1996 Daewoo Cielo Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Daewoo Cielo 1.5 fuel injected from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 fuel injected Manual
Distance when acquired121476 kilometres
Most recent distance126595 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mitshibishi

Summary:

Economical, but unreliable

Faults:

The distributor had replaced in January 2006.

The alternator was replaced 2 weeks later.

In March 2006 the head gasket was replaced, water jackets caused by corrosion were wielded up and a new cylinder bolt was put in the head.

Once the head had been reassembled the water pump and bearing had to be replaced and as well as the cam belt.

Then the car would not start. The starter motor was replaced and it still would not start.

Diagnosed, and the computer was replaced.

The car is still not going. Is presently being re-diagnosed.

General Comments:

I bought the car for private use therefore it isn't under warranty.

The previous owner had no problems with the car and the car was been well maintained.

I believe the car is very economical and easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2007

1996 Daewoo Cielo GL Coupe 1.5L DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71504 kilometres
Most recent distance73773 kilometres

Summary:

Good to Borrow, Bad to Own

Faults:

Has Had Reconditioned Engine, Transmission, Alternator, Radiator.

Radiator Cap and Vacuum Cable replaced.

Cheap plastic interior cracks.

General Comments:

Awsome cornering, really speeds around well, easy to drive, comfortable,... only issue I have with the vehicle is the lack of reliability,... not an original part in the car.. but when it goes, it goes!!!

Due to the car being lightweight the 1.5L engine still give the car sufficient guts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

1996 Daewoo Cielo GL 1.5 Litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance91000 kilometres

Summary:

Good car to drive as its cheap to run and gets the job done

Faults:

Timing Belt at about 88 000.

Oil Sensor was gave up needed Genuine GM part which was quite costly compared to a generic one.

Thermostat had been replaced with wrong one and was cut to fit which meant it didn't work.

Interior trim is quite flimsy like.

Has a bit of surface rust in a few areas.

Rear wheels off centre and scrape on guard if driving friends around.

General Comments:

Very economical.

Idea car for first car or second family car runabout.

Stock radio good, but when upgrading to after-market CD player most likely need to get it installed as special keys required to remove radio/Cassette.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

25th Feb 2007, 04:55

Just an update. Car has done a few more K's and have recently had to replace the radiator which also discovered that there was a stray currant running through the cooling system. Had to be fixed quickly as was likely radiator would fail. One visit to local Auto electrician resulted in a damaged left hand guard, front bumper and scratches to bonnet from a 4WD Ute reversing into me. Kind of worked in my favour due to rust being cut out of bonnet and resprayed and faded bumper replaced. So looks quite nice now.

1996 Daewoo Cielo 1.5 MPFI SOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 MPFI SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres

Summary:

A very average car

Faults:

Seat frame has broken twice.

Several breather hoses & cam cover gaskets replaced.

Radiator fractured requiring replacement after air conditioner pulley flew off (80,000klm).

Camshaft lobe worn off, blown head gasket requiring a very expensive repair (108,000klm).

Water pump (140,000klm).

RHS brake caliper seized twice (120,000 & 200,000klm).

3 speed automatic transmission overhauled (150,000klm). Also expensive.

Radio buttons faulty.

Steering wheel grip has separated from the wire inside, which makes it twist in your hand.

Alternator (200,000klm).

General Comments:

Volvo has the high mileage club. Do I get a prize for getting 200,000klm in a Cielo?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

1996 Daewoo Cielo GLE 1.5L from India

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carMaruti Esteem

Summary:

Good Car if you Take care of it

Faults:

My Cam Shaft broke twice 35000 Km,

A/c Quit Working.

Clutch Plates Wore Out.

General Comments:

I have been Faceing some problems with my car now. But I feel its my own fault.. When my father gave me this car it had only done 23000 km and I dint take car of it. For some time I had used my car wiht out any oil change or anything, And landed With a broken Cam shaft. The guy who had changed it on dawewoo repair shop dint do his job well and it happened again finally when I got the job fixed. The car was back in fit shape... Now to my surprise it gives me an average of 10Km/L wiht out A/c and with Air Con on It lands with 8km/L And The Rest is working good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

5th Dec 2008, 23:45

I have a 95 Cielo GL, with 250,000 on clock. It is not garaged but still looks great (ruby red in colour). Keep up with oil changes and filters and all will be good. Do your work people.

From Australia Queensland.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews