1998 Dodge Neon LX 2.0 from Venezuela


I have been making repairs on the car for two months. It does not work.

I believe that the components are of poor quality. I'm afraid to travel anywhere, because I think I may not be able to get to my destination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

1998 Dodge Neon Highline Sedan 4DR 4 cylinder from North America


It sucks the life out of you


The brakes always squeal, even though they are brand new.

The head gasket blew.

At around 50,000 I had to start putting oil in it every other week.

The check engine light came on and stayed on.

The oil light is ALWAYS on.

So much as gone wrong with it I can't even remember!

General Comments:

This is the worst mistake I ever made. When I first got this car, I thought it was cute, until it started sucking the money out of me. This is most unreliable car ever. Whatever you do, don't buy a neon. They are not built to last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

1998 Dodge Neon Sedan SOHC from North America


When one thing goes wrong it is down hill from there


My head gasket blew at 115000.

The fan relay fuse went bad at 89000. It cost $65 to $75 for the fuse. Please do not let the dealership do it, because they will charge $75 or more a hour for labor. The was at least 2 hours.

The brakes squeak.

Around 75000 miles a mildew scent arose in the car. I am not how the trunk would leak water into the car.

General Comments:

I love the look of dodge/ chrysler vehicles, but my next car or truck will be an import.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

1998 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0 4 Cylinder from North America


An economical race car


The head gasket was replaced at 41,000 miles.

The fuel pump was replaced at 45,000.

General Comments:

I love this car, and I have taken excellent care of it.

Even though I have made a couple of repairs, I would like to see a car that hasn't needed any.

The car has been very reliable and I would recommend a Dodge Neon.

A word of advice: If you take care of your Neon, perhaps you will not have so many problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2003

1998 Dodge Neon from North America


A horrible piece of junk


My head gasket blew up one year after I got it. Now, I having problems with it again. I have had to the water pump, timing belt and a host of other things that I can't remember. The delearship claims that they can't help me and also the dodge company is not forthcoming with any help either. The car sucks. I won't recommend anybody to buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2003

1998 Dodge Neon Highline Sport Coupe 2.0 DOHC from North America


The roomy, zoomy big little car that everyone loves to hate, apparently


Head Gasket- 60k Dealer serviced for 50.00.

Dent when purchased- Free by dealership.

Sunroof- 20k,40k and 60k The car was hit while sunroof was open, I've attributed the sunroof problems to this fact, and it should in no way be associated with Chrysler - Dealer serviced 50.00 each incident.

Compact Disk player- 60k stopped playing disks - Dealer serviced 50.00.

General Comments:

The car was purchased new in 1997 as a 1998 model. Extended warranty purchased alongside the automobile for around 750.00 (7/70,000.) While reading these reviews it has been presented to me that I never knew I got a bad car! Here I've been worshiping the thing getting 40+ yes, that's right, 40 *PLUS* miles a gallon, asking for nothing more than minimal attention, whenever I should be spitting at it every chance I get. The car gets an oil change every 3k along with normal things like air filters and tire rotations, but has never asked for much more than that. I suppose I should have paid the extra money and gotten a slower, smaller Civic, huh? The thing is treated as a race car. I ask it to prove Dodge's claims of a 7.6 second 0-60 time on a regular basis, and it has not disappointed me yet! All things considered, I believe the car is an immense value for the $13,750.00 (Read: CHEAP) price of admission. Did I mention its *Fully* loaded for that price? =)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

20th Oct 2005, 02:49

I agree. Honda's cars are getting more and more expensive, while American cars get a bad rap. And a Neon would totally beat a Civic, and provide a better ride. However, if Dodge says the Neon Highline (R/T) will do it in 7.6 seconds, they must have meant down a hill. Edmunds.com tested a 2001 Neon R/T, and found 8.5 seconds with a manual.

15th Jan 2007, 18:27


15th Jan 2007, 18:39

But at the end of the day, Hondas will last longer than Neons anyday. Neons start to die after 150,000 miles. I know some Hondas that have 225,000 miles and more and still going strong. The Neon may be faster, but the life of the car is what matters to me. I don't care I would pay extra money for a Honda because I know that its going to last me longer.

15th Sep 2016, 17:35

Amen to that!