2002 Chrysler Town and Country Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 Chrysler Town and Country ex 3.8L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

The car is poorly made and unreliable

Faults:

Burns a quart of oil every 800 miles. Dealer tried various things to fix it, but never got anywhere. The service manager told me it needed a new engine, but Chrysler refuses to fix it. They claim this is "normal oil consumption". Power steering system failed and had to be replaced in its entirety. Motor on left sliding door failed. Bushings on front end had to be replaced at 30,000 miles; car is now at 49,000 and it sounds like they are going again.

General Comments:

This car has been a reliability nightmare. I have made more trips to the dealer than with any other car I have ever owned. Junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2006

12th Jan 2007, 15:41

My 2002 Town Country started burning a quart of oil at 30000 and is now up to a quart every 650 miles at 49000. The dealership is no help and wants all oil change receipts before they will even consider looking at the vehicle. This is difficult since I do my own oil change.

Other issues are power steering troubles, 2 times repaired under warranty and still causing trouble. And front brakes already on my 2nd pair and heading for #3.

2002 Chrysler Town and Country from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance24557 miles

Summary:

The mini-van is the worst vehicle I have ever purchased.

Faults:

The air conditioner small hose keeps either coming off or clogging up, causing a leak into the front passenger side. The hose (TUBE) has been fixed or repaired 6 times as of today. Floor of vehicle gets soaking wet. It would have more repairs on this particular item, but I'm tired of not having a vehicle to drive because they keep it the whole day to fix this problem.

The air conditioner motor froze up and had to be replaced.

The window motors on both doors have been replaced once on one side, twice on other.

The fuel pump quit working at approx. 24557 miles.

The water pump was replaced.

Brake light fixed once in 2003, now being told need new front and rear brakes needed reason why light coming on once in a while.

The sliding door locks had to be fixed would not respond to power locks.

General Comments:

The air conditioner not cooling as before.

This mini-van is making loud noises when steering.

The mini-van makes rattling sound when driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2005

15th Aug 2005, 15:19

I also have 2002 Town & Country mini van and both window motors have gone out, first the riders side at 26k and drivers side at 38K.

Now the riders side has gone out again 55k.

Is there a list somewhere with the number of replaced motors?

The dealership wants to charge me $326.00 to replace this third motor.

wdaly3@aol.com.

10th Jan 2006, 16:03

None of my power doors work, only by opening manually. They have looked at this 3-4 times and still having problems. Now can barely open the back passenger door manually and very hard to close. We had the transmission rebuilt at 30, miles and now the transmission control module needs replaced at 40,000 miles~~ $900.

Have replaced front brakes x2 and back needs replaced for second time also.

Worst car I have ever owned!

2002 Chrysler Town and Country LX 3.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

The best way to save money is to not buy a Chrysler Town and Country van

Faults:

The air conditioning needed service twice during the first year.

The lower power steering hose either separated or was not properly installed causing a loss of fluid.

Twice the van did not start in the morning.

Currently in repair due to dash lights and radio flashing on and off plus for a recall replacement of the upper power steering hose.

General Comments:

The electric doors are much slower then the Toyota Siena we had owned.

The electric rear door has no close button near the door causing the owner to either use the remote or the drivers control button.

The rear door rejects electronic closing at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

2002 Chrysler Town and Country LX 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13900 miles
Most recent distance14300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A good minivan for the price

Faults:

We have no complaints so far.

General Comments:

The vehicle handles very well, for a minivan. Test drove a Grand Caravan as well, but the Dodge had a harsh ride and even worse steering. Stuck with the Chrysler, which had very low miles for a 2002. In fact, the underside of the vehicle was still shiny (except for the muffler). Only negative comment so far is that under certain acceleration conditions (just prior to 2000 rpm), the engine feels like it's holding back or hesitating (almost like the van is being buffeted by wind, but there is not excessive wind). Trying a couple tankfuls of Amoco Silver (97 octane) to see if it helps. Overall, very pleased with the comfort, ride, and handling. This is our first minivan and we've been pleasantly surprised. Paid $14,500 (with dealer 8/80 Certification) on a 2002 with less than 14,000 miles (purchased as used from Chrysler dealer on Long Island). I believe we got a good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

2002 Chrysler Town and Country Limited 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

High luxury in a minivan

Faults:

Pretty much absolutely nothing has gone wrong.

Well, there was an occasional and rare flash of the airbag light when turning. A loose wire in the steering wheel was replaced under warranty.

Still has original brakes, tires, and battery.

General Comments:

This is my first minivan and I did not enter the market happily. I have driven luxury or performance cars in the past. To make myself happy, I choose the limited version with all options. I looked at the Honda, but it did not have the luxury of the Limited.

I was concerned that it might not hold up, with all the toys and my previous Chrysler experience 20 years ago, but it has been great.

This car has surpassed all of my expectations. The ride is very good and noise is low. The level of luxury is very high. It has decent acceleration and averages 20 mpg with all kinds of driving.

The seats do not fold down into the floor like the Honda or the new Chrysler, but I believe they are much more comfortable. They all fold down to form a large flat surface and with the optional rear compartment organizer, make it very easy to carry most everything with the seats still in the car. The few times I have removed the seats the wheels on the bottom make it easy to move around in the garage.

The stereo with CD changer is great and the air conditioning is very powerful. The 3 zone heating and cooling is very handy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

2002 Chrysler Town and Country EX 3.8 litre gas engine from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre gas engine Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

A great family minivan

Faults:

Horrible vibration in steering due to suspension.

Battery went dead at about 25000 miles.

General Comments:

This minivan has been fairly good other than being a little bit flimsy.

It handles very well and still rides as smooth as silk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2004

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews