1988 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1988 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is the biggest load of crap! Why anybody would want to buy one of these is beyond me! I used to see them around town and think to myself "Wow, those are nice!" (till I bought one), what utter crap! The car is so slow it's unbelievable! I feel like an old man driving it!

Apart from that, I suppose it's OK!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1st May 2001, 15:46

Which planet are you from man? If you expected to chase Diablos and F50s you sure didn't get the right one. It's a 1.4 liter 3.5 meters long city car!! Jesus!!

21st May 2001, 09:55

Crap I agree with, slow I don't think so. I had one for 2 years and right up until the end it still impressed me with its ability. I've a 205 Gti now and although its a better car it doesn't scream like the old Ax did. In fact if it didn't fall to bits every month I'd probably still have it now!

8th Sep 2001, 03:15

It only has 75 HP!!! Still it reaches almost 190 km/h and 100 km/h in less than 10secs. So...

23rd Oct 2006, 13:47

Crap??? lol it's a 1.4 car.. its not comfortable, or safe, but is FAST!!!

1988 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired113800 miles
Most recent distance129508 miles

Summary:

Good if you get a decent one

Faults:

Overheating.

Engine rebuild.

Wishbone replaced.

Driveshafts.

Clutch.

Siezed brake caliper.

More overheating.

Starter motor.

General Comments:

Car is lightning quick, faster than XR2i's and Corsa GSi's since I fitted a new air filter (K+N).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2000

1988 Citroen AX GT 1.4 carb petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 carb petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova GSi

Summary:

Absolutely mental french dog

Faults:

Most things! These cars are so unreliable it is untrue. The bodywork dents if you blow on it and the interior rattles like a kids toy. Often I wondered whether the car was going to fall apart.

The brakes in standard form are absolutely shocking and couldn't stop an airport luggage trolley!

The list of problems is so big that I might as well tell you what didn't go wrong! - the engine never seized!

General Comments:

On the flip side, this car is absolutely mental!! For a 1.4, insurance group 10, you will not get a faster or cheaper car. It keeps up with a lot of hot hatches and can really throw you back in your seat, if you twin choke it in a low gear (although petrol consumption goes through the roof!). Every passenger in my car was impressed. However they do run out of steam, soon after 70mph, and as you hit 100mph, you have serious doubts as to whether the car will stay in one piece.

I have heard that they handle well, however my experience is quite different! I have never driven a car that is so out of touch with the road! Oh and by the way, if you thought the handling in the dry was bad, then wait till it rains - I learned the hard way, by understeering into the side of an Astra.

If you don't have much money to spend, and/or cannot afford "hot hatch" insurance premiums, then go and get yourself one of these. However if not, avoid them like the plague and get yourself something decent!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2000

5th Jun 2001, 15:34

RE: under-steering into the side of an Astra.

Coming off the throttle should bring the back end round.

23rd Jul 2001, 16:50

RE: understeering in astra.

How about not accelerating fully around corners in a front wheel drive car.

27th Jan 2002, 13:39

You are either a bad driver or you didn't actually have a GT!!! Mine handles great and can't complain with it one bit.

23rd Oct 2006, 13:51

Sweet, but mine has 140hp... Saxo cup engine on it! Ah, and brakes too ;)

1988 Citroen AX 11RE 1.1 carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 carb Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Faults:

Battery went, distributer, clutch.

General Comments:

Generally, it is a really sound car. It has a nice interior and has a fair bit of grunt for a 1.1. Downsides are its flimsy build and the suspension is a bit soft, apart from that it's a fab car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 24 reviews