1994 Citroen ZX Reviews - Page 4 of 10

1994 Citroen ZX Volcane Tubo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Tubo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Comfortable, quick mile muncher

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car only the minor niggles you get with all French cars.

General Comments:

I was amazed how comfortable the car is. The seats are like armchairs and are very supportive.

It goes like a train! I used to have an ax gt before I owned this car and I thought that going from that to a diesel I would notice a serious drop in performance. I was right! It is much quicker than my ax gt - fact. Sure the ax maybe quicker till I hit 2nd gear in this, but after that just let it push you back in your seat and wave goodbye to the boy racers!! It is funny as it does not feel that quick until you look at the speedometer!

It is based very much on its better looking counterpart the 306 DTurbo. However it is slightly quicker than the 306 because it has a larger diesel pump. The zx would never win a beauty competition that is for sure.

If you want to go faster you can get it tuned and a dump valve fitted to it - yes you can as I have found a place that does it! Then you will see a monster of a car!

Everything is electric, which you would expect, but what I find confusing is why Citroen only put electric mirrors on it to only operate the nearside wing mirror! But I suppose that is the French for you!

The handling is amazing and the brakes (disc's all round) are the best I have had in a car.

The fuel consumption is good as long as you are not driving in town all the time, but on a long run you feel its best returns.

Only gripe is that it the engine is always noisy particularly for a diesel even when up to temperature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

21st Sep 2005, 07:04

I know what you mean about only the nearside wing mirror being electric. This is due to the fact that you cannot reach the nearside wing mirror from the drivers seat to adjust it. Whereas, the driver wing mirror is easily adjustable from the drivers seat.

I agree with the seats, probably the most comfortable seats that I have ever sat on in a car.

22nd Sep 2005, 06:59

Comfortable yes, but completely lacking in support :p.

In my Aura TD, at least.

11th Oct 2005, 07:22

Well I had a rare 2.0 16V model and the seats in that were well comfy, but had loads of side support as well. I did 50k in 3 year in my 2.0 16v and the only trouble I ever had was a fuel pump going. Other than that the car ran like clockwork.

16th Nov 2005, 08:30

The Haynes manual is wrong! You have to remove the centre console (the haynes is a good help there because it is a correct description). But you have to carefully remove the heater controls panel (one clip and a few screws if I am not mistaken). Then the small bulbs will be revealed.

It is not a very difficult job, but time consuming.

1994 Citroen ZX Volcane 1.9 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Prisma

Summary:

Very good car and difficult to replace

Faults:

Glow plugs seem require replacing after 30/40k.

Minor rattles, but nothing serious.

General Comments:

The ride is a little harsh at low speeds but the high speed handling more than compensates.

Great power on-boost with excellent steering and brakes.

Interior still stylish after ten years and wears well.

Front spoiler is prone to "ploughing" on rough roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

27th Nov 2006, 15:56

Am intrigued by your cars appetite for glow plugs. Mine are still all going strong @ 150,000km They might be staying on to long in your ZX?

1994 Citroen ZX Volcane TD 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Makes me smile..

Faults:

External body work a little flimsy - a few rattles, but nothing has fallen off, and no mechanical problems. Some of the interior bulbs have blown.

General Comments:

Having had a 1993 pre-face lift ZX Volcane before, I basically knew what to expect. Apart from the corporate "nose", there have been a few interior changes too to the positioning of seat belt, etc. This car seems to be geared slightly different to my previous model, which is great, and seems considerably more powerful as a result and more pleasing to drive. Build quality doesn't seem as good though. It's a fast car, good on fuel, and lovely to drive (which is why I wanted another one!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 39 reviews