1994 Citroen ZX Advantage 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A good companion for long and short journeys - enjoyable to drive


Rear brake cylinder leak and water hose leak fixed under warranty.

Battery got tired winter 2000.

Instrument bulbs replaced.

Broken windscreen (stone).

Standard radio swapped (+cash) with a local breaker for a Citroen radio with bass and treble controls - vast improvement.

General Comments:

Excellent in most ways: Handling, comfort, performance, reliability, economy, easy to drive, excellent low speed torque and very smooth and progressive throttle in crawling traffic.

Quite quiet and smooth at motorway speeds. Very unobtrusive engine at all speeds.

Body panels easy to get damaged by other car doors when parked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

2nd Oct 2003, 06:02

I still have the car - probably the best I have owned.

The cylinder head and gasket were replaced at 111k.

The oil cooler started to mix a small amount of oil with the cooling water - sorted by visit to scrap-yard.

I have just replaced the radiator, and the rear rubber mountings for the rear axle, 131k miles.

No rust on body, but a few creaks from the plastic panels at the rear, 48 mpg and great to drive.

1994 Citroen ZX Neon 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


A boring, sensible family car


Nothing as yet since I bought it, although there is an ominous rumbling sound coming from the front when cornering.

Trim seems a bit fragile too, although it is a Citroen, so what do you expect?

General Comments:

Good points - gives a smooth comfortable ride as long as it is not thrown into corners too hard, quite economical (just under 40mpg).

Bad points - awful gearchange, I don't know if this is a legacy from the last owner or a fault with all ZX's (probably the former as it was a woman!)

Engine needs to be worked hard to give decent acceleration and is noisy at 70mph. Like most special editions it is no more than a base spec model with jazzy seats and a sunroof!

All in all a sound, if boring family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

5th Mar 2001, 11:56

A quick update, 3000 miles further on and has not cost me anything other than £35 for a small service, clutch adjustment has made the gearbox less clunky.

I am very impressed with the bodywork of the car, in fact on all ZX's, mine is seven years old and not a single bit of rust in sight, look at any Ford Escort the same age and you'll see rust along door bottoms and on the rear arches.

However, once it's paid for it is going the journey as it is just no fun at all to drive, perhaps I'll try a Saxo VTS next.

1994 Citroen ZX Reflex 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland


Reliable, economical and entertaining


New alternator, alternator belt tensioner replaced twice.

General Comments:

Still running on its original clutch!!

Exhaust replaced at 215,000 miles!

Not the fastest car on the road but definitely reliable, economical and thoroughly entertaining.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2000

1994 Citroen ZX Advantage 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland


Quite reliable performer


Headlight went at about 110,000.

Heater matrix went at about 112,000.

One or two dashboard lights, but they are easily replaced.

General Comments:

Great car for economy! Surprisingly for the 1.9 diesel engine, the acceleration is quite impressive although the car does tend to shake around a little at high speed.

Apparently there was a design flaw in the heater matrix on the ZX which caused quite a few to go. On mine this meant the entire dashboard had to come out... Apart from that the car just keeps on going with very few flaws.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

18th Apr 2005, 11:46

It is a excellent engine.

6th Nov 2008, 12:09

Anyone have a bootlid for a 94 advantage? Red ideally? Please, live in ireland.

1994 Citroen ZX Furio 1.8i petrol from UK and Ireland


Nice, comfortable, fairly quick... just check the history!


Bought the car in July and had it serviced in November, as the engine was making a funny noise (á la cam belt). The dealer said the service would be £120. £220 later, they found £200 worth of faults - rocker cover gasket, coolant leaks, etc. But it didn't fix the problem.

Then it started to drink oil.

A lot of oil. Like 2 litres a month, so I got it checked. Basically, the engine was knackered - £1000+ for a rebuild. So I traded it in and bought something else.

I'll put it down to the car missing its first 1000 mile service and being thrashed beforehand. I'm told such things happen.

General Comments:

CHECK the service history fully! It was a really nice car to drive, and pretty comfortable. The stereo and speakers were naff, though.

Handling was OK, but not as good as it was cracked up to be (not as good as a Volcane) -- hence it ended up backwards in a ditch.

Power was all right at the top end (between 6,000 and 6,500 rpm - just before the limiter cut in), and the gearing wasn't set up to use this to the full - a pity. It could have been quicker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2000