1996 Dodge Intrepid 3.3 Litre V6 from North America


I love the car's roominess and handling


When I first bought the car (45k miles), there were a number of steering problems. I'm not sure if that's the car's fault or the guy who had it before me. A number of steering-related problems. Tie Rods had to be replaced. That, and other related problems, about $1,000.

Something started burning and smoke came out of my steering wheel area at about 70k miles - this affected my headlights and windshield wipers. This electrical problem cost about $400 to fix.

The starter died at about 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Except for the above mentioned problems, the car has been fun to drive. I love the roominess and handling. At 100,000 miles, though, the car has usual "aches and pains" - not quite as quiet as it once was. A good car overall, though. I'm considering buying another intrepid.

If you follow maintenance (both scheduled and preventative), the car should be fine. No totally major problems as of yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

1996 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.5L from North America


So good, so far


Car has overheated.

Thermostat replaced in July 2003 and in August 2003, twice in less than 2 months. Found out that many repairmen don't realize that after replacing thermostat, it must be bleed just like when replacing brakes, to get air out of lines.

Headlights are terrible for my country driving, angled too low for correct vision.

Strange noise underneath, when ever I ride over and uneven spots in street.

Air vent located on drivers side door, not working.

Radio to hard to operate.

General Comments:

This is a very specious car, drives really well so far. With the exception of the overheating.

I have been really comfortable driving this car.

Considering,I purchased this as a used car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

1996 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.3 V6 from North America


By far the worse car I have ever owned


The check engine light stays on permanently.

The brakes squeak and groan, very scary.

The headlights are a complete nightmare.

The car likes to be going along letting you get completely relaxed and then all the lights light up on the dash and boom it shuts off!

A very dangerous car, not something I want my family in.

General Comments:

The car is very nice as far as roomy and handling that's about it.

The Dodge dealers will not repair.

After taking to the Dealer they told me to just let it die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2003

29th Oct 2004, 19:12

Sounds like your ignition switch is defective.

5th Apr 2006, 19:27

I have a 96 dodge intrepid 3.3l and I had the same problem it was a defective ignition switch.

25th Jun 2006, 14:54

I own a 96 Intrepid and the check engine light will not go off. I have spent over $600 on fixing it just so I could get an inspection. In the meantime the car runs great I have had no problems with it. I have 80K on it, any suggestions???

1996 Dodge Intrepid Base 3.5L from North America


Comfortable and sporty, but high-maintenance!


6/6/1997 (27K miles) - Air Conditioning was not working correctly - not cold enough. Took to Dealer; performed leak test, but nothing found.

7/21/1997 (27K miles) - Air Conditioning (A/C) still not working correctly. This time the dealer did the following work on the A/C system, which was under warranty: replace condenser, O-rings, filter, bracket, discharge and suction lines.

2/3/1998 (32K miles) - Took to dealer because car kept stalling. Dealer did the following work under warranty: fixed leaking transmission cooler lines (trans-axle oil cooler) and changed transmission fluid and filter.

7/21/1999 (49K miles) - Got recall notice on fuel rail O-rings, so took car into dealer. Dealer replaced O-rings and also performed the following: new brake pads, new spark plug, new throttle position switch sensor, new serpentine belt. Cost: $525.

2/14/2000 (58K miles) - Took car into mechanic (not dealer) for 60K checkup before big trip. Including suggested maintenance, these repairs/replacements were made: Flush brake system, tire rotation, automatic trans package, cooling system pressure test, anti-corrosive battery pads, fuel filter, new timing belt, new water pump, new power steering pump, transmission service, power flush, radiator flush Cost: $1094.

5/16/2001 (68K miles) - Car was overheating. Mechanic replaced Throttle Position Switch. Cost: $197.

4/18/2002 (78K miles) - Took car in for tune up, and mechanic did the following work: new ignition wire set, new valve cover gasket, new inner tie rod bushings, 4-wheel alignment. Cost: $1208.

1/28/2003 (89K miles) - Car overheated and was towed to mechanic. Passed cooling system pressure test - thermostat and gasket were replaced.

3/27/2003 (92K miles) - Check engine light kept coming on, and car would stall when stopped. Mechanic told me it was code 1899, the Park/Neutral switch, and I'd have to take it to the dealer. Cost of diagnostic test: $42.

3/29/2003 (92K miles) - Check engine light has now gone off, so dealer can't find anything wrong. Dealer drains transmission, cleans it, replaces pan gasket & filter, and refills. Cost: $99.

4/8/2003 (92K miles) - Same problems with stalling - now the Check Engine light comes on again, so take it into dealer. Dealer performs the following: Cleans engine throttle body assembly, removes and cleans carbon from throttle body assembly, cleans fuel induction system, cleans air intake system, valves, combustion chamber, and injectors. Replaces spark plugs, wires, intake gasket, and fuel rail gaskets. Cost: $767.

7/23/2003 - Car fails state inspection because of excessive play in the front tires - inspector tells me that probably the front bushings are loose, that this is a common problem for my car. I take the car to my mechanic, and also ask him to look at the air conditioning - it's been taking five minutes to turn on after I press the button. Mechanic made the following repairs: Replaced A/C pressure switch, which was faulty, drive belt, which was starting to crack, and accessory belt; also added 1 pound of freon to A/C system. Noticed battery posts were corroded - performed battery service and added anti-corrosive pads. New wiper arm for driver's side - spring is too loose, so wiper does not stay down to window at high speeds. Replaced front inner tie-rod bushings, so therefore also did front alignment. Cost: $1330.

The engine seems to be designed in such a way that it's difficult to maintain. I've had several mechanics and dealers tell me that the repair (spark plugs, water pump) would be much less costly on a different car, but they are very difficult to get to on my Intrepid.

One other thing has gone wrong that I haven't gotten fixed yet - the pneumatic strut that holds the hood open no longer works - the hood slams shut on its own right away.

Oh, and just recenty the cup holder has gotten stuck in the "closed" position! I had no idea how annoying that would be.

General Comments:

I love the comfort factor of the car. My backseat passengers always comment on how much room they have, and I like being able to offer to drive people.

The V-6 engine has plenty of power - I don't mind merging onto the freeway at all.

Neat features include the 'fading dome' after you shut the doors, which is getting to be standard now, and the lighting around the ignition, so you can see where to put your key even in the dark.

The trunk is very roomy - you just have to watch out for the interior hinges - can't put anything where they will be coming down.

The dashboard is styled quite nicely. One friend said, "Hey, this looks just like the Viper!"

I really wish it had a rear wiper - the angle of the glass makes snow and leaves stick to it, and it often got lots of condensation.

The rear bench seat can come out to give more cargo room, but it is not really made to be removed like mini-van seats - you'll be left with a hook in the floor and plastic sheeting material underneath.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003