1999 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 12 of 17

1999 Citroen Saxo Furio 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Speedy, cheap and reliable

Faults:

Even though it has a VTR bodykit, it looks a tad naked without a set of alloys.

Interior design of the seats only comes in a slightly garish colour.

General Comments:

Quick off the lights and fun to drive.

A set of alloys would make the world of difference. Also it appears 2001 buys have "VTR" on the bodykit rather than "Saxo" and it doesn't actually say "Furio" on the vehicle unlike earlier models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

6th Mar 2001, 12:15

My Furio has the same badges as a VTR. OK, so I have a set of VTR alloys so it could pass for a VTR, but it#s not. And coz it says VTR, more people try and race you in faster cars than a Furio, which is annoying, especially if you're not a boy racer.

25th Mar 2001, 09:34

Just bought 2001 furio, stuck set of alloys on. looks pretty sexy and shifts pretty quick as well, so couldn`t agree more, nice car!!!

1999 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Great performer, great looks

Faults:

Petrol gauge has never worked.

Spare tyre stolen 3 times (cut through the cage). Now I don't carry one!!

General Comments:

Great car, lots of pace.

Stupid design for the spare wheel storage.

The car looks great, in fact the best looking hot hatch by far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

26th Jan 2001, 12:30

Citroen should store the spares again like in the old days. Citroen DS, GS/GSA, CX etc.. had them in the engine bay.

9th Jul 2001, 12:31

A) I've had the same problems with the petrol gauge. Thankfully I moaned to the dealer enough to get it sorted.

B) There is a fierce wobble under braking.

C) The interior freeze up in the winter.

Other than that (sarcasm), nothing wrong with a 9 month old car.

Ewan.

30th Jul 2001, 15:04

My ABS warning light keeps coming on, has anyone else experienced this fault and if so was it serious??

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf GTI

Summary:

Cracking little bargain!

Faults:

The only problem so far (touch wood) is the air-bag light failed causing it to stay on constantly. Looking at other reviews it seems this is a common problem.

General Comments:

Cracking little car - great for tight country roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Summary:

More of a warm hatch bargain with low insurance

Faults:

Arch liners came loose 4 times.

Front suspension beam came loose twice.

Paint laquer blistered.

Dash lights all failed.

All the above faults were fixed free of charge by the dealer and the last fault was not under warranty, but the dealer still fixed it free of charge.

General Comments:

It's a very nice handling car but can do with better brakes which I have upgraded on my one when the front disc wore out at 50,000 miles.

I have done nearly 70,000 miles in 2 years and have had no faults really, which shows how reliable it has been for me. But I have gone through 5 pairs of front tyres and the rears would have lasted all these miles if I had not changed them to new ones at 30,000.

My local dealer has been brillant, always helpful and every service they valeting my car inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

1999 Citroen Saxo West Coast 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired54 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Faults:

Nothing really.

General Comments:

My Citroen dealer is absolutely crap. The after-sales manager told me that I didn't need an alarm as it had an immobiliser! They also told me not to remove/change the side badges, as they wouldn't know what spec the car was when they serviced it. I did anyway! They have also mucked about a few of my friends that have bought cars from them.

Overall - very, very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

6th Mar 2001, 12:30

I also had REALLY bad dealership problems with my Saxo. I went down for my car, and they hadn't put the wheels on. After waiting 30 minutes, they had to valet it, but the bloke had gone home and locked my car in the garage. We had to ring him and get him back to de-wax the car, and valet it properly. 3 hours after I went down, I got my car, and all Citroen did was buy me a can of Coke.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 70 reviews