1986 Dodge D50 Reviews

1986 Dodge D50 2.6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

This truck is very dependable

Faults:

The tire rod broke soon after I got it only because I hit a pot hole on a clay road driving pretty fast.

Rear seal in the transfer case went bad at about 159000.

Dash cracking do to the heat in Florida.

Poor speaker mounts.

General Comments:

Very powerful for a 4 cylinder.

Handles awesome for off-road experiences (gotten me out of a lot of mud holes)

Expect to run it another 100,000 miles.

I love everything about this truck and would never trade it for anything in the world (except for a ford)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

1986 Dodge D50 Sport 2.6 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6 litre Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

A very very good truck to have

Faults:

Before I owned the truck, the engine blew an oil seal on the highway, lost all of it's oil, and the engine seized. The engine was replaced right before I bought it, and since then the only problems I have had are:

Fuel pump started leaking and had to be replaced. ($30 at local auto parts store, in stock)

Two nuts loosened on the exhaust manifold and the gasket warped. ($14 at the local auto parts store, in stock)

Valve cover gasket started leaking slightly. ($12 at local parts store, in stock)

Auto locking hubs needed to be repacked with grease.

By far the worst problem is the factory carburetor. It caused vapor locking, hard starting, poor fuel economy, and no power. I replaced it with a Weber two barrel carburetor conversion ($400 on-line from Weber) and it made a night and day difference, and corrected all of the problems. The kit was very easy to install, and came with all the parts needed.

General Comments:

This is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. For the most part, it is very reliable and has put up with a lot of abuse without flinching.

It is second vehicle and my daily driver. I use it to haul around Go-karts, dirt bikes and whatever else all the time.

The truck is also surprisingly capable off road, and in bad weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

26th Feb 2006, 22:11

What would a 1986 dodge ram 50 be worth.

I am looking to buy already picked it out just need to figure a reasonable price.

27th Feb 2006, 11:48

You can get an idea of the truck's worth by visiting the Kelly Blue Book website at www.kbb.com. Choose the used car option, with the private party resale value. $200 if beat, maybe up to $600 if decent. Surely under $1,000 though.

8th Jun 2006, 01:12

Which Weber Carb. did you use? I have a 2.6 liter 4x4.

30th Nov 2013, 21:44

Between 1000 and 3400.

1986 Dodge D50 Sport 2.6L Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6L Gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired286000 kilometres
Most recent distance298000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A truck that takes abuse and keeps coming back for more

Faults:

Reverse light transmission switch didn't work when I got the truck.

Alternator failed, still managed to drive after push starting it. Just couldn't use any electrical accessories.

Rear axle seals leaked.

The transmission "chewed itself up" due to a input shaft spacer was not put back in after the clutch was replaced.

Bench seat was incredibly worn when I bought it.

A heater hose cracked once on the highway, custom made a replacement and never had a problem with it again.

The head cracked in the number 1 cylinder between the 2 valves. Only due to a mechanic revving the engine to redline on a very cold day without letting the engine warm up first.

General Comments:

I love this truck, very rock solid.

The truck is rated 3/4 ton and I loaded well over 1 ton into the bed. The rear suspension only dropped 2"

It was fairly hard on gas, but reliable.

Even after the head cracked it was still a trooper. I had to pull start it at 30km/h, but it ran good.

For it's size it's a fairly heavy truck, much heavier than it's big brother the Dodge Dakota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

1986 Dodge D50 Ram 50 Royal 2.6 Liter Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6 Liter Gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

The best almost trouble-free truck Dodge bought from Mitsubishi

Faults:

Master cylinder at 97000 miles.

Fuel pump at 99000 miles.

Radiator at 160000 miles.

Head Gasket at 170000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has taken me wherever I needed to go reliably and cheaply.

It still gets 23 miles per gallon for the past two years I've owned it.

For the $500 dollars I spent to get it, I have gotten more than my moneys worth out of it.

Parts are cheap and plentiful for this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews