1999 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 17 of 17

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Superb Car - FUN FUN FUN!!!!!

Faults:

Nothing so far (touch wood!!!!)

General Comments:

I love this car!!! All the reviews said "If you are over 6 feet tall then it is very uncomfortable". Absolute rubbish. I am 6 ft 1 and have no problems at all in that department. I also have size 11 shoes - and the pedals are not too much of a problem either.

Although it is not the fastest car about - the performance is still excellent - overtaking is a breeze. The handling is awesome - just flies around corners. Insurance is cheap - even for a male 21 year old, and even after thrashing it about - I have got over 350 miles to my first tank of petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

1999 Citroen Saxo West Coast 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles

Summary:

Good performance with free insurance

Faults:

Faulty airbag. Oxygen centre has recently gone causing the car to stall every time I stop.

General Comments:

A nippy car very closely matched to the VTR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing serious.

Minor niggles:

Noisy brakes (between 0 and 4000 miles).

Handbrake cable needed adjusting (twice). Annoyingly squeeky clutch pedal (easily solved with lubrication).

Standard stereo is useless, interior creaks and rattles after 6000 (fun) miles of country roads.

General Comments:

Looks good, handles well (at the expense of tyres), fairly quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2000

1999 Citroen Saxo Westcoast 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing serious yet... touch wood, however the internal wing mirror casing has come loose - but then again it is only pushed on - also the handles above the rear mirrors have unscrewed themselves a couple of times - I have two reasons for this 1)I go hard round the corners and my friend who often sits in the back weighs 14 stone 2)it's a Citroen not a BMW (build quality) - it was cheap after all.

The gearbox was making a bit of a noise when it went into reverse, but has calmed down.

The front right indicator has got condensation in it.

General Comments:

A really good buy. I am 17 and they gave me free insurance.

It comes with a sexy Blaupunkt CD player, disconnected rear speakers and added 6 by 9's - sound is now excellent.

THE BOOK TIME SAYS 0-62mph 11.2 seconds - I have done it in 9.7 so the car is faster than you may initially think.

If you have enough money - get a VTS - it will make you climax. If you want a more budget option, yet equally as fun to drive - get a Westcoast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 1999

1st May 2001, 04:14

I find it very hard to believe you did 0-60 in 9.7 seconds in a 1.4 8 valve west coast when the VTR only does it in that time. what were you using, a stopwatch on your wrist!!!???

27th Sep 2002, 17:18

A MK1 90BHP has a book time of 9.7 upto 60 and a MK2 98BHP VTR has a book time of 9.4 seconds.

As you say all cars are capable of better times, but the manufacturers test drivers aren't complete chimps.

Please don't use a stop watch or guess the 0-60 time because speedos aren't accurate so 60mph indicated is more like 55mph and it's easy to be half a second either way with counting.

Use a track or runway with proper Datron timing equipment, that's how manufacturers get their figures.

0-60 in 10.1??

Did you check the handbrake was off!?!

24th Jan 2004, 07:38

I have just bought a 1.4 west coast, I am 17, and insurance is cheap, compared to my other option of a vtr. I am extremely happy with the car. BUT I have to say, does it Really matter what time it reaches 0-60, come on guys, you are arguing over summit silly like 0.5 seconds!!!

18th Aug 2005, 06:39

Hey guys I'm an 18 year old girl and thinking of getting a saxo west coast it's a T reg and the person I'm getting it off wants 3 grand for it, but its done up really nice is it worth gettin it?

9th Sep 2005, 11:36

I have just brought a West Coast, can't wait to drive it, insurance is done (cheap as) MOT done, just waitin to pick it up = D.

Who cares about 0-60 speeds, especially when its only a second difference.

1st Mar 2007, 07:37

I am 17 years old and I have a Citroen west coast in metallic silver. Its done up and all the panels inside the car are sprayed silver. I have added a exhaust that makes the car sound louder and the windows are slightly tinted. For a first car its pretty good the insurance isn't too bad either.And i think that its not a girls car, i think that its a unisex car.

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8 valve petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 8 valve petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Bought car from new and lambda sensor failed after approx 5 miles causing misfire. Dealer corrected immediately. Car has now covered 5000 miles with no problems.

General Comments:

Bought it for the wife so I don't get to use it much. She loves it. I think it is a really fun car to drive, great performance and handling. Do not think it would be very comfortable on a long journey as the suspension is hard. This thing is quick, I would love a shot of a VTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 1999

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Rubbing sound coming from front wheel arches on first day, cured itself within another day. Slight rattle from manifold.

General Comments:

Excellent. When you are bored of driving get one of these and it will bring all the fun back. Nice on those little windy lanes. Brrrrrmm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 1999

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

Front mud flaps scraping off the tarmac when you corner hard + they have come off recently.

Shortly after l bought the car some twat drove the back off her in causing substantial damage of about 4500 grands worth, this was fixed but to my horror the paint developed micro blisters in about 1 week after collecting her at Lisburn car repair centre, plus l found the rear disc brakes had no tappered screws in them to stop the disc revolving when l braked, this l found when on changing my alloy wheels, the boot was also offline, and no screws to hold my parcel shelf together . This statement is not what has really gone wrong, it's about poor workmanship in the general Peugot Citroen approved repair centre in Lisburn, N. lreland (p.s I'm still waiting to get it fixed properly).

General Comments:

Overall, damn fine car, good suspension in standard and a cracker with Konis, looks to thrill and performance to match.

Brill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 70 reviews