1996 Dodge Intrepid 3.2 from North America


The only car I will ever own


There is a short in the steering column that makes it so it somtimes will not start, but all that takes is a simple turn of the wheel to fix that.

The Tie rods had to be replaced.

The Steering system needs work.

General Comments:

I have had my Intrepid for about 15 years. It has 130,000 miles on it and has never seen the inside of a shop. The problems you listed off above seem not to be with the intrepid, but with the 3.5 engine.

The car is quick and responsive and needs very little work until the 100,000 mile mark then it just needs refitting or its gaskets and such.

Take care of your intrepid and it will take care of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2004

18th Oct 2004, 10:13

How could you own a 1996 Intrepid for 15 years. they weren't making the Intrepid 15 years ago and also no longer make it for obvious reasons. The vast majority of the consumer complaints about the Intrepid have to do with the 2.7 engine in the 1998-2004 vehicles.

9th Mar 2010, 21:06

I love my Dodge Intrepid. I have had for almost ten years now, bought it when in was 6 years old used. It's been a great car; it just keeps going and going. I will only buy Dodge for the rest of my life.

10th Mar 2010, 17:26

18th Oct 2004, 10:13.

Production of the Intrepid began in 1993, so yes, they were in fact making them 15 years ago.

1996 Dodge Intrepid 3.5 from North America


Looks good, but it is just a trouble


Everything was wrong with this car. First I had a leaky injector, I paid a few hundred dollars and got it fixed, and then the same problem came up in the injector rail, that I paid $450. Then I had the water pump broken in the middle of Atlanta highway, and I paid $300. Besides all this, many times I had check engine light on for no reason. Then I had rough idle, and sudden stops. And finally the spring box got broken, and I had to sell it for very little money to get rid of it.

General Comments:

This car is just a junk. Never buy a Dodge, everything is on it is a production mess. Everything is designed so complicated that labor is always high when you need a mechanics. It looks nice, but when you drive it, it is a trouble maker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

19th Feb 2005, 12:06

I bought a 1997 Dodge Intrepid ES. It had 136,000 miles. when I got it. It now has 145,000mi and I have never had to and the original owner never had to replace or fix anything like you had to. the only things I have had to do is replace the brakes. I have a couple of friends with intrepids and they never have any trouble with theirs either. I would say you unfortunately bought a lemon.

25th Mar 2005, 13:56

Before anyone pays to have the fuel rail repaired on these cars, they should check with Chrysler. My mother is a warranty officer for Chrysler and advised that there had been a recall on my car. Even though I bought it used, I was able to get the fuel rail fixed for free simply by visiting a Chrysler dealership. If you own one of these cars, you do not have to wait for the fuel rail problem to arise to get the free service.

1996 Dodge Intrepid 3.5 V6 from North America


You get what you pay for


When I bought the car, the Rear driver's side shock was frozen, and the sway bar was broken.

There is no power steering. (don't know why)

The "low-profile" one directional tires were on backward.

I was given no key for the center cap over the lug nuts, so I had to take a hammer and a screwdriver to get them off. I would have been quite mad had I gotten a flat on the highway.

General Comments:

This is a very good car that seems to be well built in the engine and transmission. But, it's the small things that count.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004