1996 Dodge Intrepid 2.5 from North America


This car is not what I expected


I bought this car in March and have driven it 8 miles. This car is unreliable and I don't like it. I have replaced the bearings in the engine and the car is still not running right. I wish someone would take it from me:)

General Comments:

This car has great interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

7th Apr 2006, 18:47

Hey i'll take it if you don't want it just give me your address. i have a 96 and I love it.

8th Apr 2006, 10:49

Some more details would have been helpful. When a car is "not running right" there are usually some simpler things that most people would try first before going right to replacing the engine bearings. Apparently this didn't help. I'm wondering what you didn't notice during the test drive that became apparent within 8 miles after buying it. If you had taken it for an 8-mile test drive before buying it, you could have saved yourself some trouble.

15th Apr 2006, 13:20

Hey I spent over 55000 dollars on my ride, its awesome I raced so many cars and killed them. Couldnt ask for a better car and people who don't like it just don't no how to drive it and handle it :)

15th Apr 2006, 21:07

You spent over $55,000 on a Dodge Intrepid? Why? If you decided to build a dragster with an Intrepid body on it, I should hope that it would beat the average stock car. On second thought, I highly doubt that you know what you're talking about.

1996 Dodge Intrepid Base 3.3L from North America


I love this car!!!


Nothing has ever gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

I am updating my first review on this site. I have raced many cars with it and beat them. Here is the list.

2002 Ford Mustang (V6)

1994 Honda Civic 1.8L VTEC

2004 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7L

1996 Chrysler Intrepid 3.3L

1999 Chrysler Concorde 3.2L

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

22nd May 2006, 06:50

This car is aw-some, we bought this car second had in 1997, and it is a 1996. I has served us well we never had any problems with it. Yes that is 100% believable that you beat all those other cars, one of our friends got a car identical to ours{ours had a 3.3L} and our friends has 3.5L and our car took his for FUN.

22nd May 2006, 14:37

Why would you race the same car? Two intrepids?

The race would only be decided by who pushed the accelerator down more or faster.

21st Dec 2006, 09:32

They weren't the same car. Read closer and you will see one had a 3.3L engine and the other had the 3.5.

1st Feb 2007, 19:08

So what car was fasher 3.5l or the 3.1l?

10th Jun 2007, 09:58

I am updating this page that I started. My Intrepid is a 3.3L. True it has the same engine as the Canadian Chrysler Intrepid 3.3L I raced, but mine was still faster. And it's not always who hits the gas faster. What also matters is what tires you use, what grade or quality fuel you use, and how many miles are on the car. Mine has 320k miles and is still going very strong on its first engine and transmission. But when some cars have high mileage, they sometimes have less compression in the engine due to normal wear and/or abuse. I love my 3.3L.

1996 Dodge Intrepid Base 3.3L 12V V6 from North America




The only things I have ever replaced besides tires, brakes etc., is a water pump and an alternator.

General Comments:

I got the car from my father and I love it. He now has a 2002 Dodge Intrepid ES with everything.

This is first car, and I hope to have it to the end. I love the 3.3L; it's very fast. Never had any transmission or engine problems. My dad got it new.

I love the power driver's seat. It also has bucket seats with the center console. It is candy apple red and has gray velour seats. It now has 207,177 miles and still run great.

By William A. Campson Jr.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2006

13th Feb 2007, 20:11

How about the maintenance. Was the oil changed regular, Timing belt, Transmission serviced, engine coolant changed? When people say they never did anything and make a claim their car has over 200K miles. I would think that proper maintenance might just have a role in it! Please tell the whole truth will you.

4th Mar 2007, 16:38

Come on now. If the original poster says he had no problems then fine. The second poster is carrying on as if people read these posts looking for cars that can accept no maintenance and survive. That's insane. EVERY car if maintained properly should give miles upon miles of service. We should all endeavour to care for our vehicles and stop looking for excuses for our inability to accept the result of what we dish out to our cars.

10th Jun 2007, 10:10

I am adding to this page I started. Yes it has had an oil change every 3k. miles. This car uses a timing chain not a timing belt as the guy above said. And yes, this car has been babied all of its life. It's been washed every week since new, never been abused, had a tune up every thousand miles, sometimes a little before, never been smoked in.

The only thing that it currently needs is a new steering rack (rack and pinion). So everything I said is true.