1999 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 7 of 17

1999 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance30300 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

One of the best value pocket rockets around

Faults:

Squeaky drivers seat.

One fog light not working.

Leaking through the sunroof handle, (common Saxo problem.)

All of the above faults will be fixed by the garage this weekend under warranty I hope.

General Comments:

The car feels refined and nippy till it hits that sweet spot when it's "on cam" at around 4500-5000rpm, then you get a huge surge of power and the car goes like a rocket.

It's fun to see the look on people's faces when this little French "shopping trolley" powers away from most other cars on the road.

It handles well, but has a super sensitive throttle pedal that can see you backwards on a roundabout or kangarooing in heavy traffic.

Beware if you lift off the trottle when going round a roundabout you better be well practised in lift off oversteer techniques because the back and front will swap ends pretty quickly!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

17th Nov 2004, 05:50

I have just bought a Saxo, and so far so good!! I can't figure out how to change the time on the dash. Any ideas?

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

A reliable car to be loved!

Faults:

My radiator blew one year after purchasing it.

The driver seat makes a tapping noise.

The areal mount leaks in heavy rain.

General Comments:

These are the best small cars around.

They are neat on the outside and very neat inside.

They have a great performance and can be modified easily to look even better. Especially when lowered.

Overall, they beat any other small car and they can appeal to girls or boys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2002

1999 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance41600 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A superb little car for the money and insurance grouping

Faults:

Leaky sunroof, coil pack.

General Comments:

The car is a nice drive.

It handles well, even on the limit.

Goes OK as standard, but much, much better with exhaust, de-cat and induction kit.

Looks the business with a few mods like lowering and nice wheels.

Unfortunately has a bad image from young yobs driving on free Citroen insurance. It also suffers from "little brother syndrome" against the 16v VTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

28th Sep 2002, 06:09

I have noticed this. Most people driving VTRs seem to intent on killing themselves!!!

And in the scheme of things they are not really that fast. Just luke warm really.

Nice looking for a small car though I would rather have the VTS.

1999 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Fan bloody tastic

Faults:

I have not had the car long enough for anything to go wrong, however the car has done 19,000 miles, and no faults on it that I know of.

General Comments:

Forget bells and whistles, forget comfort because the VTS is not about fancy trimmings and comfort. If you want that, then buy something else.

This car is awesome, fantastic to look at, and the performance is wicked. I smile every time I put my foot to the floor, and giggle like a boy scout playing with his woggle as I see cars in my rear mirror vanishing.

It's a bumpy ride due to the suspension, but it sticks to the road like glue. Looks great, goes great, and is the most fun you can get in a car. I'm already planning my next one.. consider anything else? No freaking way!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2002

1st May 2003, 10:07

You lucky, most Saxo's including my VTS gradually fall to bits. Its disgraceful, there is more to life than performance. Mine cut out at 1 yr old in the outside lane of the M62 at 90 mph... a pretty scary moment as the BMW behind me nearly ploughed into me. But I'm sure the danger factor of appauling build is outweighed by the performance. NOT! Get real also, it may e fast for what it is, but for less money you can pick up old stuff which is way faster, and better built.

1999 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Fastest hot hatch about

Faults:

Burnt out alternator £100 replaced as soon as I got the car, faulty anti-lock brake sensor replaced after 1 month £75. Oil leak from head gasket, had the head stripped down, skimmed and new gasket £475. Water leak from Ariel.

General Comments:

Other than the problems listed above (most were paid for by my rac warranty) the car is running great now. Performance is out of this world it red lines every gear change without any fuss and most other hot hatches will struggle keeping up. Handling is good, but not brilliant as are the brakes. Its comfy, quick, quiet and good on fuel, just be careful in the wet!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2002

10th Jan 2003, 13:33

As for the VR6 being faster than a VTS, maybe on a motorway it has a better top end, but on any road with corners and overtaking, the VTS with its instant pickup will have the VR6 driver looking for which direction you went, especially on a backroad, the VR6 is such a soft nose heavy car.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 70 reviews