1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 16 of 17

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX 2.5L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15150 miles
Most recent distance65257 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A great convertible!

Faults:

Drain holes in rear quarter panels clogged up several times, filling the car with water.

Rear defrost wiring detached a few times.

Brakes needed to be done much more frequently than other cars.

Odometer/gauges circuit board needed to be replaced at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

I enjoyed this car for almost 4 years. It never left me stranded, although I got a nice swimming pool to drive a couple of times.

The car handled very well. Good on gas. Quiet with the top down or up.

Comfortable interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

18th May 2004, 06:22

I have the same problem of water in the car. Where are the drains and how can they be unclogged?

24th Aug 2004, 14:58

Had to replace my brakes twice in the last 2 years.

Two gallons of water was built up from clogged drains and that was after sitting for 2 days before they could drain it.

Odometer and Tachometer don't work, computer chip problem.

Other electrical issues with bulbs going on and off in the open area under the radio.

Had to replace the Radiator cap.

Ride is nice and the gas mileage is acceptable for the size of the car.

Love the looks of it.

29th Nov 2004, 12:32

I have a 1997 Chrysler Sebring convertible. I have 142,000 miles on it. I have tried to keep it indoors during the last two winters. It still runs well. I did have water leakage problems. We found out that the one right rear drain plug had never been installed. This was not discovered until the 2nd drain finally plugged up and the right side of the interior filled with water. The car is hard on brakes. Other than that, the car looks and rides like a beauty. That's hard to say after 7 tough Northern Ohio winters.

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible LX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carSebring yugo

Summary:

A nice car at a good price that needs better breaks

Faults:

Brakes, brakes, brakes. The brakes are supposed to be improved on the new models. I now own a 2001, which seems fine so far. Have the brakes checked EVERY time you have a oil change. I was very careful about my breaks and replaced the rotors at least twice and had them resurface once or twice more - in 50000 MILES ONLY!!! It is normal for these breaks to squeek. They always did, even w/in a month of them being done. The engine always ran great and reliably, by the way. The most expensive fix was belts.

General Comments:

Get those breaks checked again!

The car really did run very well while I had it. The engine never changed all the way up to 95,000 miles.

The brakes on this car suck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

A luxury car with a hint of sportiness at a nice price

Faults:

Oxygen sensor was replaced.

Vanity mirror lights have gone out.

General Comments:

This is a luxury car for a nice price.

The seats are very comfortable, good for travelling.

I get a lot of comments on how nice it looks.

I think everything is placed well within the car.

However it leaks in car washes, has horrible blind spots when top is up, and it has a delay in acceleration when pressing the gas pedal.

Those are miniscule when comparing to all of the features this car has.

I bought a JX and it was totalled in an accident. I love this car so much that I bought another one and have it to this day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance87500 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

If it wasn't a gift out of love, I would have traded it in during the first year of ownership!

Faults:

Serviced the car for the passenger door lock. It had quit operating.

Had three recalls done at first time of service.

One of the recalls affected the operation of the convertible.

After the service recall done on convertible, it started leaking water excessively into the car. Brought the car back and repairs were only made to the driver's side. Parts were factory ordered. Brought the car back for the passenger side to be repaired for same problem. Again parts were factory ordered.

Brought the car back two months later for the power antenna to be replaced. It quit working. Factory ordered and after the car was there for a third day full day, I was told to bring the car back in when the part came in. Upon doing so, the car remained in the shop for a full week.

Brought the car back in two months for electrical problems with the headlights and interior dashboard lights going out. Another full day in the shop with no repairs. Could not find the problem.

The car was towed in two months later due to it not starting. The shop replaced the fuse and sent us on our way.

Car was hit on its side a couple of weeks later. The body shop did a shabby job of repairs. Door didn't line up and the passenger window and rear passenger window were not making contact.

The car was brought back for window repairs, leaking water again, and lining the door up again with the body lines.

Brought the car back for the transmission going out.

Brought the car back for more water leaks.

The car was towed back in for not starting again. They replaced the fuse again.

Brought the car back for more electrical problems with the headlights and dash board lights going out again.

Brought the car back for another transmission problem. Seal went out.

Car stereo has now totally quit and needs a new power amp at $250.00.

The convertible top is coming apart at the seams at all different points. The top is curling up. Needs to be replaced.

A year and a half after I bought the car, the driver's side leather seat ripped in the middle of it. I am not a real heavy person and maintained minks oil and leather cleaning. The passenger seat is now starting to wear badly. It is barely used.

General Comments:

I fell in love with this car when I first saw it. My husband bought it for me out of a loving gesture and as a surprise. We have both been surprised with the poor quality put into this new car, and the rude and prejudiced way I have been treated each and every time I have had to bring this car in for a repair.

Also the amount of time it took to repair it and the poor workmanship of body work that was done. The car still has a one inch gap between the passenger door window and the rear window.

It has just recently gone out of its extended warranty which is why we now have to replace the power amp out of our own pocket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

1st Jul 2002, 18:36

I own a 1996 Chrysler Sebring JXI. I bought it completely totaled and I have had it rebuilt to dealership specs. The only reason that my Sebring is at dealership specs is because I had a dealership advise the body shop that I had repairs done at. In the future, it seems that you should take enough pride in your Sebring to not disrespect it, but to find out how legitimate the work at an automotive body shop is BEFORE you let them do repairs on your vehicle.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 54 reviews