1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 12 of 17

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI Six from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Six Automatic
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Faults:

Instramentation panel out. Easy fix.

AC weak (easy fix).

Velcro boot pads worn out.

Fuel sensor bad.

Radio volume bad.

General Comments:

I love this car so far. Was worried at first, just bought it as a second beater.

The dash panel is a 99 dollar fix if you check on Ebay. If you're are at all handy, it's even easier to fix. Four screws and the dash cowl comes out, four more screws and the instrument panel comes off. A few big resistors on the back of the instrument panel eventually get cold solder joints and break after time. Simply hit those points with a soldering iron and every thing will work again.

I also replaced the boot velcro attached to the body for 75 cents at Total Crafts. The AC charge was 15.00 Advanced Autoparts.

Nice ride so far, but with all American cars, the more features you have, the handier you need to be after the car hits 75K.

The 20amp ignition fuse sounds like it could be related to the instument panel as well. I would check that first.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2006

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXi 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

I love the car

Faults:

Leakage of convertible top, especially on driver side during car wash. I repaired my own intermittent tachometer/odometer problem. When I first bought the car 2.5 years ago it had this problem. If you remove the instrument cluster, and inspect the circuit board, you may notice that it is brown (burnt) under either one large resistor or a pair of resistors. I am going from memory here. I believe I replaced the resistor with about a 5 watt or 10 watt resistor of a similar value to the existing part (s) which I had on my shelf from Radio Shack. Cost: Approx. Two Dollars. I have driven this vehicle 100 miles every workday for the last 2.5 years with no further malfunctions. I hope this will help anyone still wrestling with the $ 600. board problem, or the we can't repair it syndrome.

General Comments:

Mine has been a fun car and very reliable in general.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2006

25th Jun 2011, 11:43

I had the same leak problem, and took some ice maker tubing and put between the windshield frame and the door seal; worked like a charm.

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible jxi 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

It is poorly assembled and I would not buy another one

Faults:

Every times it rains the water puddles quite deeply on the floor. I have had the drain holes cleaned numerous times, but it keeps happening.

The odometer and tachometer don't work almost all the time. I wanted to trade the car, but the dealer didn't want it because he couldn't see the mileage on the vehicle. He offered $500.00 towards a trade.

The drivers seat and the passenger seat both are split. They are leather seats and both kind of disintegrated at the same time.

General Comments:

The car runs nicely and starts good, gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Help me fix my fuel problem and I love it

Faults:

Currently experiencing fuel loss. I replaced the fuel pump module (aftermarket) and fuel filter and still no fuel. fuse and separate relay appear good. I switched them with others of same size and no change. HELP.

Two ignition switches replaced. I clean out the body drains regularly to stop the water from filling the floor and carpet area. The top is needing replaced and would like more information on the task, however most important now is the fuel system. Anyone had problems and can help me.

General Comments:

Car has been a great deal of fun to drive. This is the first car I have had that is not quick and have really enjoyed the car and gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2006

22nd Apr 2006, 03:35

I am having a fuel problem with my 1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible. The engine cuts out while under way like it is running out of gas. I have replaced the fuel filter to no avail. The dealer says it could be the fuel pump or a defective sensor, but no way to tell for sure. Any help would be appreciated.

29th Apr 2006, 14:06

Check for oil sludge in the engine. My car did the same thing and it was an oil sludge problem.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 54 reviews