1999 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 51 of 51

1999 Dodge Intrepid Base 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance38500 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

No major repairs except for a minor computer problem. (Fixed for $20.00)

General Comments:

This car is great, it rides nice and makes a perfect family car.

It has a lot of power and handles great.

Rear seat leg room is huge and the trunk could swallow 4 people whole.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

1999 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 litre V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

An OK car with too many repairs

Faults:

Replaced leaking thermostat housing through factory warranty.

Replaced leaking power steering coolant lines through factory warranty.

Replaced both front struts due to failure through factory warranty.

Replaced leaking oil pan gasket through factory warranty.

Replaced both rear window motors through factory warranty.

Soon after factory warranty expired, speed sensor went out causing speedometer to quit working and transmission to quit shifting. Fortunately, it was only a $25.00 part.

Within two weeks, both radiator cooling fan motors went out. The first fan caused the A/C to go out due to the fan drawing too much amperage resulting in the fuse blowing which also feeds the A/C compressor.

General Comments:

If you buy one of these cars, do yourself a favor and buy an extended warranty once the factory warranty runs out. Parts can be expensive, especially if you are replacing radiator cooling fans at $160.00+ per fan motor. The labor rates from the dealers are now $70.00 an hour, so repairs can add up quickly if you don't do it yourself.

I also own a 1996 Intrepid. They both are now costing me a mint to keep repaired. It would be nice if cars these days would hold together until you have them paid off. I am trying very hard to remain a Dodge fan, but am getting annoyed at all of the repairs.

I have taken it upon myself to use synthetic motor oil and transmission fluid in hopes to keep these major items from failing. Everyone needs to do the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

27th Oct 2001, 01:00

Quote:

"Soon after factory warranty expired, speed sensor went out causing speedometer to quit working and transmission to quit shifting. Fortunately, it was only a $25.00 part."

I'm having the same problem with my car, THANKS FOR THE INFO!!

4th Jul 2002, 15:14

I have a 1999 intrepid with the 2.7 engine. Within the first month the starter went out. My speed input sensor went out at 60,000 miles, the drivers side glass came out of its bracket, now one of my electric radiator fans is vibrating so bad that I will have to disconnect it in order to get it to the shop. I do have the extended warranty, but 90 percent of these items were not covered by it. The car is a terrific ride, but it seems that most of these cars have the same problem at close to the same intervals.

1999 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance53981 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

This car is a lemon

Faults:

Replaced window regulators 6 times, still having problems.

Paint chips/scratches occured after having the car in for a service, dealer denied responsibility.

A/C not working at 10,000 miles, told this was normal.

Computer dash lights blinking on and off, was told this was normal, still having problems.

Continuous noise from the engine, was told it was the belts, replaced belts 3 times, noise still present.

Yesterday, June 9 2001, check engine light came on and the gas gauge began to flucuate. When I arrived home and turned the key to the off position, nothing happened, the car is still running!!

The funny part... I had a complete diagnostic, supposedly, done on the car last month, cost me $175, and they said there was not a thing wrong.

General Comments:

I have never in all of my life been treated so poorly by anyone, ever. I have been to three dealerships who all deny that there is a problem with this vehicle.

I have also phoned Chrysler-Daimler 6 times, been given a "reference number", but yet they have no record of me ever calling? Amazing.

If Chrysler-Daimler was the last manufacturer of cars on the planet, you can bet your bottom dollar that I will walk every last step.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

10th Jul 2002, 12:38

Any time you talk to a person in a professional field, or you have your vehicle checked in for their services, always obtain confirmation such as a confirmation number and/or a verification fax. Also, record the name of the person whom you spoke with as well as the date and time of your call. If they do not give their name then ask to speak with a manager. Keep all receipts and don't throw them out for any reason, You may need them later on down the road.

If all else fails, contact the Better Business Bureau.

1999 Dodge Intrepid SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

The repair cost has me worried

Faults:

Stabilizer bar on the left front.

Warped brake rotors.

Also needed new pads. Mechanic who did the work also found that the calipers are locking up. Now we know why we have warped rotors! Only 40,000 miles. Still waiting if the dealer will help. Has this been a problem for others? I would love to know.

General Comments:

Having trouble finding new calipers. Why? Too new? Or a lot being replaced?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2001

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 185 reviews