to get trapped and my trunk is the same way. I cannot keep stuff in my trunk unless I want the stuff covered in dust.

My car recently began dying if I would turn the key to play music and would sit for a short period of time.

From my car over-reeving, I have had to put in twice as much gas.

General Comments:

This car was a wasted of money and time.

And now I'm out 2700 dollars because I would not sell because of all of these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2009

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LXI from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Limp mode.

General Comments:

I purchased a 1995 Cirrus a year ago, and have replaced the input and output sensors, solenoid, rebuilt transmission, new transmission and engine mounts and new wheel bearings, but it still goes into limp mode. Thanks Chrysler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th November, 2008

15th Nov 2008, 18:13

When you buy a 12 year-old car with 130,000 miles on it you should expect that it might have numerous problems.

As far as I know, no automaker offers a lifetime warranty.

24th Nov 2009, 23:08

But there are definitely 12 year old cars that do better than this. I mean, a 12 year old Honda is still pretty young, and will operate in a way that you can rely on. It sounds like this car has more than your average 12 year old problems.

22nd Dec 2009, 11:55

I had same issues with the transmission going into "Limp Mode", after replacing the solenoid pack 2x, the TCM 3x, rebuilt the tranny (waste of LOTS of money, what was the fix? To take out and reinstall both the solenoid pack AND the TCM together!! Seems they "learn" how you drive and if not put in at same time, the tranny is confused and continues slamming into Limp Mode..! How could Chrysler not have known that to tell the mechanics??

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Dynasty

Summary:

Once out of warranty, it became a total lemon

Faults:

48,000 distributor went out. No problems since then BUT 65,000 replaced all electronics in transmission. At 65,000 in April 2008 stalled out.

Dealer said bad distributor - replaced it and ran rough, replaced two more. Still ran rough - replaced spark plugs and wires at only 67,000. Still stalling out.

Transmission now in limp mode constantly after replacing transmission computer (was only 6 months old). Car continues to stall at least once every time driven and is in limp mode constantly. Dealer unable to figure out what is wrong as no codes showing on consistent basis. Not to mention they have called Chrysler yet it is 5 DAYS and no response back. Car has been stalling for 3 months and $800 dollars and they can't figure out why???!!!

General Comments:

Really nice car to drive and hasn't given major problems over 20,000 miles and 2 years until now. Wish I had researched more before I bought it though. I now have to try to trade it in as I can't drive it out of the driveway or more than a few miles without it stalling. Is an accident waiting to happen now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2008

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LXI 2.5 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance61400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Avalanche

Summary:

This car looks and drives nice, but the motor and transmissions do not last

Faults:

Valve cover gaskets leaking.

Water pump leaking.

Transmission going into limp mode.

Wheel bearing making noise.

General Comments:

This car seemed to be in good shape it looked nice and drove well. But after I drove it for a few hundred miles, things went down hill fast.

I did some research online and found all the problems I was having was the same as others that have this car. I wish I would have researched this car before I got it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2008

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 36 reviews