1999 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 15 of 17

1999 Citroen Saxo East Coast 1.1i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance6300 miles

Summary:

A good performer for a 1.1! Scary in the wet! Few problems but a good first car!

Faults:

Brake lights failure.

Light steering, but the car doesn't have power steering.

Interference from the alternator with the stereo.

Weak brakes.

Lack of engine power at mid-range sometimes.

Most problems fixed by Citroen, although this has happened in with similar Saxos of the same model. Citroen staff lie about the faults. Once even saying "The brakes on Saxos aren't that good!"

Car to be serviced soon, stereo to be fixed, engine to be checked due to power. This happened since a long motorway run! Between 80-100mph for about an hour!

General Comments:

Car in general is good, great when running low on petrol.

Hits 60 in just over 12 seconds! But is like a ice-skate when it has been raining! Especially around islands. Great for chucking around corners! Attracts tailgaters! I don't look 19, so having the green metallic colour hides me well from the Police! Never been stopped yet, even when they followed me with no brake lights at night!

Nice 2 years free insurance!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

4th May 2001, 02:35

I currently own a Citroen Saxo 1.1 Eastcoast, I feel that it's a great small car though it's only my second car. The only problem I have encountered so far is that the the gears make a lot of noise when I bring the clutch up in 2nd, 3rd and 4th. I have been told that this is the same on all 1.1 Saxos by the garage (I don't believe them) so they say they can't do anything about it. Apart from this I enjoy driving the Eastcoast and find it to be a pretty nice car for the money.

1999 Citroen Saxo West Coast 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carRenault 5 GTS

Summary:

As good as the VTR and cheaper than the VTS

Faults:

Nothing as of 18 months.

General Comments:

Excellent value for young drivers, the look of the VTR/VTS but with low insurance group and free insurance for 1-2 years.

Performance is spot on, but really needs a 6th gear, 70mph in 5th runs at 3000rpm, so a little vocal on the motorway.

Fuel economy is outstanding, 40-50mpg average, at constant 60mph motorway, possible 60-70MPG!!

Thoroughly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

10th May 2001, 10:21

Hi, I have a 2000 VTS, totally agree about the 6th gear. 60mph =3000rpm

I'm only 23 but with free insurance an excellent high speed purchase, especially as it was 6 months old with free insurance (ex demonstrator)

Few problems howerver!!

Eg crankshaft gasket seal.

1999 Citroen Saxo Stateside 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Great value for money

Faults:

Nothing at all wrong with the car so far. A few minor creaks from time to time with the dashboard trim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

1999 Citroen Saxo X Storm 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

A smart looking car

Faults:

Tick over up & down.

General Comments:

A Saxo Storm is a Saxo X with a rear boot spoiler, alloy wheels & colour coded bumpers. This makes the car look sporty with a small engine and low cost insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo 1.1X

Summary:

High performance, low cost

Faults:

Had to have the gearbox rebuilt after 15,000 miles (warranty covered).

Airbag light keeps coming on.

General Comments:

New front end looks the business.

Quick with superb handling for the low insurance.

Becoming a bit more common on the older shapes.

Superb economy for the engine size.

Interior could be better as it is a bit plastic and bland.

A bit tailend happy when pushed to the limit on corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2000

19th Jan 2001, 18:26

Could anyone else post something up if they are experiencing gearbox problems, my gearchange is occasionally very notchy and sometimes won't engage properly, the dealer says it is just a lack of lubrication on the linkages, but I'm not so sure myself. I have a 99 T VTS.

16th Aug 2001, 03:13

My gearbox doesn't seem very good either. I have a '98 VTR and the gears are very notchy all the time, sometimes feels like it doesn't go into gear properly, and I can feel a clunk when I change gear. But apart from that!... Been to the dealer, apparently that's how the gears are on this type of car!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 70 reviews