1992 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1992 Dodge Dakota LE 4x4 3.9 magnum from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.9 magnum Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

It's never let me down.

Faults:

Replaced water pump @ 120,000 miles.

The top of the radiator blew out @ 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has always come through for me. It is dependable and it looks good.

Although after-market accessories can be difficult to find, with a little effort you can find most anything you need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

1992 Dodge Dakota LE CLUB 4X4 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

The best truck I have ever owned, or driven

Faults:

Original radiator seam split at top of core. 60,000 miles.

Replaced water pump. 85,000 miles.

Replaced wiper motor. 125,000 miles.

Replace pitman arm, 140,000 miles.

Replaced idler arm ,140,000 miles.

Replaced fuel pump. 150,000 miles.

Replaced rotors, drums, calipers, wheel cylinders, pads, shoes. 160,000 miles.

Replaced heater core, evaporator, 170,000 miles.

Replaced computer. 185,000 miles.

Rebuilt overdrive auto transmission. 259,000 miles.

General Comments:

5.2 and 4x4 is a real stump puller.

5.2 with auto, overdrive gets great gas mileage, 18.5 city, 25.0 highway.

The truck is quick, and can pass with ease.

The truck rides as good as a car, on or off road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

1st Jan 2003, 23:02

My question is, since you liked the truck so much and said it was the best you ever owned, why did you say you would not buy another one from Dodge?

25th Apr 2004, 20:33

18 city and 25 hwy??? I doubt that very much. Are these figures in km??

I have same truck and get 12-14 city and 14-17 hwy. I drive very easy and commute 500 miles a week on freeway.

Any other comments?

Thanks.

17th Aug 2005, 22:51

I agree... Gas mileage for my 5.2 is closer to 15 than 25 hwy.

1992 Dodge Dakota 4x4 Club Cab 5.2 V8 (318 c.i.) from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 (318 c.i.) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A great all-around 4x4, powerful and capable

Faults:

The front brake calipers stuck and destroyed the calipers and rotors ($450).

The rear U-joint got replaced ($65).

The automatic transmission is now going bad and needs to be replaced or rebuilt.

General Comments:

I have had a hard time getting this stock truck stuck. The engine is VERY strong for the size and weight of the truck. I have raced and beaten modified full-sized Chevys in sand.

It handles very well on road, and the four-wheel-drive hooks up the tires off-road.

The interior is roomy and comfortable, but the dash panel is ugly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1992 Dodge Dakota Club Cab LE 4x4 3.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.6L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles

Summary:

A lotta bang for the buck!

Faults:

On my truck, I had to replace the engine at 60,000 miles because the intake manifold was located too low and sucked water up when crossing a creek. We've had to replace the U-joint twice.

General Comments:

My dad bought this truck new back in 1992. I recently got my license and he has passed the loyal pick-up on to me. I am very excited about having it. Only thing wrong with it right now is it needs a new coat of paint. It gets GREAT gas mileage and is fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

25th Jun 2006, 18:40

I'm glad to see you have a sarcastic sense of humor. Great gas mileage is not something this truck is known for, however it has been dependable for me.

Go to MAACO and get the ambassador paint job. They charged a little more for additional prep because of the peeling paint, but now the wife will actually drive it herself.

Like you, it was passed down to me by my father in-law who bought it new. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who can find a clean used one that has not bee mistreated. She's a daily driver to and from work, and does a little hauling on the weekends for family and friends. She has yet to miss a beat for me in the three years I've had her.

27th Nov 2006, 07:42

All Right so I have had my Dakota about 3 years now. I have had nothing, but good luck with it. Just recently it just started backfiring when it starts to shift gears and when staying at the same speed, but other than that, the truck has ran really strong for 176,000 miles. I'm a satisfied ginnie pig of dodge.

1992 Dodge Dakota Club Cab 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

So far so good

Faults:

Differential seal, brake cables, gas pump, minor electric problems.

General Comments:

The truck was probably well maintained before I got it, original paint, no rust at all - very surprising for our region (lots of salt in our region), gas mileage was improved with a tonneau cover 2/4 mpg. I pull a trailer tent in the summer, gas mileage still good.

No oil consumption from the V-6.

I have bought the truck for the space compared to a small club cab, didn't want a big full size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2001

1992 Dodge Dakota Sport 5.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 5.2
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

- brakes seem to wear out sooner than they should however, this is probably due to my driving habits.

- radio reception is poor.

- needs high octane 91 to prevent engine pinging.

General Comments:

- I bought the truck new, and with the exception of oil changes and the odd tune-up the only other major component I've had to replace is the muffler and tail pipe.

- I'm just passing 100,000 miles and the truck keeps running great (knock on wood!).

- a very reliable truck so far!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 1998

10th Jun 2001, 18:27

I have a 1992 Dodge Dakota Sport 4x4 with 120,000 miles and no real complaints yet. The only thing I would change is the ground clearance. As far as power goes, I'm running 31's and still have power to boot. All in all, a great truck.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 32 reviews