2002 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab SLT Plus 4X4 4.7L V8 from North America


A big fat Lemon


The truck stalled out a lot when I first got it.

Rear view mirror came loose.

Leather seats ripped on seem.

Wiper blades hit the hood.

The truck is showing signs of paint defects.

Door panel came loose.

The front end squeaks when going over bumps. This has been to the dealer twice for this already. They changed out the front sway bar bushings both times. The truck is going back again for the same problem.

General Comments:

This truck has very good acceleration and lots of power.

The seats are uncomfortable for long trips and the truck has some bad blind spots with the pillars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

2002 Dodge Dakota 5.9 R/T 5.9 Magnum from North America


The truck has never let me down yet.

General Comments:

The truck performs great, and handles good.

It is the hardest on fuel than anything I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

27th Jan 2011, 02:36

Oh damn! I was looking at buying one of these 5.9L RTs but the fact that it burns so much gas is really discouraging me from buying one... Seems like a shame.

2002 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 Magnum V8 from North America


The best truck in the compact truck division


Besides the obvious cost of fuel for a V-8, this truck has had no faults that I have encountered.

General Comments:

I enjoy driving this truck both for pleasure and for work. I am in construction and this truck can handle the load that I put on it.

I would definitely buy another Dakota, hopefully with the new HEMI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

2002 Dodge Dakota SXT from North America


A piece of Junk


We have had many problems with our Dakota since buying it a year and a half ago.

Water leak when it rains. The truck has been into the dealer four times for this problem and has yet to be fixed. There is a puddle on the passenger side floor- the manager at the dealer told us to use a shop vac and vacuum it up!!!

Calipers locked up. We had to get the truck towed when the calipers locked up on the highway. This was after we had the truck in the shop three times complaining about a squeaky noise from the front end as well as the steering wheel and front tire jerking. They had told us that nothing was wrong- that this was common for Dakotas.

The service at the dealership is lousy and we are now dealing with someone from the Dodge headquarters.

General Comments:

I will never own another Dodge and advise others not to as well!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2003

7th Jan 2004, 17:09

I do so enjoy a story of toil and pain such as this. Hark, I hear the raven. For whom does it toll?

9th Feb 2004, 17:00

Water was coming thru a vent hole. 'Should've checked the gasket. Dealership should NEVER tell a customer to clean it up with a shop vac.

Calipers locking up? That's a new one. Warped rotors I've heard about. This is my first Mopar vehicle (2000 R/T).

It has a top end of 150 mph and will run 13.60's (so far) in a 1/4 mile with current modifications. I won't have to buy another one. This hotrod is a keeper.

3rd Aug 2005, 17:13

Wow I thought I was the only one with a leaking dakota, mine has been in the shop 4 times for leaking, every time different excuse of where the water is coming from. if anyone has some advice of what I should do please let me know.

2002 Dodge Dakota Sport 4.7 V8 from North America


Definitely worth every cent I have and will spend on it


The rubber sealer around the rear sliding window came off.

Battery started leaking acid after 14000 miles (I live in the desert and batteries don't last that long anyway)

General Comments:

This is the first large truck I have owned and I am in love with it.

There is plenty of room for kids (when I decide to have them) and plenty of room for adults.

I love the power of the V8.

The ride of the truck is like a car, very smooth and I get compliments on it every time someone new rides with me.

The only bad thing I can think of is that the air conditioning doesn't seem to put out the same amount of air out of every vent. It works well though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003