2000 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 39 of 39

2000 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Beautiful car, but a LEMON

Faults:

The engine locked up due to oil sludge at 66000 miles. We used synthetic oil, and changed the oil and filter every 5000 miles.

General Comments:

I would advise everyone to stay away from Intrepids with the 2.7 engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Beginning to get our moneys worth for a car

Faults:

Interior door seal was pulling away from the car body.

Strange noise when the engine is at cold idle, this issue is un-resolved.

General Comments:

Performance has been greatly dedicated in these late model Intrepid.

In my own opinion, the 1st generation 3.5 is overtaken by the new 2.7.

It is pure performance, space and style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles

Summary:

An excellent family car which is sporty enough for a single person

Faults:

The interior seat covers attract lint like nothing that you have ever seen. Keeping them clean is impossible.

The sound system had a vibration in the passenger side door speaker when I first got the vehicle. However, a deer ran into the passenger side when the car was 3 months old and took out both doors. After the body shop took the car apart and put it back together the problem disappeared. I think it had a loose bolt or something in the door.

I have had a slight leak in the cooling system that I cannot locate. I have to add a little antifreeze (a couple of cups) every 6 months or so.

General Comments:

Overall I am quite pleased with this vehicle.

It is a very sporty car but large enough to sit 5 comfortably. The 2.7 liter engine is very powerful, but sips gas like a 4 cylinder engine. The 4 speed automatic is very smooth. In addition, this vehicle has a very responsive suspension and handles sudden movements in a very sure footed manner. The braking is excellent, and the sound system is better than average. The heating and air conditioning is very efficient and the controls are easy to utilize.

For an American built car, this is an excellent looking vehicle which drives like a dream and accelerates like a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2001

6th Feb 2002, 14:22

I own a 2000 Dodge Intrepid ES. BEWARE!!! The weather seals around all four doors are shrinking and pulling away from the car frame. When I drive down the highway I can hear wind whistling through the holes where the seals have pulled away from the car frame. I inquired at my local Dodge dealer about the seals. They said that the seals only last a couple years before shrinking, then you have to buy new ones. They told me the seals sell for about $180 for each door. They informed me that my warranty would not cover the seals because I was already at 49k miles. I told them that was very nice of them to design the car so you would have to spend almost $800 on door seals every 2 to 3 years.

Other than that, I have had no problems out of my Intrepid.

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Power! But no muscle car

Faults:

When I first got the 2000 Intrepid, it was winter time and I left it outside and when I started up the engine it made a loud grinding noise. I took it to Dodge and the mechanics said that it was probably cold, but I've had other cars and I never had that happen.

But overall, the car drives smooth, very comfy, and if you check your transmission fluid lots, you should have no problems.

The 1999 Intrepid had tranny problems, the 2000 is more stable. I have used fully synthetic oil (Mobil1) and the car runs great.

General Comments:

I took the car at its peak. I actually went 124+, the car just barely shook at that speed, but cruises nice at 90-110. I don't recommend those speeds, but it has great passing power. This car can last a long time if people drive it without road rage.

This vehicle has power, NO DOUBT about it. It blew away an Nissan Maxima and a Pontiac Grand Prix, but it also depends on the driver. For a 24 valve 200HP engine it's worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

11th May 2004, 10:43

I somehow doubt you blew away a Maxima with your 2.7L Intrepid. A maxima of any generation (especially a '95+ model) would have made short work of you.

2000 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

General Comments:

What can I say? Excellent handling on this car. Unfortunately had to settle for the base model since none of the others came with the optional bench seat in the front.

Have taken it upto 110 mph, very fluid and responsive. Smooth ride, got leather interior, wood grain, CD changer, and red exterior with spoiler. Excellent value for money. Look out... that Intrepid cutting lanes is probably me!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

17th Jul 2001, 15:34

Under 2,000 miles so far? Enjoy it while it lasts. Of course a Dodge will run good with few miles. Wait until the Transmission fragments on you around 50,000 miles, try 110 MPH when that happens! Do you know what "limp mode" is? you will soon, and it'll cost you $2,200 if you're lucky.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 145 reviews