1992 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1992 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from Portugal

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41632 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A demon on wheels

Faults:

Just the water thermometer. It was always open.

General Comments:

The fastest and most fun car I drove so far.

I would never trade a car like this.

My biggest fun is to watch a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 liter in my rear view mirror.

I took it to test the power, it came out at 98 HP with no changes. Incredible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

26th May 2001, 19:17

98 bhp... is that at the wheels!! If it's standard I don't think so, it can't be... I have tuned up my GT and estimate it at about 85/90 bhp..

Enough of that... AX GT's rule.

27th Nov 2001, 10:47

Hey I just got a mark 2 J reg GT, it looks smart and handles great, but I feel it is not as fast as it should be. What could be the matter?

E-mail me at martynbooth@hotmail.com

1992 Citroen AX High Light 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance97500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

A typically horrid French hatchback

Faults:

It broke down in traffic - every week for 8 weeks.

New fuel pump.

Several carb rebuilds.

New brake disc/rotors.

New caliper.

The back seat fell apart.

The front seats were falling apart.

The seat belts kept jamming

Every time you wash it some bit of trim falls off.

The sun roof leaks.

General Comments:

The handling was awful.

It's a gas guzzler for the size of the car.

Has only four gears.

The steering was awful.

It is possible to dent it while washing because the metal is so thin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

31st Jan 2001, 16:51

Rubbish, I had a 1.1 after I passed my test, and OK, it's a wee bit slow, but a it's sound as a first car.

6 months on I now drive a 1.4 GT 500, and it's fantastic. It's been well modded, standard body with subtle mods e.g. clear indicators etc, 15 inch wheels (just, with a lot of work).

I have a K&N, Janspeed exhaust and manifold, Piper cam, ported, polished and gas flowed head, and twin weber IDF carbs. This gives me 128BHP and a very big overdraft. Will never get it flat out as it still pulls at 135mph.

A real beast, a must have, so buy one!

31st Jan 2001, 18:35

I think you bought my sister's car. It was just like this. Is it that horrid pale metallic blue colour?

3rd Feb 2001, 18:49

No, it is red. But, give it a month and it will be... red, but with fancy lacquar.

Anyone know how to boost my motor's power any more? I want the BHP figures to be 140-150. No turbos or superchargers. I want it kept naturally aspirated.

15th Oct 2001, 13:13

Hmmm, a good, sound car??? Yeah okay, it's quite reliable engine wise, however they ain't that good. The bodywork on them is total crap and they fold up like a pack of cards in an accident, the gear boxes are totally lousy, the built-in automatic choke means that the petrol filters have to be replaced regularly, and basically they are a shed. Oh, and the handling stinks!

1992 Citroen AX Echo 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43700 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Vitara

Summary:

A loyal, reliable french friend!!!

Faults:

The brakes have seized three times on my car, each time requiring major work.

Usual stuff such as brake lights blowing and minor rust patches.

General Comments:

All in all a great little car - highly recommend them to anyone, especially those on a budget.

1.1 is surprising fast (I thought there had been some mistake and I was driving a 1.4 away from the garage when I first bought it!!).

I travel a lot and the AX will start first time after being away from home for weeks! I now want to buy an AX GTi!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2001

30th Aug 2005, 07:55

Just bought a '92 Echo. Great value for money! Dreadful looking cars that rust like hell, but reliable, nippy and great for dodging about. Plus you can buy them for peanuts!

1992 Citroen AX GT 1.4 carb petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 carb petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2

Summary:

Buy one now, thrash the pants off it, and enjoy it

Faults:

Light bulbs circuit not grounding.

Left hand CV boot.

Buckled wheel.

Water leak in the boot.

Water leaking through the floor in the passenger footwell.

Driver's seat coming away from the body, had to attempt welding the rips in the metal.

Carpet is soaking wet.

Engine idle is erratic when warmed up, the timing needs adjusting.

The engine is loud.

Gearbox is louder than my radio.

Passenger window: regular tendancy to come off the runner.

The central locking motor doesn't like staying in one place.

2 MASSIVE rust holes on each side of the engine bay just behind the lights.

General Comments:

Wicked car, can't fault it really, I could not believe how fast it is, faster than most hot hatches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

5th Mar 2001, 04:52

Read up on one article in REVS and you will see that the Citroen is one of the most reliable cars around for their price.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 30 reviews