13th Aug 2006, 07:52

FOR SALE (CHEAP) 1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 engine bad valve, runs sometimes except it won't start right now. Headlights come on all by them selves at night when car is parked.a/c only works on high. replaced window motors fan motors. won't pass emissions (permanent waiver) in MD. just the normal piece of @#$% chrysler stuff going to buy a Toyota next time.

20th Aug 2006, 12:57

Unfortunately I too own a 99 intrepid, with the 2.7 liter. I bought it used in march of this year. Just 2 weeks after buying it The car would stall out on short drive and would not start back up until it completely cooled down. I found out it was the cam sensor. While waiting to get it fixed the starter went so I replaced both. The second day after replacing both parts the check engine light comes back on. I found out it was the power steering sensor. So I decided not to replace it cause it still started fine. the the oil level light would come on when ever I applied the brakes. but the oil level was fine. every mechanic that looked at it did not know why? now there is a loud noise coming from the engine and I was told that it was th c/s pulley that needed to be replace, but now the car went from starting then stalling with in a minute of starting, to the key not even turning over. let me tell you I will never own another 2.7 l engine in any dodge vehicle. I have own dodge vehicles prior to this one and never had a problem.

3rd Sep 2006, 11:40

Hey I have a Dodge Intrepid 99. Does anyone know where the starter is located?? I cannot see it from under the car or on top.. If you could let me know that would be Sweet.



10th Sep 2006, 12:50

Sept. 10th, 06.

I haven't been on this site for a while. I wasn't happy that people are still buying the "Intrepid". I live in Simi Valley, Ca. Anyone wishing to call me, please do. I also own a broken down, paid in cash, 1999 Intrepid on "her" 3rd rebuilt motor. Yes, I said 3rd. This one lasted almost one year! I know the dreaded noise she makes, and had her towed to an auto shop in Simi; forget "Chrysler", they're worthless! Please everyone, go to www.autosafety.org/fileacomplaint.php.

She's backed up in my driveway. Went out and bought a 1990 Camaro just for driving around town for $1000, and had "CHP" push me off freeway last week because of electrical problems! I think I'll just start walking!

Good luck all... I also inform every intrepid owner in Simi Valley as to what will happen with their cars... immaryj@aol.com or Marianne... 805 813 0830.

12th Sep 2006, 19:36

I own a 1999 Intrepid with only 18,500 miles. I too also had my speed senors fail at approx 10,000 miles, my passenger side rear window will not go down, and the rest of the windows make a groaning noise when put up or down. I had it in to the dealership today for an inspection, oil change, and tune-up, and was told that it would never pass inspection because the whole undercarriage is rusted! This includes the brake lines, muffler, wheel wells...everything. The mechanic brought me in to see this and I was shocked at what I saw. When I asked him what could have caused this, he told me that if the car wasn't kept in a garage (which it's not) that the moisture from the air could cause it - or if you keep it sitting out in the snow, or heavy rain! I just looked at him, unable to comprehend what he was saying. I have owned a number of cars over the years - none of which were kept in a garage - and I have never seen anything like this. He then told me that to fix the problem, it would cost me at least $1,000 for the parts, and another $2,000 to $4,000 for the labor. To me, that is not worth it for a 1999 car, especially after reading about all the other problems with this car. It's a shame, because I do love the look and the ride of the car, but it's obvious the the quality of the workmanship on these cars is of the poorest level.

22nd Sep 2006, 19:25

OK, I have a 2000 Dodge Intrepid... about a week after I got it the ignition locked up... I could put the key in and it would turn backwards, but not forward. Had that replaced. Now I have a problem with the oil light coming on and flickering when I hit the brake, sitting with my foot on the brake and with the car running, but sitting in park. Any suggestions? Also my windows are touchy... most times they work, but sometimes they don't. Lastly, my door lock on my passenger side no longer works and makes a loud "buzzing" noise when it tries to work... anyone else? frurybrunt1@wmconnect.com.

26th Sep 2006, 12:55

WOW - I never thought one model of car should have so much negative issues. Long story short, our 1999 has had most of the same problems as the other 230 people including A/C fan (2 new motors), shifting problems (not fixed yet), window motors (mostly rear), etc, etc. I will check this website for other cars I may buy first. By the way, sign me up for ANY class action on this troublesome model. slifed@mchsi.com.

4th Oct 2006, 21:12

Well Being Only 16 I noticed that our '99 Intrepid sucks, but I am a Dodge Fan Some Problems:

-Ball Joint going bad when you press the brake it makes a thumping noise on the front driver side wheel

-we just recharged the a/c and it doesn't seem to be working very well

-driver and passenger windows fell off track and supposedly needs both pieces replaced 45$

-and overall a full tune up just might help our ride get back to when the day we bought it.

We do travel with this car quite a bit so I'm not that surprised in what is going wrong with it, but I wish is was more durable, but again being 16 I don't know everything about cars, but my fathers a mechanic he teaches me a few things here and there.

12th Oct 2006, 23:03

Our '99 Dodge Intrepid has 57000 miles on it and the A/C just went out. The fan blade vibrates very bad which caused a fuse to be blown. In the process of having it repaired.

At 56000 miles the speed sensor went out had it replaced. When we first purchased the Intrepid at 37000 miles the A/C stopped and we had to have the evaporator plate fin and expansion valve replaced. The entire dash board had to be removed to do so. The cost for the work done so far is $1145.60. This does not include the A/C work that will be done in the next few days. Very glad to know that a synthetic oil should be used, but... I think we had better look into trading it out for another brand of automobile.

20th Oct 2006, 15:02

OK 1999 intrepid 2.7 motor,dead cylinder (valve) I'm gonna run it till it blows not very long probably. my issue lately is my headlights come on by them selves what in the world would cause this? I'm afraid to go to the dealer (I'd rather go to Iraq) any suggestions (r-lshepler@comcast.net) help me please.