2002 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 V8 from North America

Summary:

Definitely worth every cent I have and will spend on it

Faults:

The rubber sealer around the rear sliding window came off.

Battery started leaking acid after 14000 miles (I live in the desert and batteries don't last that long anyway)

General Comments:

This is the first large truck I have owned and I am in love with it.

There is plenty of room for kids (when I decide to have them) and plenty of room for adults.

I love the power of the V8.

The ride of the truck is like a car, very smooth and I get compliments on it every time someone new rides with me.

The only bad thing I can think of is that the air conditioning doesn't seem to put out the same amount of air out of every vent. It works well though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

2002 Dodge Dakota SLT 4.7 from North America

Summary:

Overall, if Dodge would fix the ongoing quality control issues they may have something

Faults:

Approximately 8 months after owning the vehicle the left front shock starting leaking.

A few months further down the road the air bag light starting coming on.

Both of these issues required service by the dealership. They were both covered by the manufacturer warranty.

General Comments:

I thought I'd give an American made vehicle a try, however I am starting to regret that decision. My Nissan truck was rock solid and required zero trips to the dealership even after nearly 15 years of use. Due to the salty conditions in the upper mid-west in the winter the poor old thing just rusted out.

I will dump the Dakota prior to the 3-year warranty and I will not return to buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

2002 Dodge Dakota R/T CC 5.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

The R/T out performs any truck in its class

Faults:

The only problem I have had with the truck is a very annoying squeak. This squeak is coming from the left body mount. For some reason the rubber around the mount is rubbing against the body or frame. It can get very loud. It was serviced at the dealer, but the problem still persists. I previously owned a 2000 Dakota regular cab and never had this problem. I have a friend with a 2001 CC and he doesn't have this problem.

General Comments:

Beyond the squeak problem I can't say enough about this vehicle. I imediatly fell in love with the Dakota with my 2000 model. I upgraded to the r/t model in 2002 for the lack of power in the V6 and roominess you get with a club cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

11th Aug 2009, 17:45

I was going to write a review on my 02' Dakota R/T CC until I read this... you seem to have the only problem I've experienced & still do. Go Mopar! There's nothing more to say.

2002 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 Liter from North America

Summary:

Performance with power!

Faults:

My CD player quit 8 months after I bought the truck. (When the weather started getting cold.)

General Comments:

The truck is excellent. I'm very happy with all the power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

2002 Dodge Dakota Sport Plus 4X4 Club Cab 4.7 from North America

Summary:

Two words, exceptional vehicle

Faults:

In cold weather the windshield washer hosing valve (which is located within the Y splitter) freezes & prevents the windshield washer fluid to come out. (This is easily fixed by replacing the Y splitter valve with a regular Y splitter)

The seat recliner handle for the rear passengers has broken. (This was replaced by the Dealer)

Tires are difficult to get properly balanced. In this case, they still are not properly balanced. (Goodyear Wrangler RTS) (Balancing was attempted 5 times by the Good Year Dealer. Wheels were tested separately and are OK.)

General Comments:

Besides these small issues, the truck runs great. Performance, handling, and comfort are very good and gives a exhilarating driving feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

2002 Dodge Dakota Sport 3.9L SMPI V6 from North America

Summary:

A good looking vehicle with a terrible engine

Faults:

At 3000 miles, the dealer had to update the trucks computer because it was missing some sort of update. The torque converter had to be replaced at 4400 miles.

The entire transmission was replaced at 4850 miles.

At 6000 miles, I went in to have my oil changed, and afterwords the truck would not remain running. The dealer said my idle speed control motor was faulty and had to be replaced. Luckily, they had one in stock.

Also at 6000 miles, after replacing my idle control motor, the dealer informed me that some sort of valve body needed to be replaced and they would order the part and let me know when it came in.

General Comments:

This truck hesitates on the up-shift and has trouble maintaining speed in cruise. The dealer says that this is just how the 2002 Dodge Dakota V6's run.

The truck itself is very comfortable as far as the cabin and the seating.

The handling is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

14th Mar 2005, 13:36

I agree with you 100%. The 3.9 engine in my 2002 Dakota Sport is the most gutless engine I have ever had in any auto I have owned and I am 65 yrs old. The air conditioner barely blows out cool air on the highest setting and wind noise at highway speeds is terrible. The last 3 autos I have owned have been Chrysler products and I promise never to buy any more of their junk. The only good thing I can say about the Dakota is...it's a nice looking truck.

28th Feb 2011, 21:47

I bought my 2002 Dodge Dakota SXT used in 2011. It had 110,000 miles on it, and the truck's previous owner was the electric company. This told me that the truck was driven a lot, but Carfax showed the proof of the service records. No accidents.

This truck is a club cab SXT trim 4x4. I am quite impressed with the "new" feel of this "old" truck! The 3.9L V6 is no hot rod motor, but I find it a reliable workhorse that meets my needs and then some. I do admit that the rack and pinion steering gives it a car-like feel to the way it drives, but once I was used to it I was fine.

The truck is not perfect, it does have a few dings and scratches, but for a truck with 100,000+ miles I am more than pleased with my Dakota.

If you want a hot rod, then go buy a hot rod. If you want a good truck, then buy a Dakota. Mopar or no car!

2002 Dodge Dakota Sport Quad Cab 4x4 5.9 V8 from North America

Summary:

Best choice I have ever made on a purchase

Faults:

The air bag light started coming on after 1 month. Dealership had the vehicle for 1 day. Problem has been fixed.

General Comments:

Truck runs great, and responds when you want it.

Back seat is perfect for kids. It may be a little tight for adults on long distance.

Bed is a little small. Maybe Dodge will get on the ball like Nissan has and make a regular size bed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

2nd Jan 2004, 08:40

Enjoy the rust which will start on your cab from the door jam rubbing on the cab due to the weak frame.

Dodge's are crap and I will never never ever buy one again.

24th Mar 2008, 13:49

Love my truck other than the gas mileage it's been a good one. No major issues. It hauls butt too.