2000 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2000 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Great value for the $$$

Faults:

I've had to replace the rad, head gasket nd the brakes (once). Not bad for the mileage I've gotten from it.

General Comments:

Great value for the dollar. This is the most reliable car I have ever owned. I feel very safe in it. It performs unbelievably well in the snow. I've put very little money into repairs and drive the heck out of it. I'm going to drive it until I run it into the ground, which could be in another 160,000 kms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2006

2000 Chrysler Neon from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Wish I had not purchased a car with a serious history of mechanical problems

Faults:

Oil leak at 63,000. Mechanic said it could be the cam seal or headgasket. He said as long as I change the oil every 3,000 miles it should be OK.

Transmission weeping at 69,000.

Engine light on. Emission failure 73,000.

Paint peeling in small circles on the hood of the car.

Brakes have squeaked unbelievably since I got the car even though they were replaced shortly before it was purchased.

General Comments:

Very worried that this car could have head gasket problems and I am unemployed so I can't afford to get it fixed. Still owe a bundle on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

21st Jan 2006, 00:23

My family owns and drives a 2000 Neon and the brakes also screech like crazy. Nothing wrong with them and it stops when they warm up, (eventually) and is better when mechanic takes wheels off at service and blows out the brake dust.

23rd Jan 2006, 17:34

The head gasket problem has a simple fix. Simply remove header and grind down the bolt holding the header where your leak is.

2000 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0L from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Surprisingly good car

Faults:

Brake light relay failed.

General Comments:

Not particularly comfortable, although it appears to be well put together, despite the rattles and squeaks. The engine is noisy and the petrol consumption is high (particularly when using the air conditioner-which is necessary for demisting the screen).

Having said all that, this is the most reliable car I have ever owned. The dealers, although expensive, are excellent and always make you feel valued. Positive ownership experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

2000 Chrysler Neon ES from Puerto Rico

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

I love my Neon ES!

Faults:

A/C condensator broke down 2 months ago. Also had to have A/C complete rewired about 6 months ago. Aside from that, I've needed no major repairs.

Paint job has held well. Plastic cover of headlights has glazed over.

General Comments:

Great car for the cost. Looks sporty, but feels like a sedan.

Original 15 inch Eagle Goodyear tires are a trap though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

2000 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

A brilliant car for the money

Faults:

Alloy wheels were very prone to corrosion. And bizarrely had to be replaced twice.

No other problems.

General Comments:

This was a very dependable car to own. Totally reliable and fine quality (except the wheels!). I was so pleased with this car and with the service from the dealer that I replaced it with another Chrysler Neon.

Very comfortable with leather seats and air conditioning. Plenty of room for five and a generous boot.

Good performance and pretty good handling too, though the R/T version is better. The ride was a little on the firm side, but not uncomfortable.

Fantastic value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

2000 Chrysler Neon LE (ES) 2.0L I4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L I4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Great Bang for the buck

Faults:

So far there hasn't been anything wrong. Everything that went wrong with this car is because of my own fault.

General Comments:

It's a fast car, and I have added an air intake to give it a little more power, with all the modifications I have done, it's now up to 140 horsepower (132 stock). This car is really good on gas in terms of highway driving, but not overly great in city driving. Seats are really comfortable, sound system is great, but bought a new one. I would recommend the 2000 Neon to anyone who has fun driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

2000 Chrysler Neon LX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance117280 kilometres

Summary:

Not a bad car... It could be worse

Faults:

Brakes squeal for the first couple of minutes, but dealership said it's normal.

Blew a tire after 10 months of having the car, replaced all tires with another brand even though there are a bit bigger.

Radiator went with no warning and in turn I burned the clutches in my transmission. My engine light didn't come on and I basically could have completely killed the car... good thing I was only 2 kilometers from the dealership. $1500 later, my car is fixed.

General Comments:

The neon is a good car, handles well, I've maintained it well since having it. This is the first major problem I've had for 3 1/2 years.

I wouldn't ever buy a neon again, but only did because it was cheap and good on gas. Problems were to be expected just wish it didn't cost me $1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

17th Oct 2006, 19:28

I bought a 2000 Chrysler Neon LE brand new. I gave it up 7 months ago for a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. Dumbest mistakes I ever made. My Neon was an invincible car! Aside from a couple of very minor recalls early on, my car only ever hit the shop for oil changes. If I were to complain about anything, it would be the squeeky brakes. It was almost embarassing to stop when the back drums were cold and wet. The tires that came with the vehicle lasted 80,000km which was satisfactory. I didn't replace the front disc brakes until 130,000km. The only major repair I had on my Neon was the Lower Control Arm Bushings (this seems to be a problem with each and every Chrysler product). I even drove my Neon off of Lake Nipissing after a 30cm snowstorm! As much as my Jeep is beautiful, and obviously wonderful for winter driving, it is 100% unreliable. My girlfriend and I drove out to the East Coast and my Fan Relay and Fan Motor blew. $800 later and the vacation is ruined. I wish I still had my Neon. It was a great car.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews