1996 Dodge Intrepid 3.5 liter from North America


Water pump has had to be replaced twice.

Fuel rail had to be replaced.

A fuel injecter replaced.

Tie rod bushings replaced for $250 to $300.

Rack and pinion steering gear/ bushings replaced for $350 to $400.

Manifold gasket $200.

General Comments:

This car has great looks.

While a larger car, it handles very well.

Fuel usage is good for a car this size and good power.

Repair bills will put you in the poor house or into deeper debt with MC or VISA.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2001

28th Jan 2002, 20:55

Screw Toyota or Volvo, they are not REAL cars anyway. MY INTREPID, 135000 miles, NO PROBLEMS!!!

21st Jul 2003, 08:36

I own a 1996 dodge intrepid with 109,000 miles on it. It is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. Almost nothing has gone wrong and all it takes to maintain it is a little weekly maintence. I love this car and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for a nice reliable car, at a reasonable price, without the hassle of always having to fix something. Gas mileage is supurb too.

1996 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.1 from North America


The head cracked and had to have a valve job that cost $1300 dollars.

The computer had to be replaced and the coil pack which was $700 and still didn't fix the problem. The car has been to the dealership five times and it still dies going down the road and will not restart. They cannot find the problem.

General Comments:

Stay away from Dodges!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 2000

28th Feb 2001, 13:06

DON'T STAY AWAY FROM DODGES!!!! I'm sorry to say this, but 120,000 miles is HUGE, and to say that after that many miles on a car that the entire company is a terrible company just because of your car's problems is extremely unfair. I have always found Dodge to be extremely reliable. Perhaps the dealer you got it from wasn't so honest, maybe your problems are because of the last owner?

23rd Aug 2005, 11:54

Yes, it IS a good idea to avoid Dodges with more than 25k miles on them. I'm currently working a similar problem with a 1997 Intrepid that quit and won't start. This car has a record several pages long with our dealership. Water pump replaced 4 times, timing belt replaced 3 times, engine replaced once at 86k miles, tie rod ends/ball joints replaced at 93k miles, rack and pinion steering unit replaced twice, 1 radiator and a partridge in a pear tree. This particular model has the 3.5L engine. If you have the 2.7L engine, you have my deepest sympathies.

13th Apr 2006, 14:00

You guys probably bought lemons because have a 1996 dodge intrepid 3.3l and it has 207,503 miles and still runs like brand new plus I got it new. and yes people it is on it's first engine and transmission and have never been rebuilt. i have always taken good care of the car and it paid off. and IT IS VERY FAST!. in the future I plan on getting another 96 intrepid, concorde, or vision. WILLIAM ARTHUR CAMPSON JR.


14th Feb 2007, 09:29

Check the cam sensor next to W. PUMP on top of motor that's what was wrong with mine. DAN FROM WIS.

1996 Dodge Intrepid 3.5 from North America


Nice looking car with a lot of problems that the manufacturer or the dealer don't care to hear about


Evaporator in the air conditioner, which the dealer tried to charge me to fix.

Also the car quits on the highway or won't start frequently. We have had it to the dealer several times, they say they can't fix it. They don't know what's wrong but they have never checked it over, they just put it on the diagnostics and when nothing shows they send it home. This has been a problem from day 1 when we bought the car and we have owned it almost 2 years now.

General Comments:

Tried to call Chrysler and they couldn't care less. The dealer doesn't care - he's got our money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2000

28th Feb 2001, 12:59

One, you bought this car used, so you have no idea what the person did to it before you.

Two, I own a 96 Dodge Intrepid, and I bought it from a family who takes excellent care of their cars. In my opinion, the car is a dream, and if yours is not, maybe you should check around and talk to other Intrepid owners, because I have heard nothing but positive things about them. My family has always been very satisfied with Dodge.