1998 Citroen Xsara Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1998 Citroen Xsara Berline 1.4 from Netherlands

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

A disaster

Faults:

Exhaust broken

Brake pads worn out

Heater radiator broken

Head gasket blew

Head maybe torn.

This all happened in a time of 6 months. I always drove normally in it, so there was no thinkable reason why so much broke in such a short period of time.

General Comments:

I will never buy a Xsara in my life again!

The costs for repairing were estimated 1500 to 1700 euro's. I left it broken at the dealer and bought another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2006

25th Oct 2007, 06:29

Worn out brake pads are hardly a fault, and who would expect 100% reliability from a french hatch with 160000km?

1998 Citroen Xsara VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Nice car to drive just got a few problems

Faults:

I have a Citroen Xsara. When first bought it, it seemed fine nice and comfortable, until I was experiencing problem with the rev counter all of a sudden revving up to about 1500 rev then dying on me. Had that sorted then another problem occurred.

When the car was ticking over OK, the revs would just keep going up and down without me touch the acceleration pedal then constantly cutting out when idle, especially at traffic lights.

Can anyone shed any light on this because it is so annoying?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 19:55

Have had the same problem with our 1998 Xsara. Seems to be a software problem because it happens randomly and then can be fine the next time.

Have had the software on the car updated a couple of times by a Citroen mechanic and has not improved.

The only way to deal with the problem seems to be turning the car off and letting the software reset! This is annoying.

7th Feb 2006, 02:02

My Citreon Xsara has exactly the same fault. It started about 6 -12 months ago. The mechanics say it is due to a faulty oxygen sensor, but it costs money to replace and the guys aren't certain. Has anyone replaced the oxygen sensor and cured the problem.

28th Feb 2006, 04:36

The problem seems to be fixed by replacing the idle step motor.

26th Mar 2006, 11:42

Hi try taking the motor and plunger out (two) screws and clean the plunger and the seating with some spirit on it and that shoud do the trick. If the fault doe, s not go away drink the restof the spirit.

2nd Apr 2006, 10:36

I have a 98 citroen xsara as well try replacing the idler valve as I have just had mine blown through. the problem kept occurring so I got a new one fitted and its sorted itself out.

25th May 2008, 00:26

I live in Australia and bought my 1998 Xsara in July 2007. I am currently having the exact same idle difficulties. Been back to the Citroen mechanic three times - last about a month and then becomes bad and totaly random again. Have also been told it is a software problem. I shall mention what I have read here. Apart from this I like the car.

1998 Citroen Xsara VTS 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Great buy

Faults:

The side air bag light has just recently started to flash. This has happened before with a previous owner, so a trip to the local dealer should solve that.

Drivers seat needs oiling regulary to stop it from making noises.

General Comments:

Great performance throughout the rev range.

Lighting 0-60 times for a car of such pedigree.

Good looker, head turner when throttle is fully down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2005

1998 Citroen Xsara SX 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Average car, good reliability and fuel consumption

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this car in January 1999, it having been in the dealers for over a year unregistered and unsold. Huge discount.

There were no reliability issues during the course of my ownership. Nothing broke and after 32,000 miles the car looked a fresh as the day I bought it.

The design of the car is bland, the cabin average, but the car was functional and comfortable.

Economy from the 1.9 diesel engine was good, though the more modern Hdi engines are now much better. Performance was not too good with 2CVs accelerating away from me at the lights. The ride was good and handling surprisingly good too.

The downside was the depreciation: after 3 years the Citroen Finance wanted £6,200 for the car (the amount outstanding) which was way over the value of the car. I offered the a good price, which they rejected so I handed it back and several weeks later the car was collected and put into a car auction. No doubt they made a killing on that one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2005

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews