1995 Chrysler Cirrus Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles

Summary:

A reliable car for commuting back and forth to work

Faults:

Transmission started slipping at 140,000.

Front struts completely went out.

Drivers seat is broken, it will not slide back and forth.

The car overheats a lot.

Airbag lights come on repeatedly.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable, and has never broken down on me.

However, as the car gets older, more and more money gets put into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2002

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance110500 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Caravelle

Summary:

Classy, reliable, what else would you want?

Faults:

There were continual brake problems till the dealer went through and replaced most of the major components in the brake system (under warranty). One rear wheel bearing needed to be replaced at 65000km (It took me a couple days to figure out where the unusual noise was coming from) But other than that, the vehicle has been trouble free.

General Comments:

The cars interior is roomy with excellent head and shoulder room front and back. I get into other cars and feel claustrophobic in comparison. The trunk is large and the trunk lid opens far enough not to be a danger to ones head. While a split folding rear seat would be nice, the folding back seat allows longer items to be hauled with the trunk closed. The general impression one gets is solidity, the doors close with a reassuringly firm feel, and there are very few rattles. The handling is typically of Chrysler vehicles, solid, dependable and stable in emergency maneuvers.

My one big complaint with the car is it's anemic headlights, upgrading to an aftermarket high output bulb helped, but it's still a bit limited on those dark rainy nights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2002

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The Chrysler Cirrus is sporty, stylish, comfortable, reliable and affordable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. I have had the brakes serviced a bit more often than I would have expected, and I had to replace a broken air conditioning control dial, but otherwise the car's performance has been virtually flawless. I have never had a break down. I just make sure that I complete the scheduled maintenance (oil changes, etc.) and the car never lets me down.

General Comments:

The interior is still immaculate, the exterior paint still shines, and the V-6 engine has all of the power it had when the car was brand new. This car has vastly exceeded all of my expectations!

I was impressed with the Cirrus from the moment I saw it in a magazine advertisement. I was also impressed when I test drove the car.

I spent nearly a year test driving comparable models, but eventually chose the Cirrus. The equipment that came standard on the Cirrus LX would have cost me about two thousand dollars more on the other models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

29th May 2003, 12:50

I own a 95 cirrus and the motor pulls hard until overdrive and then it lags a little, but with 267 thousand miles on it what can you expect. Needs more power in the top end, but other than that they are a great little car.

23rd Oct 2007, 21:14

I posted the original comment in 2002. Since then, I have had some extensive issues with my 95 Cirrus. I had the engine rebuilt in 2004 (at about 85,000 miles). I had the transmission and computer replaced in 2005 (at about 95,000 miles) due to repeated occurrences of the car going into "limp home" mode. I had the headlights replaced in 2007 to enable the car to pass inspection in my new home state. This work was expensive, but I have not had any serious mechanical issues with the car since then. I am, however, experiencing a mysterious "thumping" noise in the right front wheel that has baffled several mechanics.

Currently, I need to have the air conditioner, the alarm system, and one of the automatic door looks repaired; some minor rust spots taken care of; and the faded "Chrysler Cirrus LX" name plate replaced on the trunk lid. At this point, the paint looks OK, but I plan to have the car repainted. All of these issues are to be expected with a Chrysler that has 103,000 miles on it and that has been in service for 13 years. The body, however, is still in great shape and the interior -- aside from some steering wheel wear -- is still immaculate.

The Cirrus is no longer my primary means of transportation. I now drive a Honda CRV. I still think the Cirrus is beautiful, however, and I plan to restore it and keep it as a collector's car.

12th Aug 2013, 19:53

I posted the original review. Believe it or not, I still have my 1995 Cirrus. The engine and transmission work I had done a few years ago is still holding up, and the interior is still in remarkably good condition for an 18-year-old car.

I just had body work and paint done, and the car looks almost brand new. I have spent a lot of money on it in my 18 years of ownership, but I have a soft spot in my heart for it, and there are so few of them left in existence. It's still a great looking car.

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LXi V6 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

KICK BUTT

Faults:

None, just some miner brake downs 2 times, to be exact.

General Comments:

-This is a #1 car for sure!

-This thing is a really good car for real estate. Great car for driving clients around in.

-One super sound system, if you have the LXi, (like I do) you have the best stock stereo out there.

-Nice seats.

-Handles great in all conditions.

-Nice engine hum.

-very nice car all around.

-Great if your chasing your uncle that hada five minute start ahead of you going a 180 kmp/h.

-This the best car ever :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

21st Jun 2003, 15:06

I got the lxi and it is very fast and the ride is excellent.

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Super capable sedan

Faults:

Oxygen sensor went bad at 90,000 miles.

Anti-lock Brake control unit went bad at 102,000 miles.

General Comments:

I really like this car. It is comfortable, roomy, economical, and powerful.

I elected not to repair the Anti-lock brakes. The part was over $1400!

My gas mileage averages over 25 Miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

1995 Chrysler Cirrus LX 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

I would buy a Chrysler again

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. It survived a hurricane, only a leak in the A/C line due to the pressure drop.

General Comments:

Chrysler has done an amazing job concerning quality. The ergonomics are splendid: comfortable, roomy, filled with amenities. Road noise is not bad, could be better.

This auto has been trouble free, with acceptable performance. The 180Hp motor is plenty for a 4 door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

23rd Jul 2006, 10:16

180hp? what kinda LXi do you have??

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 36 reviews