2000 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 2 of 7

2000 Dodge Caravan Normal from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36783 miles
Most recent distance118563 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Battery dies if the lights are left on for 30 min.

Fuel Pump often dies after a long trip.

Brakes need replacing every few years.

General Comments:

Handles well.

Often gets over snowbanks unlike our Venture.

You can get to 0-60 in about 6 seconds under good care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

5th Mar 2007, 09:38

The only way you'll get 0 - 60 in 6 seconds is if you're being pushed by a high-speed bullet train.

5th Mar 2007, 17:13

0-60 in a Caravan? Don't think so, your watch must be made by the same company that made Yugo's!

5th Mar 2007, 17:32

Lmao six seconds, I doubt that... is it turbo or something.

5th Mar 2007, 19:50

He surely means 0 to 60 kilometers per hour in 6 seconds, not 60 miles per hour. I could see 0 to 41 mph in 6 seconds from this van. The V-6 feels like it has a lot of pep.

2000 Dodge Caravan Grand SE 3.3L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I don't like this model

Faults:

Whenever I turned a corner my brake light came on.

I had the local auto repair shop put a new aftermarket master cylinder model on. This took care of the problem for a couple of days. We finally had an origianl equipment master cylinder on. This has taken care of it so far.

The other problem that I have is the serpentine belt. It is noisy and has broken once already. The van has 145,000 miles on it and I guess it is entitled to a few problems. Look out Ford here I come!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2006

4th Dec 2006, 15:31

No! Anything, but Ford!

10th Jun 2012, 02:29

I don't why you're complaining about normal maintenance / petty problems with 145,000 on it... and you had it since new... so you've seen everything... and it's not bad.

2000 Dodge Caravan SE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Faults:

We replaced a worn serpentine belt in 02/09/06. On 9/14/06 belt fell off after driving through a couple inches of standing water. Had the car towed to a service station. They put belt back on and checked pulleys and tensioner. Again on 10/11/06, after driving in the rain, I went through a small puddle in a parking lot, at just 5 miles per hour, the belt came off. Had the car towed again and service station checked car over. Could not find a reason why the belt came off, but they replaced the belt with another from a different manufacturer. I don't know if this will help, but after reading other comments I believe this is a flaw specifically with Dodge Caravans. We have also had the tie rods replaced twice, a broken trans-axle and sway bar, a wiring problem that caused the lights to flash on and off and the locks to jump up and down as well as numerous other small problems and recalls. This car also eats through brakes. Thank goodness we have AAA. We will never buy another Dodge car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2006

17th Sep 2013, 19:51

check with your local parts store about the updated belt and pulley kit. A belt will never come loose in water again.

2000 Dodge Caravan 2.4 Liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Needs space to roam..

Faults:

No serious repairs have been made so far. Have been religious about changing ALL fluids (otherwise your vehicle WILL get mad at you). The plastic hook for holding the drivers side visor snapped off easily. Also, the great storage bin underneath the front passenger seat has jammed shut. Had to replace the bearings on the front right wheel at 85,000 and now suspect the left will need changing as well. Brakes creak and moan as you come to a complete stop (fluids are topped off), and transmission is a little bit sloppy. The paint is starting to chip (very slightly) but from what I have observed in other cars blue (the color of my car) doesn't ever want to stick.

General Comments:

OK, after bashing my car that severely let it be known that I consider myself a connesiour of knowing every little thing that is going on with my car. So... heres the good stuff! I wash my engine once a month and it has remained very dry (no leaks). Her ride is a little on the unsure side in stop and go traffic, but really shines on the highway. I guess you could say she needs space to roam? The seats are extra comfortable and the armrests on the front two seats are a nice touch. The engine, while by no means sporty, has a refined feel to it and can always seem to squeeze out a little more power if you know how to drive it. The car is incredible stable when pushed to the limits, however, it hates rough roads with a passion. So far I have traversed the country two times in it and I never once doubted that it would get me there. I owned this car in both NC and CO... as a former snowboard instructor let me say this car has claws on snow and ice!!! I owned a Subaru Legacy previously and I can honestly say the Caravan out performed the AWD Subaru in these conditions with good snow tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2006

7th May 2006, 21:48

Subaru AWD kicks that caravans FWD any day of the week. You must have had bald summer tires on the legacy.

28th Jan 2008, 14:05

Ahh.. He is talking about the AWD Caravan and not the FWD model you speak of.. They made AWD Caravans for a number of years.. Duh.!!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 30 reviews