1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 13 of 17

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

The car is very rich looking!!!

Faults:

The only things that are wrong with the car when we purchased it is that the dash lights are half burnt out, the back break squeaks, the passanger door hinge makes a crack sound when opening, trunk hinges are woren out, all minor things dealership is already replacing for us or fixing.

General Comments:

We just got the car 2 days ago and we love it!!! I think it is a very rich looking car!!! I can't wait for warm weather to put the top down on it!!! The steering is very tight and handles awesome!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2006

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JX 6.5 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Faults:

The back corner panel on the drivers side fills up with water and you cannot get it out, weather it rains or you wash the car you will hear it swooshing like a massive wave, except for now it is starting to leak into the car floor boards, just yesterday I shopped vac the car and had 4 1/2 GALLONS on water on my driver side floor boards, front and back.. If anyone knows why this is starting to happen PLEASE contact me, I called the dealership and they never heard of anything thing like it before.

General Comments:

Back Corner- Panel (Drivers Side) fills up with WATER.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

28th Sep 2005, 21:23

There are three (or four?) draining holes in the bottom of the rocker panels on each side of the car. If you don't make sure that these holes are clean, water will collect and slosh in just the way you've described.

This may be covered in the owner's manual (but I'm not totally sure).

16th May 2006, 07:49

Thanks for this comment, I have a 1996 Sebring and the same thing is happening, it sounds like a wave is sloshing around in my trunk, but I cannot find where the water is settling. Now I will be able to take care of it. Thanks.

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXi 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Dependable

Faults:

Most recently, water pump and timing (145000 miles).

Rotors at 80,000 miles.

Door hinge first year (faulty recall).

Park brake interlock (recall recent).

Shift cable (snapped, recalled in 2nd year).

General Comments:

In my opinion, a reliable car. I place almost 4500 miles on it a month due to my work, and no major problems (look at my mileage)!

Excellent handling in all weather.

Cheap labor, limited problems.

V6 engine more reliable than the JX 4 cyl.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2005

1997 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXi 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

A disappointingly low-performance financial drain with a rag top

Faults:

Brakes: had to replace pads AND rotors at 7000 miles. Dealer would not perform work under warranty.

Brakes: had to replace pads AND rotors at 20000 miles. Drums worn.

Brakes: had to replace rear drums at 25000.

Brakes: had to replace pads AND rotors again at 40000 miles.

Starter: At around 30000, started failing, then started making noises. Had to replace the starter.

Window Wiper Control: the control just broke off one day. Of course, it's not covered by the warranty.

Starter: Shop told me the bracket had broken, after 4 hours of work trying to get the new one in.

Electrical: starting at 30 miles, gauges started blinking or stopped working completely, then would start working again. As it got worse, I took it to the dealer. They replaced a relay. Started having problems again 20 miles later.

Electrical: fuses started blowing for no apparent reason. Had to carry a box of them. Took it into the dealer, and they did something, but fuses would still blow. Took it back, and they replaced something else.

Transmission: clunking noises when downshifting at certain speeds. Took to dealer - they said they could not find anything wrong. Sometimes the entire car would shudder, but never with the tech in the car.

Entire power steering system had to be replaced at 50000 miles at a cost of $3100.

Paint: started crazing at about 30000 miles. Some of the sealer they used around the rear deck is coming up.

Top: at around 50000 miles, the rear window seal started coming off. I had to us silicone seal.

Electrical: at around 35000 miles, the headlights started having problems. Took it to the dealer, but they didn't fix it. At 55000 miles, I dug into the wiring and found that the connectors to the headlights were melting, and the wiring was overheated. Now the headlights don't work at all.

Vents: sometimes, the interior air control doesn't seem to work correctly, and sometimes it takes a really long time for the heat to work in the morning.

Interior: all of the panels with the window controls rattle when the stereo is on, even at moderate levels. Had to pull up the driver's side to minimize the rattling. Took it to the deal at around 20000, but they didn't fix it.

Brakes: At 75000, the pads were worn to the metal and the read drums were completely worn. Replaces all brake parts.

Engine Cooling System: At 100000, I was told that the water pump needed to be replaced and it is currently leaking.

Air Conditioning: at around 75000, the air conditioner stopped working for periods of time, then started again.

Trunk: Both dampeners broken by 100000 miles.

Brakes: At 120000 miles, pads completely worn again. Have to replace rotors and pads, again.

Engine: The entire time I've owned the vehicle, the engine performance has sucked. And the terrible engine, combined with the awful transmission, has been unbearable to deal with. (I rented a 1999 and a 2002, and both were MUCH better performing than mine.)

General Comments:

I had to have a convertible, and this one was the roomiest, most affordable one available at the time.

It has the best trunk space. (The newer versions have smaller trunks.)

The reliability of the electrical system has been abysmal. The car is not trust-inspiring.

The fact that everything that has failed was not covered by the warranty is ridiculous. Especially, the steering system, the started and the electrical.

There is something wrong with the brake system.

Contacted Chrysler regarding all the problems I've had. They expressed no interest at all, nor do they care to keep me as a customer.

The dangerous electrical system, regarding the melting wiring system around the headlights, should warrant a recall.

I am thankful that, for the most part, the car has remained running, but I would never buy a Chrysler ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

7th Sep 2004, 19:54

Hi Steve.

I have a Sebring JX with the V-6 engine. I am finding out the hard way that the car is becoming a money pit also. I don't drive it often, but every time that I start it up there is a problem. I have had the old coolant system problem too. Replace Cap, Coolant temp sensor, thermostat, Hoses and all to have the Water pump go bad after.

I am surprised that you are not complaining about the gauge panel light going on and off. I have that on going and I know a few other people that have this problem as well. Also the car holds water in the rocker panels after a rain. Have you replaced your timing belt yet? Good luck!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 54 reviews