1999 Citroen Saxo 1.1i from UK and Ireland


Okay car, bit ennoying after a while


1 week after getting the car, the fan belt went.

The lights on the CD player do not work anymore, so I cannot see what I am doing when driving in the dark!

General Comments:

The car is quick, but like driving a shopping trolley when wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

1999 Citroen Saxo east coast 1.1 from UK and Ireland


A good looking useless bum


New exhaust was needed at 21000 miles within two years. Complained to Citroen and was told that although it was not usual it was acceptable for this to occur.

New exhaust again at 44000.

New brake disks and pads are required very frequently. They are always screeching even when lubed and greased by dealership.

Idle regulator replaced at 40241.

General Comments:

The interior looks great. Very stylish.

Great to look at as long as you don't expect to drive it.

Very comfortable.

Taking service and MOT out of the equation over £2000 of repairs.

Green Flag have been excellent on all five occasions they have been called out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

1999 Citroen Saxo Spree 1.1 from UK and Ireland


A very good car


Insulator pipe cracked after 55,000 miles.

Spark in engine not working properly.

Trouble starting.

General Comments:

A very good reliable car up until the last few months of ownership. Could regularly reach 90mph easily and handled well in corners.

Unfortunately I'll remember the car for the bad things towards the end, but it was an excellent car for 5 years, doing many long Saturday journeys to football matches and never let me down.

The controls are all really simple to use, it comes with a decent sound system and the speakers are of good quality.

The look of the car was very good too, it had a stylish shape and was protected by many safety features.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

1999 Citroen Saxo VTS from UK and Ireland


Fun, but unreliable!


Clutch Cable


Can't put car in full lock (Due to being lowered)

Worn gear-box housing.

General Comments:

A fantastic car to drive, excellent performance, but things went wrong all the time!

Out of all the cars I have owned this was without doubt the most expensive to fix, so I sold it 2 my mate as quickly as possible!

I recommend driving one for the sheer fun, but I wouldn't buy another one!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

28th Feb 2004, 10:09

If I were your mate id look for another one as soon as possible as well. Nice of you to sell your dodgy car to him..NOT.

4th Nov 2004, 09:49

Or you could just get a decent car. i. e a japanese one (honda civic maybe?)

10th Dec 2004, 05:48

I agree with the unreliable bit! I bought my VTS 3 months ago and since the day I picked it up from the garage Iv had nothing, but problems! The trouble is that I love it too much to sell it!

Emily - Isle of Man.

15th Jan 2007, 11:21

Could you write that again, IN ENGLISH please, I can't understand stupid phone text lingo.

16th Jan 2007, 06:09


10th Feb 2007, 11:12

To the man who's Saxo cut out numerous times, I find your experience hilarious. I could imagine you jumping all over the car (and rightfully so). Next time mate when you buy a car read the reviews on this website.

1999 Citroen Saxo East Coast 1.1 from UK and Ireland


Good bargain first or second car


The fan belt snapped after a short time.

One of the rear light bulbs burned out.

General Comments:

The car is very quick with good acceleration, particularly considering the engine size of just 1.1l.

The seat position could be a bit better, as the view of some of the dash board monitors is obscured. The general comfort of the drive is good however.

The all round exterior view is good, particularly when reversing. The car handles well in adverse weather conditions.

Fuel consumption is very good, as is handling. The window washer capacity is awesome!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland




Airbag light keeps comming on all the time.

Every time it rains, the floor fills up with water,its stinks - big time.

General Comments:

The car, however is a good looker and a nice mover, Shame about the faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

8th Jun 2009, 12:05

You know that flap that slides under the sunroof?? The interior panel that covers the sunroof. Keep that closed. Condensation happens with it open. Used to see drops of water dripping onto my gearknob till my mate whom I bought it off told me to keep it shut. I can't see it making swimming pools though...