2000 Chrysler Neon Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2000 Chrysler Neon LE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance133000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

The cheapest luxury car I know

Faults:

The rear name label peeled off twice.

A wiring harness ripped off from the air conditioner compressor and a Dealer from Las Vegas repaired it with tape at very high price! 300$, I was robbed!

The dashboard started peeling when it was new and it looks as it will keep on peeling.

The paint is peeling off from the driver's side lower door jam and it's already rusting.

The battery went completely dead on the second summer!

If the motor stalls slowly going uphill for example, it is almost impossible to restart. Dealers can't explain this.

My neon came equipped with 15 inch wheels and winter tires are impossible to find for these!

The trunk lock had to be removed and lubricated.

General Comments:

The motor runs much too fast on fifth gear resulting in poor fuel economy and noisiness.

The air conditioner lacks power.

The car handles great especially with fifteen inch wheels. It also stops on a dime.

It is very comfortable and the sound system is incredible!

It is roomy and looks great inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

2nd Apr 2005, 15:42

I think you have a serious problem if you think in any way shape or form that a Neon is analogous with luxury. Ever ride in a BMW or Mercedes?

2nd Aug 2006, 00:05

I drove BMWs for years - different models - now I've just test-driven some Neons and I don't see the difference in the comfort section. Tomorrow I'm gonna buy one.

1st Oct 2006, 13:48

Might I ask what kind of BMW's?

28th Sep 2010, 09:14

Did a tune-up on our neon, MSD ignition coil & MSD 8.5mm spark plug wires with E3 spark plugs, K&N air and oil filter, drained out all the old oil. It was similar to "sludge", no wonder why it was running bad. I put in some decent oil, it was about a week before the car "ran its course". The car runs a lot smoother with lower RPM. That was only a tune-up.

2000 Chrysler Neon LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

A poor advertisement for Chrysler products

Faults:

Engine noisy and lacking in power. Particularly, acceleration could be bettered easily by almost any other car.

The anti-pollution devices were over sensitive and unreliable, failing on several occasions which caused warning lights to come on, although there was nothing basically wrong with the engine. This meant lost time at the dealers for repairs.

The paint work was a disaster. It scratched and pitted just by being exposed to fresh air.

And who thought of fitting a non-retracting radio aerial to a car of this high price, just asking for a passing vandal to snap it off - and he/she did!

General Comments:

The model needs fundamental redesign and better quality control in the factory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

2000 Chrysler Neon LE (export) 2.0i 16v 133hp from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v 133hp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance38700 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Excellent, I love it

Faults:

Clutch pedal made an irritating noise, nothing else.

General Comments:

Great looks.

Good performance (133hp on 1145kg).

Nice interior, a bit boring though.

Interior quality not as good as European cars.

The engine is sporty, but doesn't run as well as euro cars (VW, BMW etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

12th Dec 2008, 07:11

I have a 2000 Chrysler Neon LE, and bought it for 1000$. It came with brand new set of winter tires, and brand new set of summer tires with aluminum rims. It has 280,000 but it has never been driven over 100km/h and no one has ever sat in the rear seats. Undercoated every year for the past 8 years and taken to dealership for every oil change. It is a great little car, but you get what you pay for.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews