2001 Daewoo Leganza Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Daewoo Leganza SX 2.2 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance38800 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

Good overall car for the price

Faults:

The alarm stopped working at about 30000 miles.

Everything else is great even though I am really hard on it.

General Comments:

For the price the car is really quick.

I took the muffler of and put a tip on it, it sounds great, added power, and looks a lot better.

Parts are hard to find, but aftermarket parts are cheap and easy to install.

The car handles good for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

4th Jan 2011, 15:01

Then why do give ugly rating.. If you like the car.

2001 Daewoo Leganza SXi 2.2L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Berlina

Summary:

A nice little car

Faults:

Rear view mirror fell off window when mum bumped it.

Right scoop light smashed for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

A very quick 4 cylinder beast, handles very well.

Lots of leg room, and a large boot area makes this car a good family sedan for going on family outings with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2003

2001 Daewoo Leganza SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Never buy another Daewoo Again!

Faults:

The Front Axle Boots cracked at 20,000 miles.

The shifter gets stuck and does not line up correctly with the gear it is in.

Rubber molding around driver door has torn form sticking when opening door.

Battery tie downs have cracked when opening them.

Brake switch went out.

General Comments:

Waiting for the timing belt to go out and blow the engine.

Really Disapointed.

Paying twice what its worth.

Hard lesson to learn.

Swift salesman.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

17th Aug 2003, 18:20

I agree! The worst car I've ever owned! I bought the car with 14,000 miles and before I had it two months, I had to replace the brakes, rotors, and they still are bad. I had to replace the right axle, now the left one's ready to go...bent and wobbling all over the road. Steering awful. Brakes replaced every 25,000 miles. What will be next? I, too, am waiting for the timing belt to go so that I can replace the entire engine. If I do it BEFORE the breaking of the belt, I pay up to $500, but if I wait for it to break and ruin the engine, they pay for it under warranty,. Imagine that!

24th Apr 2009, 21:31

Mine runs perfect. You're supposed to change the damn timing belt every 60,000 miles, just like every car, and you won't have to replace engine!! Don't slam the brakes on and rip it round corners, and it won't wear out!!

4th Jan 2011, 15:07

Exactly having problems with brakes then... try not to use more brake.. May be your braking is really hard... Always brake slowly... Slowly, then a little hard... These are power brakes; if you create more pressure in while shifting.. It will be worn out soon... if the brakes are bad... Install aftermarket ones... Dude.. But you don't have to give the wrong opinion about the car... Just because the brakes getting worn out..

2001 Daewoo Leganza SE 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance36680 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

A luxurious bargain of a family sized sedan

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is that the parking/hand brake did not work from the day I bought it. It was fixed under warranty, as the brakes were just not adjusted correctly.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, quiet inside, and has all options I could ask for. The stereo system was excellent for stock and the CD player even works with CDR & CDRW discs. The steering is responsive and not overly sensitive. Acceleration is more than I expected from a car with an automatic transmission, as I am used to cars with a manual transmission. I liked the car so much, I bought a new 2002 Lanos to be used as my daily commuter back and forth between home, work and school.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

2001 Daewoo Leganza SE 2.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12081 miles
Most recent distance14200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A very relaxing, dependable, and comforting ride

Faults:

So far I've had no problems, everything has been wonderful.

I only notice that the shifter sticks sometimes when putting the car into reverse.

General Comments:

I'm 20 and this is my second car.

My '87 Jetta died and I needed something reliable.

I'm a full time student and only work part time, I was stoked that I could afford a quality 2001 car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

2001 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance1400 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

More bang for your money

Faults:

The only thing that has really gone wrong with the Leganza is the CD changer stopped working. I took it to the dealership, and it works great now.

I have noticed though that it is really horrible on gas. I don't know if it is because it is still too new, or what the deal is. I get only 12MPG in the city and 15MPG on the highway.

General Comments:

It's a great car for the money for all of the features that it offers.

The only reason I would not buy another Daewoo is because I am used to an SUV and I am not too crazy about a car. If I cared for cars, I would definitely get another one though.

Very comparable in my opinion to the Ford Taurus as far as the safety features go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

4th Dec 2002, 08:32

Just wondering why you put a frowning face on this one... you seem to give it a pretty favorable rating. Wife has one and the only problem we have had is the electrical system had a sensitive brake light.....

1st Jun 2003, 07:26

We are averaging 31 miles per gallon which is great for us -we drive 46 miles to work one way. Your gas mileage sure doesn't sound right.

18th Jan 2004, 18:46

The bad gas mileage is b/c the engine is still breaking in. Give it a few thousand more miles and it should improve. If not, try a better air filter, such as K&N.

2001 Daewoo Leganza SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Low priced and exceptional value

Faults:

Trim around the windshield is not fitted correctly, repaired it myself.

General Comments:

This car is priced right for the type and quality of the vehicle.

Performance is comparable with all other cars I had test drove.

Ride and highway noise levels are better than any other car in price class that I test drove.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews