2000 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2000 Dodge Caravan 3.0 Gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Grand Caravan

Summary:

Overall good value for money

Faults:

AC problem at 115000, Transmission controller gasket was leaking (repaired under $100), interior would have been better.

General Comments:

Multi purpose vehicle, No major repairs so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

2000 Dodge Caravan from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance107950 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

Love the vehicle - despise the tensioner design

Faults:

Serpentine belt repeatedly slips off the barrel-smooth tensioner, apparently especially with road contact with water.

General Comments:

Serpentine belt so easily coming off the barrel-smooth tensioner is a safety hazard. Would like to know Dodge's engineering rationale for designing a belt wheel with no ridges to keep the belt from slipping off... ...and apparently not providing a fix with so many of the same complaints recorded at Carsurvey.org.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

27th Nov 2006, 06:19

You will be happy to know that both Goodyear as well as Gates now offer a special fix kit for these vehicles. Once the special belt/tensiner and idler are installed the belt will not fall off ever again.

5th Mar 2007, 09:46

How come when I click "Goodyear" link in previous message, I get a new-used car site instead of the information on Goodyear's serpentine belt repair kit that I want?

My 2000 Dodge Caravan has shed 2 belts, destroying them each time. 1st time @ about 53000 miles, 2nd time just 1900 miles later!

Weather was good, no puddles, etc.

I know about the Gates kit, just want to compare what Goodyear offers. Suggestions welcome.

11th Jul 2007, 19:25

I have a 2000 Caravan and the belt has slipped off 3 times (each time with 4 children in the car). Loss of steering is hard to handle on a busy road with 4 kids screaming at you. Has anyone heard of a class action suit against Chrysler for this problem? Seems like a safety issue if the belt continues to come off even after everything is replaced. Also heard about a kit that can be installed by Chrysler (free of charge; is that so people don't sue them?) and looking for info on that.

2000 Dodge Caravan Grand 3.3 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance246819 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Excellent vehicle, and this is coming from a GM man

Faults:

Transmission fluid started leaking around solenoid pack on the front of transmission at about 200,000 km. A $2.00 gasket fixed that. Make sure you use Mopar A+4 fluid when changing or topping up (I had to get it at the dealer.) or transmission failure will result.

Headlights glazed over.

General Comments:

When I bought this van A few people said it wouldn't be long before I had to replace the transmission. I did a little research found 3 main reasons for failure. 1) Hauling A heavy trailer causing overheating. 2) Using the wrong transmission fluid. 3) Lack of maintenance.

This is probably the best vehicle I have owned so far. We have 4 kids and the van is is on the road a lot, winter and summer. there have been no serious problems, other than general maintenance so far.

Have got as high as 32 MPG (Imperial gallon= 4.55 liters) and as low as 22 MPG. In order to get the good mileage, Stay near the speed limit, Keep proper tire pressure, and don't use the cruise on hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

17th Aug 2006, 05:36

Here's an update on the (getting old girl)

Since the last review (A little over a year) I have replaced both rear wheel bearings. I think it only needed 1 but the shop wouldn't admit they replaced the wrong one the first time. The trans finally let go at 285,000 clicks. Cost about $2000 to have it replaced with a rebuilt. The van now has 292,000 k on it. The rest of the powertrain & body are holding up very good. I'm hoping to get another 2-3 years out of it.I'm very pleased with the way this van has held up. I hope the next one is as good as this one. It will definitely be another grand caravan.

6th Jan 2007, 11:28

Does anyone know where I can get a gasket for a solenoid pack for a 2000 Grand Caravan? - I have the same problem with a leak around the solenoid pack and someone said they fixed it with a $2.00 gasket. My dealer has told me I need to replace the solenoid pack $300 +

Thanks

Neil.

13th Mar 2007, 00:54

Neil,

I got my gasket from a local transmission shop. and then took it to a freind of mine who is a mechanic (and has a hoist) to install it. It is held on by screws with an odd sized star head. I also replaced these with a more common screw from an auto parts store. The pack wouldn't need replaced unless your tranny is working funny. If its just leaking, a gasket should do. If you have a mechanic you can trust the job can be done in less than hour. Make sure you use A+4 Fluid to replace any fluid you lose (I had to get it at the dealer) Hope this helps

James.

26th Sep 2008, 00:44

Another update on the old girl.

Since the last update, approx 2 years ago I have put new brakes front and rear and replaced the water pump. other than that no problems. the van now has 350,000 k on it and works as good as ever. It's starting to show its age now but still doesn't look half bad. Wife wants a new one but I convinced her to run this one until something major breaks since its not really worth a lot now... that could be awhile at this rate, I never thought it would last this long.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 30 reviews