1988 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1988 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRover - Austin metro

Summary:

Bazza boy beater

Faults:

Well nothing yet, I just have a knocking noise on the gear box when changing gears and I was wondering if this is normal on the mk1 AX's. If you know email me on metal_belly@yahoo.co.uk.

Apart from that I'm a hells angel in it.

General Comments:

Cool car, nice suspension, very comfy for a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

1988 Citroen AX 11 TRE 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112785 miles
Most recent distance112987 miles

Summary:

Bargain!

Faults:

Electrical faults concerning the headlights.

A jerky motion when accelerating hard.

General Comments:

Nippy, shifty and if you're a young first time driver, get one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

1988 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carFord XR3i

Summary:

AX GT - I love you!

Faults:

New CV joints.

Head gasket blew.

General Comments:

I wanted one for ages, and when I got a mint one I was WELL happy.

I put a Pipercross on it too which made it even better!!!

Best car I've ever had - I've got a Saxo VTR now, but the AX is quicker!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

23rd Jan 2001, 14:36

I have an AX and raced a VTR, and know which is quicker as I left it behind. £700 as opposed to £6000, I know which one I'd choose.

30th Jun 2001, 12:49

AXGTs are the most underrated car ever!! Cheaper than a VTR, much quicker and not nearly as common. Great cars.

23rd Oct 2006, 13:44

I also have an AX GT, but I have decided to put a saxo cup engine on it :) 140hp!! I'm Portuguese, in VDG (bridge Vasco Da Gama) I have a top speed of 250km/h. Citroen rules!!

1988 Citroen AX TZS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Small and smart pocket rocket

Faults:

Overheating.

CV joints.

Wheel bearings.

Fuel pump.

General Comments:

Very fun and quick car to drive. Better performance with a powerflow exhaust and performance airfilter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2000

1988 Citroen AX TRE 4-door 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance76700 miles

Summary:

A good economy super-mini

Faults:

Seized brake calliper - 61,000 miles.

Cracked distributor cap.

Re-conditioned gearbox and a new clutch at 67,500 miles.

Two new exhaust boxes.

Broken weld on the driver's seat.

General Comments:

Far less rust prone than most British contemporary super-minis.

Has never broken down, very quick and nippy around town.

Comfortable seats, quite good quality trim and a soft suspension with bags of grip.

Still gives superb economy on motorway runs, 50+ mpg.

Overall, reasonable performance and cheap to run and insure.

Rear seats fold down to provide plenty of space.

However, parts are too expensive and sometimes require unusual tools.

Uses quite a lot of choke on short urban runs.

A little noisy at high speed and prone to wheelslip in the wet and bodyroll when pushed hard.

Tends to sit on its springs when loaded with 4 adults.

I still prefer driving it to comparable Fiesta/Novas of a similar vintage because of the easy gear change and the quick acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

21st Aug 2002, 19:19

Update - sadly the AX committed suicide in January 2001. A fire developed in the engine bay some 15-30 minutes after being parked up (after a fast 110 mile run). No idea why. A real pity, as it was going very well at 78,000 miles and there was virtually no corrosion anywhere.

1988 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

A wild fast french car

Faults:

As I bought it when it was off road it needed some work to be brought up to scratch.

I have had a new brake and exhaust sytem.

New tyres (partly my fault for hitting kerbs!!!)

Also the central locking has disappeared!!

More recently the master cylinder has decided to go too.

General Comments:

I think these are one of the most wicked cars on the road. They are popular, but not too popular so they are always a head turner.

Seriously fast but I would not recommend going round corners too fast in the rain as the car spins out of control due to it being so light. I am a girl therefore I show all of the other boy racers what a woman driver can do in one of these cars!!!!

I love it to bits and would definitely get another one!!

The only small car I know which can burn off an XR3i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 24 reviews