1999 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L V6 from North America


I love this car


A bolt broke in the driver's seat - fixed under warranty.

AC recharged - fixed under warranty.

Drain plug stripped the threads off the oil pan. (I think it was done during a cheap oil change, my mechanic found epoxy around the plug.) Replaced oil pan - under $200.

General Comments:

So far I am completely happy to have this car. The repairs have been minor, and with the warranty good until 75,000 miles I'm good for another year. I haven't needed the extended warranty yet, and I might not, but it's always nice to have.

I won't say it handles like a sports car, but if I wanted that I would have bought one. This car is HUGE, completely comfortable, gets decent gas mileage (around 24mpg) and really good looking. It may not put up crazy 0-to-60 numbers, but for as big and heavy as it is, it really moves. I wanted a big car, and I love this one.

I feel like I'm driving a $40,000 car that I got for $20,000. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

1999 Dodge Intrepid from North America


Over-priced junk


At 31000, the rear passenger window required a new motor.

At 31500, the front passenger window required a new motor, and has only worked intermittently since.

At 32500, the rear driver's window required a new motor.

At 37000, sensor problems arose. Eventually, two different sensors were replaced. This was the first time I had to be towed.

At 47000, the rear window had to be replaced because the defrost ceased to operate.

Yesterday, at 50005, the engine blew. Of course, this is the most costly repair to date! A new engine will run in the range of $4000!

General Comments:

This car is comfortable and easy to drive, but is very unreliable and expensive to maintain. I still owe over $7000 on a vehicle I am currently unable to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2002

9th Apr 2003, 01:52

I purchased a 1998 Dodge Intrepid. The motor and sensor blew. Dealership sold me a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. The motor and sensor blew again. I'm another person stuck with $8,000 car loan and no ride.

19th Feb 2004, 22:36

My 1999 Dodge Intprepid cost me $8,800.00 within two weeks of driving it off the lot. I bought it used and it completley gave out before I made my first payment. There was no warranty on this specific vehicle.

8th Aug 2004, 15:15

I have a 1999 Dodge Intrepid. I bought it used only one owner prior. In my first year of owning this vehicle, The sensors needed to be replaced, It was in the shop at least twice per month and eventually the engine blew... I to am stuck with a car payment and nothing to drive. The worst part is: due to my problem with the Intrepid, I bought another NEW make of car and it was totaled last weekend...

Insurance didn't completely pay that car off so, I have TWO car payments AND NOTHING TO DRIVE!!!

26th Aug 2004, 20:59

We purchased a '99 dodge intrepid in July of '01, with 20,000 miles. Just last week the car gave out on my wife and two small children with just under 60,000 miles. The engine was blown. We changed the oil very regularly only to learn that this is a common circumstance with these particular motors. And we also owe $6,000 on the car. Gotta love the intrepid.

1999 Dodge Intrepid from North America




Well the drivers door window died, stuck in the up off track position. The dealer told me I am the first case of this reported so no warranty and $500.00 later the window works!

Transmission has been a problem, leaks fluid sometimes won't shift, $2000.00 fixed.

Oil light comes on and off when it feels like, interior lights flicker, battery cable broke off on its own.

Dealers in my opinion are horrible, next car will be a TOYOTA. Did anyone ever hear of a TOYOTA terror story?

General Comments:

Next car will be a TOYOTA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

3rd Jul 2003, 12:34

Does anybody out there know why the oil light comes on for no apparent reason? I was told it was a weak oil pump, had the oil pump replaced, of course at $90.00 an hour, and the oil light still comes on when the motor gets warm. Help??


24th Apr 2011, 22:37

Chrysler's Stratus/Breeze 2.4L motors also are garbage. They parallel a lot of the horror stories I read of the Intrepid/Concorde engines. The oil light flickers, so on and so forth. Our Stratus finally ended with a blown head-gasket. Piece of crap.