2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 from North America


One big lemon!!!


00' Intrepid 2.7L w/58k engine failure.

It jumped time or wasn't getting any oil (the oil light never came on).We are still looking at the motor to determine. I have had no luck finding a new motor. The local dealership told me that they didn't make these motors anymore, that I could get the block, but have to use my old parts ($3600) or by a used motor ($5500) if we could find one. I have contacted Chrysler, and had the pleasure of dealing with one of there customer service representatives who gave me no useful information about the motor.

After reading reviews from other consumers of Chrysler products, I found that engine failure is common in this type of motor at low mileage. I was curious as to what my options might be.

I posted my complaint on this wonderful website, and got a response the next day with very helpful information. Thanks to this website I have registered my name for a class action law suit.

General Comments:

After my experience, and reviews of the Intrepid 2.7L I WOULD NOT recommend this vehicle to anyone. She's a lemon!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

13th Mar 2003, 09:53

We are in the same boat as you. Is it too late to join the lawsuit?

I am so disgusted with Chrysler and the dealership.

They need to take ownership of the junk they are putting on the roads.


2nd Apr 2003, 21:46

To anyone concerned. We are going through the exact same thing. We only have 49,000 miles on our car and now the engine, of course 4.7L, is probably shot. What can we do?

Can we join the suit too? Please write back and let us know.


2000 Dodge Intrepid four door sedan 2.7 from North America


The Intrepid is a great car for the money!


I've had the car one month and the oil sending unit went out.

General Comments:

I see all the problems people are complaining of the Intrepid. For all those who still own an Intrepid, I have a word of advice, Change the oil at least every 1500 miles. I was told by my independent mechanic the reason there are so many problems with the Intrepid is that the Dodge doesn't warm up fast enough, so on short trips it will create sludge in the engine! So change the oil, it's a lot cheaper than a $4000 dollar engine repair. The Intrepid is a good car if maintained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

11th Apr 2003, 15:59

Finally someone who has a logical view of what may be the cause (although I am still not convinced there is a problem with these engines) to the sludge related problems.

15th Jun 2003, 07:40

I always use Gunk's engine flush product when changing my oil. It will flush out the sludge. I just purchased my Intrepid and am glad to see these comments. It sounds like something like Slick50 might be good to put in the engine if the Intrepid has problems warming up, at least then, the moving parts will be coated and lubed right on start up.

I really love driving this car! I am a Mortgage Lending Executive, so having a conservative car is prudent. Four door a must, must not be to expensive so my customers don't think I am ripping them off, not a cheap car so they don't think I am bad at my job, just in-between. The Dodge Intrepid is my solution to not having to drive some nerdy sedan!!!


29th Oct 2003, 19:59

Great, so as long as you change the oil twice as often as on any other car, don't drive it on short trips, and generally put it through a major dog and pony show, it's a great car. No thanks, I think I'd rather just stay away.

It's also not comforting to take advice from someone who's kept the engine from blowing up for an entire month. Your "fix" isn't exactly tried and true yet, is it.

30th Jun 2005, 12:05

The only way to keep the engine working is to use synthetic oil. The oil passages of the block are too small and cause oil overheating which creates the sludge. Synthetic oil can take the increased heat without breaking down.

26th Feb 2006, 17:14

I have driven a chevy, volkswagon, and fords. My dodge intrepid is by far the best car. I have owned this car for six years with minimal problems.